pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Purely Pets pet insurance

The Connect Centre
Kingston Crescent
Portsmouth
Hampshire
PO2 8DE

phone: 0844 921 0304
website: http://www.purelypetsinsurance.co.uk/

Offering 5 levels of cover: accident only, accident & illness only, accident & illness essential, accident & illness plus, accident & illness extra.


User Rating
1.9
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Purely Pets pet insurance

1/5   Don't use Purely Pets find another insurer   8 November 2017

Reviewed By: Gary Atkins, Recommend:

Paid monthly premium for two years my dog got an ear infection he had three lots of antibiotics & blood tests, overall it cost us 600 with the blood tests we didn't get a penny back they said he was ill because of a tooth or gum infection conveniently not covered, use another company that does cover illnesses without exceptions that's the point of it after all! Feel totally ripped off!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Thankyou   3 November 2017

Reviewed By: Lesley, Recommend:

I have recently submitted a claim, this was processed fast a and efficiently without any need to chase up. I am extremely happy with this company..the way the claim was dealt with has really helped at a stressful time when my dog has needed an operation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful. Just awful. AVOID!   29 October 2017

Reviewed By: Amanda Waldram, Recommend:

Nearly four months and our claim still hasn't been addressed. Emails have been ignored. Completely unhelpful and interested only in delaying or making us jump through additional hoops at a time when we should be focusing on a sick animal, not administrative fun and games.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid this company   16 September 2017

Reviewed By: Julianne barclay, Recommend:

I've been with purelypets for around 3 years. My dog is now 13 so has developed some health problems. We've claimed off our insurance this Year and my premium has doubled. I'm so disgusted with this company. I phoned to question why it has doubled and he said I s because you have claimed. Surely that's what we have insurance. I'm totally stuck paying 80 per month because my dog won't be covered anywhere else for pre existing conditions. Never never use PURELY PETS!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   delays galore   16 September 2017

Reviewed By: Canou, Recommend:

This company will make every excuse not to process your claim and will not reply to your emails. DO NOT JOIN if you want peace of mind!I will be calling the citizen advice bureau to seek advice.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Watch out for the hidden 30 charge   15 September 2017

Reviewed By: Paul C, Recommend:

I took a policy out with Purely pets and cancelled after two days as I was unable to afford it due to having to quit work due to terminal cancer. Theyre now hassling me for a 30 admin fee. There's no cooling off period like other companies so be careful when taking this out! Also if you read the reviews online they aren't very good at paying up when it's needed. It was proven after speaking to my neighbour, who couldn't get a penny out of them when her dog had to undergo an operation. AVOID like the plagued

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   extremely pleasant and helpful   15 September 2017

Reviewed By: Linda, Recommend:

My 15 year old cocker spaniel has been with Purely Pets after the NFU decided she was too much of a liability and refused to keep insuring her about four years ago. Since then she has had three claims I think with no problems. The last claim that has just been settled admittedly took a while as Purely Pets needed to look back at old records which were held with a previous vet. After a few phone calls back and forth it was very clearly the vets fault and not the insurance company. Throughout it all they conducted themselves with professionalism, courtesy and cheerfulness. They kept me reasonably informed and always called back when they said they would.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   go elsewhere   19 August 2017

Reviewed By: lina caporaso, Recommend:

shocking i had my 2 dogs ins with this company and when it came to make a claim they wouldn't pay as i couldn't recall the first time my little dog started having seizures i wasn't aware it was a seizure the whole process was so upsetting how do they get away with it

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disappointed is an understatement   16 August 2017

Reviewed By: Andrea, Recommend:

Absolutely disgusted the way I have been treated, after waiting months for my claim to be declined requesteing a letter from my bets this was sent and then had to wait a further 2 months for the claim to be declined again as the letter clearly stating the illness from a bite had no relation to a episode of diarrhoea 9 months previous wasn't enough evidence, this is after several phone calls, emails and now I am currently waiting for a complaints letter. My cat is no longer with me due to lack of funds, I had no way of paying the hosipital bills, so with nothing to lose I will be fighting this all the way. I have been ignored, lied to and it just hasn't got anywhere :( never use them

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   claims met without any problems   13 August 2017

Reviewed By: Elaine L, Recommend:

After reading adverse comments, we were expecting huge problems with this company, but have been dealt with fairly and swiftly, and have found their representative on the telephone to be helpful and friendly.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   delays in processing claims   28 June 2017

Reviewed By: Mark C, Recommend:

Last year had terrible claims experience with Purely Pets. This year, almost a repeat. They "Cancelled" my original claim apparently because they did not receive the claim paperwork, yet I had called them to check they had it three days before. The claim was mysteriously recreated a few days later, but now the 10 days wait is based on the recreated date not my original date. Also heard the same excuse as last year that their claims teams are really busy at the moment, etc. I would avoid this company at all costs if I had a choice.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Go elsewhere!   28 April 2017

Reviewed By: bridget, Recommend:

I am so frustrated , just had my renewal through and its doubled ! Of course as my dog is now older and has had an ear infection 3 times , over the years this would be a pre exsisting condition , so I am stuck . If only I had used a different company .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS   19 April 2017

Reviewed By: Julie Parton, Recommend:

AVOID This company at all costs. Insured my dog with them for several years. When he reached the age of 15 he started encountering mobility problems with arthritis. I took him to vets who prescribed medication. After a few months my vet told me I should make a claim for the cost of this medication. I made the claim and this company kept fobbing me off with excuses to stretch out the claim. Eventually I lost my pet and therefore rang them to cancel the policy. After six weeks of silence I rang them to find out what was happening with the claim. I was at this point told that the claim was not being paid. Absolutely shocking company. I hope everyone reads these reviews before taking out any policy with this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   7 months since our dog died - claim still unpaid   27 February 2017

Reviewed By: Fellini, Recommend:

Dreadful service. Very slow processing and the company tries every excuse in the book not to pay out. We are taking them to the Ombudsman. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY   25 February 2017

Reviewed By: Denise Church, Recommend:

Do not bother taking insurance on your pet with this company.My dog has been treated for gastroenteritis and this company will not pay out stating this is a pre-existing condition,when I took out the policy I informed them she had gastroenteritis age 7 months (she is now 3)I was told this was not a problem.How an infection can be deemed a pre-existing condition is beyond me and I will not let this rest.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   very bad experience purely pets   14 January 2017

Reviewed By: Nield, Recommend:

These guys are happy to take your money then wriggle out of paying for claims in any way they can My dog has had one claim and basically the cover isn't worth it Excess charges Increases on premiums Bad communication Admin fees to cancel Threatening debt collectors for collection of admin fee cancellation This company will rip you off and you would better not having your pet insured as your cover you get is worthless

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Do your research   9 January 2017

Reviewed By: M Rydell, Recommend:

I have never had any problems with purely pets or ultimate as a company. All these comments regarding excesses, co-payments of 15% and admin fees for cancellation are no different from ANY insurance company! Purely pets have all their charges and fees stated up front before the policy is bought and if you have a query they are very helpful on the telephone. I don't understand why people are shocked at having to pay the excess etc. - this is the case with all types of insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Last year had terrible claims experience with Purely Pets. This year, almost a repeat. They "Cancelled" my original claim apparently because they did not receive the claim paperwork, yet I had called them to check they had it three days before. The claim was mysteriously recreated a few days later, but now the 10 days wait is based on the recreated date not my original date. Also heard the same excuse as last year that their claims teams are really busy at the moment, etc. I would avoid this… (read more)

comment by: Mark C, 28 June 2017
 
 Last year had terrible claims experience with Purely Pets. This year, almost a repeat. They "Cancelled" my original claim apparently because they did not receive the claim paperwork, yet I had called them to check they had it three days before. The claim was mysteriously recreated a few days later, but now the 10 days wait is based on the recreated date not my original date. Also heard the same excuse as last year that their claims teams are really busy at the moment, etc. I would avoid this… (read more)

comment by: Mark C, 28 June 2017
 
 You must work for the company ,everyone seems to have a problem below your statement

comment by: Nield, 14 January 2017
 
5/5   Excellent   6 January 2017

Reviewed By: Paul, Recommend:

Had my policy with this company for two years and cover is identical to a better known brand but half the price. My claim was dealt with efficiently and without any issues. I often shop around and would be hard pressed to find more competitive prices

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid   4 January 2017

Reviewed By: Dianne Whitley, Recommend:

After paying premiums for several years and no claims I had to make a claim for a small op on my dog. It took months to actually get anything back with several phone calls to chase the amount by myself and the Vet! They seem to try anything not to pay you. I then got my renewal which had quadrupled this year . So I have cut my losses and finished with them. I am furious as my dog is getting quite old so have paid them for nothing over the years and now difficult to get insurance for her due to her age. Do not insure with them it's a con.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid   3 January 2017

Reviewed By: Dianne Whitley, Recommend:

After paying premiums for several years and no claims I had to make a claim for a small op on my dog. It took months to actually get anything back with several phone calls to chase the amount by myself and the Vet! They seem to try anything not to pay you. I then got my renewal which had quadrupled this year . So I have cut my losses and finished with them. I am furious as my dog is getting quite old so have paid them for nothing over the years and now difficult to get insurance for her due to her age. Do not insure with them it's a con.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I agree , just had my policy renewals , they have doubled ! and I cant now change insurers as pre existing conditions , simply an ear infection . I feel so tricked , avoid at all costs !

comment by: bridget, 28 April 2017
 
1/5   Avoid like the plague   10 November 2016

Reviewed By: Gerry McNeilly, Recommend:

I have had my policy with this company for 12 years, price rises year on year. I that whole time never made a claim, My Yorkie s now 13 years old and has developed a Heart Murmour and her insurance costs have tripled. 99.00 renewal access every year plus 57 premiunm per month and the still try to wriggle out of paying. I have now cancelled my policy and await their phone call demanding 30 termination fee, if they di I will slap them with a court summons. Very shoddy company, bad service and diabolical use of their terms, which them knowing I was blind did not provide me with terms and conditions under the disabled persons act, which null and voids any terms they may have ie 30 cancelation fee as i was not made aware of it via other means. Clearly broke the law, Again avoid them like the plague, you have been warned.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Please can you advise if the company sent you a solicitors letter for the admin fee as I am in a similar position myself and after advise. Thanks.

comment by: Christina, 14 March 2017
 
1/5   ABSOLUTE RUBBISH - COWBOYS   28 September 2016

Reviewed By: T Disgusted, Recommend:

Cancelled my policy within the cooling off period and was still charged 30 "Admin Fee" (even though I set up the whole policy myself online!!!) Absolute rip-off, don't go near them. What is the point of a cooling off period if you are still going to get charged 30??? COMPLETE JOKE!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   30 admin fee if cancel/not renew!!!   19 September 2016

Reviewed By: Amanda, Recommend:

Having been with this company for the past 7 years and never made a claim, what started out as a value for money policy has steadily increased year on year. Now our pet is 9yrs of age with all the exclusions attached to the policy have decided to go elsewhere.HOWEVER, an admin fee of 30 is levied when you initially take out the plan and is charged should you wish not to renew!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Bizarre waiting times   15 September 2016

Reviewed By: Mr Ramm, Recommend:

Yes I've been waiting for a claim submitted in May and it's now mid-Sept! I get occasional emails saying they've had a high demand etc but it's ridiculous. If I hadnt been so busy at work I would be chasing it. That's not to say the won't pay (I claimed a few years ago and after a bit of a fight got a cheque in the post a week later). But I think my dog will be dead by the time they assess her claim. I don't know how things have gone so badly wrong there.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My dog has died since they've reviewed the claim.

comment by: S beech, 28 September 2016
 
1/5   Appalling   30 August 2016

Reviewed By: Tori, Recommend:

Claim received by PP on 12 July. Was advised 10 working days to assess. 5 Aug, got email to say high volumes of claims and that they needed 20 more days (just days, not working days). Several phone calls later when i'm reminded of their high volumes of claims and i'm still waiting on a decision on 30 Aug. Latest call handler tells me claims for 12 July being assessed now and she will email to ask them to prioritise mine. Even if they do pay out (which seems unlikely given other reviews) I will not be using them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 After reading these reviews I'm seriously starting to panic as my claim is nearly 21/2 grand !!! So not exactly peanuts! Have tried to phone them just keep getting put on hold not heard by email yet and I borrowed the money to pay the over 3000 vet bill so need the money back. This is first time in 3 years I have made a claim and so worried they going to try and wriggle out of paying or make it so it is after my renewal due on 15th sept. Have you any advice with dealing with them?

comment by: Liz denison, 8 September 2016
 
 I am going through exactly the same issue. My claim was submitted in May and I am still waiting. Service is shocking and will never be using again! I hope your claim gets resolved.

comment by: Angry Customer, 6 September 2016
 
1/5   Poor servicemen   28 August 2016

Reviewed By: Alan, Recommend:

Please take this on board I have had pet insurance with this company for two years this is my second claim with them the first was in the first year and my cat took a blood clot and a claimed 230 and it took seven calls to them to get 135 back but it took a long time then this year my cat took I'll again and we were 450 this time we sent the bill into them by e-mail which was opened but they said after 3 weeks they never received it then we e-mailed again after 3 weeks again they sent it back because the date was wrong on the claims form we sent it back again and again they said that they never received it and again we sent it back then 3 weeks later I phoned to see what the hold up was and I was told that the nurse who deals with the claims was running about 5 weeks behind the sad thing was that out cat sadly passed away in the middle of this which is making this very stressful indead so please please think heard before you choose this company hope this helps in your look for insurance

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID Ultimate Pet Insurance (Kwikfit pet ins)   19 June 2016

Reviewed By: Darcy, Recommend:

I'd advise you NEVER take out pet insurance with this company. My experience was exactly like that of so may others reviewing the service. My policy cost 300 per year and I held this policy for many years. I had occasion to claim in February 2016 when my wee dog suddenly became very poorly. He had to be put to sleep after a curative course of treatment failed. The insurance claim process that followed was awful and really added to our upset. 2 excesses, 15% overage (for dogs 8 years old and over) and they refused to pay for part of treatment which they claimed was a preventative/elective procedure - when it was actually a last ditch attempt to turn things round operation. My vet wrote a supporting letter and had to resend it 3 times! The end result was that they paid less than half of a bill over 1000! They even charged me for a full extra months policy to cover the day he was put down (which took place at 8.00 am). During this process I received a pre-populated claim form containing all the wrong details - for someone else's pet (different age, breed, name and sex!) To top it all today, 4 months after losing my little dog and the policy ending, I've just received a renewal notice for the other dog's policy which is due in August 2016. They state that as I have a direct debit set up it will automatically deduct - unbelievable! I wouldn't touch them with a bargepole. I rated as 1 'Worst', only as there is no option for a negative integer!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Hello Darcy I agree with you completely this company are a waste of time. I have had to constantly phone this company but got no where until I sent an email threatening to go to media. They phoned back next day my claim was 674 and they will pay out 234 after all their deductions terrible company I can only think of one worse Animal Friends when if your pet is over 8 years old they make a 33% deduction

comment by: Tena Ross, 26 August 2016
 
 i AGREE WUTH REVIEW, AWFUL COMPANY AND EVEN THOUGH THEY STATE TAKES 5 DAYS TO PAY OUT I HAVE TO RING UP EVERY WEEK TO CHASE PAYMENTS WITH AN AVERAGE OF 6 WEEKS TO GET MONEY IF I AM LUCKY

comment by: TRACEY, 11 July 2016
 
1/5   Problamatic payers   3 June 2016

Reviewed By: Tasha, Recommend:

After a wait of 7 weeks for a 700 vets bill to be settled, Purely Pets sent me 2 e-mails, one to say they would not be paying anything towards this bill and another one 5 minutes later to say the settlement was 69. After contacting our vet, he sent a letter to the insurance giving more details about the operation and then it took a further 5 weeks for them to tell us we were going to receive a further 379 towards the cost. The excess on the policy was 99 but they took 2 times excess due to the nature of the operation and then charged us a further 15% of the bill due to the dogs age. Prior to the claim being started Purely Pets doubled our monthly premiums due to the dogs age. We have been responsible dog owners for 25 years and always insured our dogs with various other insurers and have never been treated like this.We have since cancelled our policy and will now take our chances. Steve C, 3 June 2016

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I agree...please avoid this 2 bob outfit, customer service is poor, take weeks to pay out, that is if they don't try to weltch out of the claim.

comment by: Mark Turner, 17 June 2016
 
 Avoid this company they are terrible then add 15% cause dogs age then you got to pay 15% on top of the bill plus excess! Con

comment by: Karen , 14 June 2016
 
5/5   So far so good   25 May 2016

Reviewed By: Debbie, Recommend:

Well, I am probably going to jinx it but so far I have found Purely Pets to be fine and have just taken out my 4th policy with them. Yes, payment can sometimes be slow and they need a bit of prodding but isn't this the case with a lot of insurance claims? Yes, there is a 99 excees and extra 15% for over 8 years and cancellation fees but these are all stated in the policy documents. There is also a 10% multi pet discount. My advice would be phone them and ask questions before you take out the policy I have always found them very helpful.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Nice to hear your comments have you phoned them recently as they will be taking out your direct debit my little boy died 3rd June and still waiting for them to pay out for his treatment this company is horrendous I can not even contact them on the phone re my claim

comment by: Tena Ross, 24 August 2016
 
1/5   Distressed Policy Holder   8 January 2016

Reviewed By: Charlie, Recommend:

I have been a customer for 5 years I made no claims I contacted regarding the policy 2 days ago advising that my dog had sadly passed away and seeking support I received no reply however I did receive an email advising I had cancelled my direct debit and advising that if I did not pay an outstanding balance 12 then further action will be taken. I am very distressed at the content of the email but more the fact they have not responded to my correspondence how insensitive at what is a distressing time.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I had the same issue they're a disgusting company! I have made a complaint it's disgusting

comment by: Amy, 4 July 2016
 
  27/03/2016 ....The same thing has JUST happened to me, less than 2 weeks since my boy died , all payments previously paid by direct debit for years ( on 2 pets ) they never said i had to pay the final balance of 15 manually, then they tell me i've 10 days to pay before it's put into a debt collectors hands.

comment by: Lynda , 27 March 2016
 
1/5   Avoid this company at all costs.   26 November 2015

Reviewed By: John Barnes, Recommend:

Please read the negative comments on this company, from my own experience, they are true. I have also been hit with this rip off 30 cancellation fee and would not recommend this company to anyone.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I was with more than pet insurance who paid out twice, no queries and very quickly, however as my premium went up I moved to a new insurance.. Legal and general.they are underwritten by ultimate pet partners or insurers, and it's been nothing but a nightmare! Awful trouble, will not pay out on anything, they find the tiniest excuse going to refuse claims. I'm still battling with them now! Complete rip off

comment by: Laura , 14 March 2016
 
  Add your own review


Review Purely Pets pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 3 + 1 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016