pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

Pathetic - Debenhams
James Curtis, 31 July 2014

Took an insurance policy out for my cat at the beginning of the year. Late May she became ill and In had to fill in a claim form, which I did then handed it to the vet to complete. I received an e-mail telling me I could expect payment within five day. That was almost two months ago and I still telephone each week to be given even more excuses. I know insurance companies are bad when it comes to paying out, but these jokers are top of the league.

Rip-off - Tesco
Louisa Stanway, 30 July 2014

Couldn't agree more with the bad reviews posted here. My insurance with Tesco has gone up fro 68 to 98 in one year. This is because my dog is 13 & has had an operation - which they failed to pay for as they say it is an existing condition. It's probably fine if you have lifetime cover - but if you have an annual policy - check the small print you are not covered if the condition returns after the year has expired. This I found out to my cost - would never insure with Tesco again.

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story
Nightmare!! Steer Clear!!! - Animal Friends
Sam, 29 July 2014

Do not be fooled by the Animal 'Friends' image. This company is a disgrace. They avoid pay-outs at all costs and add small print into your contract each year they renew your policy. Every time I have made a claim for one of my animals in the last 7 years they have declined it and I have had to fight their decision. My ageing lab has previous arthritis issues so bones are written out of her policy- when I made a claim for an unrelated vulvar infection that was picked up at her check up for her arthritis they refused to pay on account of the fact that arthritis was noted at that appointment on the vets print out. My vet wrote a scathing letter to them and eventually they have paid out less the excess and less the 35% contribution that they have just pointed out is in the small print. They get a fortune from me every month for all of my animals -Id cancel if I dared.

Read the small print, they avoid a pay out - Animal Friends
J Adams, 28 July 2014

My dog was hit by a car, thankfully she is ok, but of course she needed treatment straight away and what with scans etc the vets bill came in at 1600.00. Animal friends refused my claim with a rather patronising letter quoting a line from the small print. My neighbour had the same problem with this company. Don't waste your money with Animal Friends.

All of the complaints are true. - RSPCA
David Kovacic, 28 July 2014

Told I had to submit my dog's 3 year history, just for a yearly vaccination claim. Asked to cancel, and was told I was stuck for the rest of the year. (They told me I had been paid for vaccination visit - not on my transaction account! At least I was lied to - now I can take further action). Just as horrible as any other bad insurance company.

very happy with Tesco pet insurance - Tesco
mrs s smy, 27 July 2014

I had no problem with Tesco I had 2 claims last year which were Direct from vet to them one fir gastrointestris costing over 750 and then a small biopsy on his anal passage costing over 600 again direct claim.no problem.although my monthly payment is now 43 from 36 being a Labrador and 8yrs old. I was very impressed with the prompt payments to my vet.

Could not have been better! - Animal Friends
Dani, 26 July 2014

I insured my horse with animal friends back in January and for the first time in 9 years with him I had to make a claim for him in June. The vet was with me to give him his annual health check when he decided to have a respiratory attack so I had no time to call them to let them know what was going on as it was a case of give him the treatment now and start the investigations. Rang Animal Friends who got the claim form sent out to me, took a while for my vets to get the form off as they were putting everything on in one go and it was a month of investigations etc... Sent it on 15/7, I got a letter dated 21/7 saying they'd paid my vet directly by BACS transfer. Could not of asked for better service. Less than a week from SENDING the form to paying over 1100 directly to my vet. Could not recommend them enough. Have been made aware of exclusions that will take effect from my next policy year, and they're very reasonable. Excellent service and hope to stick with them!

8 MONTHS TO PAY OUT - Tesco
Barney M, 25 July 2014

Claim for less than 300 Tesco agreed and apparently sent a cheque within a month of claim. Cheque never appeared so they cancelled it and said another was on it's way. This scenario went on for 8 months in total with staff assuring me a cheque was in the post. Only 1 person finally told me that a cheque had NEVER been reissued. Customer service is pants! Avoid like the plague.

Any excuse not to pay out - Animal Friends
M. Oubhie, 23 July 2014

Cancelled with a reputable company for these people, worst idea I had. They have taken my first direct debit payment and when I tried to claim, they declined saying I was hours short of the 14 day waiting period. They had taken my money though so if I wasnt covered on that date, they should have taken it after the waiting period was over. Then slapped an exclusion on any digestive illness in the future although this was a gastro bug and they DIDNT pay out anyway. Ive now cancelled my policy and will set up my own savings account as you are sure of your OWN money if needed. These are not ANIMAL FRIENDS quite the opposite. They also refuse to give their surname saying that "is their own personal information" which we the customer are not entitled too. Why do they need our full names then?

Defo a Rip Off!!! - John Lewis
Boo, 23 July 2014

As per the posters above: How can one start out with John Lewis at 11 per month with a fit and healthy puppy and then have the premiums doubled within a year? I asked them and was told that the Vet fee's in my area were increasing and taking into account the health problems encountered in my breed, therefore the premiums had to go up. My breed of dog is one of the healthiest breeds around. If one looks on the KC website it is clear. There are no known health issues and after pointing this out to them, they don't want to know. ~SHAME ON YOU JOHN LEWIS!!!!!!!!!

Fan Bloody Tastic! - Vets Medi Cover
George Ford, 23 July 2014

All was well until last week.... Molly was, well, being a puppy and was jumping around on the sofa when she stepped back, missed her footing and fell of the sofa - something she'd done loads of times before.... only this time, she must have fell awkwardly, she got up and was holding up her hind leg. Long story short, I rushed her to the emergency vet where they said they thought she'd probably just twisted her knee and that hopefully with rest it would ease up, on Monday we took her back to the vet and they carried out X-rays under G/A. I rang VetsMedicover to give them a heads up, within minutes they had contacted my vets, and within 3 days they had rang me and asked for my bank details!!!!!! Impressive huh! The lady I dealt with was amazing, very polite & helpful, I was quite upset when I first rang them as had been told that my pup may have to have a op, but Ann (I think thats her name!) was brilliant. She put me at ease, was very reassuring and comforting and even had me laughing by the end of it!!! I can't recommend this company enough!!!!!!!! Thank you to Vets MediCover!

excessive price increases - Marks & Spencer
oopy noop, 23 July 2014

I have my pet insured with Marks & Spencers, we have made a claim for an ongoing illness, which they have paid up for with no quibble, but because of this the insurance goes up a full 50% each year, it is currently just under 400.00, next year it will be 600.00 + 90.00 excess for each illness, it only covers up to 1000.00 each illness. I cannot take my dog elsewhere as he has an existing condition, they have me over a barrel and they know it, they are a disgrace, keep clear








Insurers

ArgosTescoChurchillAnimal FriendsSainsburysHalifaxPetguardHealthy PetsVirginAXA
Direct LinePetplanE&L PetMarks & SpencerMore ThanRSPCALV PetLloydshelpUcoverAA Pets

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2010 PetInsuranceReview