pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

really nice company to deal with - MORE TH>N
Kathryn perry, 16 September 2014

My Flatcoated retriever had a wart removed from her elbow by our vet - 10 days later while travelling to Wales for a holiday the wound opened up and needed restitching. This meant a claim involving the Welsh vet as well as my own. Payment took a couple of weeks and I did phone to check what was happening. Customer service was excellent and a few days later I was paid in full - only 1 excess payment was taken! Well done More than!

The worst insurance experience ever! - Animal Friends
Littlewolf75, 15 September 2014

Hi, we are with Animal Friends (or were until today when we cancelled all of our policies) for our 5 pets. Recently our beautiful Persian girl got ill and subsequently died. The vets bill was for over 630. After 2 months of toing and froing with Animal Friends we were given a final settlement of less than 25. They have managed this by breaking the illness down and settling each "problem" separately, with a 99 excess for each problem. Horrified by how appalling the insurance cover has proved to be I asked to cancel all of our policies, so that we can insure our precious pets with a "proper" insurance company. It then became clear that the cat who had died was still insured with "animal Friends" who were also still collecting money, by Direct Debit from our bank, for a cat that has been dead for 2 months! Is there any point of insuring a pet when this is the level of cover that will be provided? If their prices look too good to be true there is a good reason for that.

Highest Rated

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  The Kennel Club  

  More Than  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Fantastic company! Excellent value, kind &helpful! - Vets Medi Cover
Tanya Sanders, 15 September 2014

I am really pleased with the service that VetsMediCover provide for my dog. I have got my Labrador Mia insured with them and I first took her policy out when she was a puppy. I chose the higher level of cover (vet's fees for up to 10,000) because I know how expensive vet bills can be due to my old dog having hip dysplasia. It is always best to plan for unexpected illness and so I would recommend that people take out the higher cover. Anyway when she was about 11 months old she became poorly and my vet decided that we needed to test her for allergies. The costs for these tests are very expensive but VetsMediCover covered all of the costs (minus the excess) without any hassle at all. I was so pleased and it was so reassuring to know that I have got my dog insured with such a good company. It has turned out that she has indeed got allergies and without VetsMediCover we wouldn't have known this because I would have struggled financially to pay for the tests myself. Also the customer service team are always friendly and helpful and there were no questions asked when I rang up for a claim form. All in all I rate this company 10/10 and I highly recommend them to anyone looking for pet insurance.

Buy the lifetime cover - E & L
WaterLover, 14 September 2014

We had previous cover with another insurance provider and had terrible experiences with them. Since switching to E&L everything is much better. Our Collie had cruciate surgery and the lifetime cover saved us. I don't know how we would have paid for the treatment without this policy.

AVOID AVOID AVOID! - Purely Pets
CAT, 14 September 2014

Absolutely appalling company. Wriggled out of paying out on my claim as treated each problem separately and applied excess to each problem when my poor dog had a major op for several conditions. Exactly the sort of company that give insurance companies such a bad reputation. They even had the gall to charge me a cancellation fee when I left them - unbelievable!! DO NOT even contemplate using them; save your premiums each month instead towards any future vet bills.

worst company out,, dont touch them,,,, - Sainsburys
mark, 13 September 2014

will not pay out ever,,makes up reasons all the time,,bad company,, keep your money, go to a real company,, they are a con,, KEEP CLEAR,,,,,

Unprofessional - Pet-insurance.co.uk
Ingrid, 11 September 2014

The worst pet insurance - DO NOT use them Unprofessional in every single aspect Waited for the claim money for ages... Senior manager not even able to help you

Well worth it - Agria
sb, 10 September 2014

Agria paid over 800 for cancer treatment for our sweet pup. Highly recommended.

Do not use this company please - Petpals Direct
Val, 9 September 2014

A very poor experience from this company. My dog had an emergency op. I attempted to claim but they first of all denied they had received the form that I had sent (complaint 1 - never answered), re sent and they denied the claim by some very dubious wording regarding conditions (complaint 2). I have gone through to the ombudsman to sort. Avoid this company as they will not pay. Please go to a reputable company. If a vet is advising against this company then you really should look elsewhere.

Cover for Life negated by premium increases - helpucover
Roger Devlin, 5 September 2014

I took this policy out when my dog was a puppy as it was a reasonable price and gave cover for life which was important. However in the last two years the premiums have shot up and are now 103.76 a month for this year. My dog has just turned 9 so they also want me to pay the first 25% of the claim which means that they are only covering the equivalent of vets bills greater than 1500 in a year. Obviously they don't want to cover older animals so make the policy too expensive to be practical. So much for "Cover for Life". I would suggest you don't use this company.

Mostly Good - MORE TH>N
Connor C., 4 September 2014

Have two dogs insured with them and have no complaints about the the cover. Paid for a surgery for one of our pups. Only complaint is that the premiums have gone up more than I expected. I guess you get what you pay for.

Feline ACL reconstruction - Vet Sure
Felix, 4 September 2014

I could not fault VetSure. Their staff were caring, helpful, efficient and the policy paid-up as promised - no quibbling. Exactly what you want from an insurance policy to save from added stress when you're worried enough already about your pet. 5 stars all round. Thanks for helping my cat back on the road to recovery. I highly recommended you.








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAXA
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover AA Pets

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2014 PetInsuranceReview