pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

Quick pay out - Protect your Bubble
SeleneT, 17 October 2014

Our kitty needed treatment after being bit by another cat. Protect My Bubble processed the claim straight away. CUstomer service was very friendly - highly recommend this company.

Easy process - PDSA
JoJo1964, 17 October 2014

I was recommended this insurance by a friend and have been very happy with it. Customer service was very helpful and our claim was handled without fuss.

Highest Rated

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  The Kennel Club  

  More Than  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Check Small Print, be careful what you say - Paws & Claws
Nigel P, 17 October 2014

I have just been left with a 1,400 vet bill so far. I changed to Paws and Claws in April of this year as they were cheaper than Direct Line. I wish I hadn't now. My vet transposed what I said to them, and put the start of a problem around when I joined Paws and Claws. I had actually been insured for nearly a month when our dog started with an eye problem. I hasten to add we have never claimed before for the dog, and she is 8 now. The point blank rejected the claim, and basically called me a liar. I attempted a review, but my vet couldn't remember the initial consultation discussions, so between them left me high and dry. Needless to say I cancelled the policy, and went back to Direct Line, and changed vets. Paws and Claws are still chasing the cancellation fee which I am not paying yet due to the inept and diabolical service.

Peace of Mind - Petplan
M and J, 15 October 2014

We have 2 dogs and one cat insured with petplan for many years. They have always been there when needed. We don't have to worry about whether we can afford a treatment recommended by our vet, because we know petplan will pay the claim.

Massive Hike In Premium - MORE TH>N
Nick, 15 October 2014

Watch out these guys make massive hikes in premiums, ours has gone up by 111% in 2 years to 55 per month. We've made 2 relatively small claims in 7 years so needless to say we are voting with our feet. Cheerio MoreThan.

never had any problems - E & L
little laura, 14 October 2014

I have claimed twice with my dog first for skin condition then a ripped claw. E&l paid out no fuss and would recommend.

No Hike on my premium - Animal Friends
Jo, 14 October 2014

I claimed for my dog last year as he broke his leg. Claim took about 2 weeks to resolve, but I think it was because of my vet being slow and not Animal Friends. I have just received my new premium and it has only gone up a small amount, so very happy.

rip off merchants - Vets Medi Cover
George, 14 October 2014

3 years with company 1st year cheap 2nd year jumped by over 100 and over 200 jump. That is over 300 jump in 2 years with no claims. Absolutely discusted with them.

Catalogue of mistakes - Petplan
Dawn Elliott, 14 October 2014

Have made numerous mistakes with claims, underpaid on one claim, have lost forms and then lost duplicate, lost receipts, took out my excess twice for a continuous claim, sent a claim form back to me claiming it was filled out incorrectly when it wasn't therefore delaying payment by weeks, am currently pursuing compensation with their complaints dept. for all the problems that they have caused. Would not recommend this company and have insured my new puppy with Sainsburys as they offer much better cover for a lot less per month.

Really Helped - The Kennel Club
GGP, 14 October 2014

We have been paid over 1000 the last year for claims for our collie. Not sure if we would be able to afford our sweet dog if it wasn't for this insurance.

Con Artists - Very
Ian Parkes, 13 October 2014

Very Pet insurance (Thornside) are very quick to take your money but as soon as you make a claim they will do anything to avoid paying out and will then increase your premiums massively to get the money back. We were paying 24 per month for their platinum insurance for our 9 year old Labrador Retriever but after making a claim the premium rose by 44% A year later the premium has risen to 124 per month, a massive 500% increase in one year because I have made a claim. Admittedly the claim is ongoing and the insurance company should have paid out around 1000 over the last year, but that is the reason why i took out the platinum cover in the first place. The reason why I say they should have paid out 1000 is because they still owe the vet over 300 which has been outstanding for nearly 6 months and the vet is continuously chasing me for the payment. Avoid at all cost... you have been warned!

Massive hikes in premiuns. Beware!!! - MORE TH>N
Dominique Tinklin, 11 October 2014

I've just received my renewal for my 7 year old lurcher and it has risen from an already ridiculous 45 to an awe inspiringly crazy 73.73. I have claimed on her insurance but it was for less that 1000 and that was when she was a very young dog. I am completely disgusted with them as they quite obviously hike the premiums in an attempt to get rid of you at a point in a dogs life when they may actually start to need insurance. I am moving my dogs whilst she is still under 8 and will never use this company again.








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover AA Pets

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2014 PetInsuranceReview