pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

60% Premium Hike - MORE TH>N
Jo, 22 April 2015

What a rip off. I've had their insurance for a year, never claimed or even called them, and they put up the premium by 60%!!!!! I called them and they offered me 5 off for a being a loyal customer! Well now I'm back in the jungle of rip of insurance companies just trying to do what is right for my pets and getting ripped off as usual. My real rating for this company is minus 5 but I don't have that option. Don't put your hard earned cash into their pockets!

Cat insurance claim declined because of existing condition - Tesco
Dave, 21 April 2015

I'll keep this short but not very sweet ! Insured cat with tesco after monthly premiums became too high with pet plan after very early diagnosis that cat had reduced kidney function Tesco agreed to insure cat with full disclosure of his health and existing reduced kidney function Cat died early 2015 of kidney failure , tesco refused to pay because of existing kidney condition as informed to them at start of insurance contract . Now for the catch 22, 23 , 24 etc etc The insurance small print says even though they will take on your cat for health insurance and you tell them of all existing previous health conditions they will not pay for these unless written into your contract I then informed them they agreed to cover my cat for all pre- existing health condition on my phone conversation setting up the policy Now here comes the clever bit ... They then said even if they had agreed to cover all pre - conditions which they could not verify as they has lost the phone tapes (???) , they would only pay out if the cat died within 12 months of the existing pre - condition becoming fatal ....brilliant !!! Hats off to Tesco ...I wish I had an insurance company like theirs ! Anyhow my advice is don't bother with any pet insurance just save the money and pay your own pet bills

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

  More Than  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Fabuloue premium for my Visla - Lifetime Pet Cover
Rob Foulkes, 21 April 2015

Just insured my 6yr old Hungarian Visla with Lifetime Pet Cover. Choose the 6000 lifetime cover for 27.49,beat all the others I tried. Great people to deal with

DEALT WITH CLAIMS EFFICIENTLY - MORE TH>N
MELISSA G., 21 April 2015

I NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH MORE THAN, THEY PAID ALL MY CLAIMS AND I HAD A CAVALIER WITH HEART AND EYE PROBLEMS. IT WOULD BE FAIR TO SAY THAT THEY DID INCREASE THE PREMIUM CONSIDERABLY ON THE LAST RENEWAL BUT I DID FEEL THAT THIS WAS JUSTIFIED CONSIDERING ALL MY CLAIMS AND THEIR HELPFUL SERVICE. HOWEVER, THEIR QUOTE FOR MY NEW PUPPY CAVALIER COST ALMOST THE SAME AS MY OTHER 6 YEAR OLD, SO WHILST I AM LEAVING THE 6 YEAR OLD WITH MORE THAN, I AM INFACT LOOKING FOR AN ALTERNATIVE FOR THE PUPPY.

Takes much longer to pay out then other providers - Tesco
David Vines, 20 April 2015

I switched to Tesco from Pet plan because they were cheaper but you get what you pay for. They claim on their website that 95% of claims are processed within 5 working days. What this actually means is that even if you scan and email over your claim, you will get an email 2 or 3 days later confirming they have received it. Then 5 days later it will be 'processed onto their system' this is working days so that is already almost 2 weeks into it. Then when you speak to them they will say it takes another 10 - 14 working days from being processed until they raise a cheque, then another 2-3 working days for that to be posted. This is all providing they dont have any queries. All in all you are looking at 5 - 6 weeks at the earliest. Not good service at all and certainly the worst pay out time I have seen in 15 years of having pet insurance

I thought it was cheap - Tesco
Kevin, 15 April 2015

Just over 5 a month for a 3 year old cat, and that was the extra cover which offers a lot of just that, extras. On top of that I got a 25 gift card so the insurance is about half price for the first year. If Tesco decide to increase the insurance a lot after a year I will just get the insurance elsewhere and won't bother to complain on this forum. hehe

Age discrimination - Tesco
jo, 14 April 2015

I completely agree with everyone on here they are disgusting and a rip off company something should be done to stop companies doing what they do! We have a 6 year old Bernese Mountain Dog have insured with them for a couple of years and this year the premium rose From 60 to 90!! Their customer service is absolutely useless as when I rang them and complained I was told its because of the claims....I said what claims?He then said oh its because of Vet price increases I said but I paid 31 for 2nd puppy vaccine 6 years ago and have just paid 34 now an increase of 3 thats only about 10 % over 6 years you've increased mine by 50 % the reply oh thats because you had an introductory discount....um yep I did 10%!!!! Quite clearly their staff have absolutely no idea how their policies are worked out!!! Now I've just discovered I don't even have life cover!! I thought I did as at the time I was with Direct Line another expensive company and said I would like what I had with them life cover etc they sold me their extra cover which it turns out isn't life cover at all!!!!!! They are liars and I would never recommend them ever!!!

Avoid if you expect your dog to get to age 9 - Animal Friends
Maurice, 11 April 2015

I have an Italian Spinone which has been insured with Animal Friends for nine years. Not one penny has been claimed in this time yet when the dog reached the age of nine, the premiums were increase by 60% - circa 250 per year. I can't comment on them otherwise as I have never had to use their services beyond one very small claim on another policy/animal and giving them premiums, which they seem to collect very efficiently. I suppose that some other insurers would similarly increase the premiums which is why I very generously give Animal Friends an average score rather than the 2 which they really deserve.

90% increase in 2 years! - MORE TH>N
Mike Cannar, 11 April 2015

We had our 2 dogs (now 7 and 5) insured with More Than at a monthly premium of 19.60 for 2013. In 2014 the premium went up to 22.77 per month, an increase of 16% (inflation at less than 2%). We claimed for treatment to one dog after an accident in June 2014 and got paid 265 after excess. Dog recovered and this is not an ongoing condition. Just received the quote for this year and the premiums are now 37.29 per month, a whopping increase for 63% on last year and an unbelievable increase of 90% on the first year!!! How can this be justified?? How much would it go up if it was an ongoing condition?? Seems like I'd end up paying for the treatment through my premiums, so what is the point of insurance??

Extremely helpful - Highly recommend! - Lifetime Pet Cover
Sabrina Hannan, 10 April 2015

Received a fantastic service from Lifetime Pet Cover not only in terms of policy cover but also value. An all round win. They made the whole process simple from beginning to end. Would not hesitate in recommending them to anyone! Thank you again.

Avoid at all cost - E & L
Wadgie, 9 April 2015

My dog has been insured with his company since he was 8 weeks old - I wanted to extend his cover and took out a new policy ion December last year - I declared all previous conditions Ian's was told specifically that there would be no exclusions - I have now had to make a claim and E&L are doin their best to wriggle out of paying. I have written several emails - you never get a reply from the same person and when eventually do respond what they say makes no sense!! I wish I had read this review site sooner. I think companies like this rely on people giving up eventually - thank goodness that you can refer shoddy companies who mislead customers to an ombudsman. I really would avoid this company and if they tell you there are no exclusions etc get them to put it in writing.

Paying for cancelling. - Tesco
Adam, 9 April 2015

Had no problems with Tesco as I had no problems with my cat. They decided to increase my payment if I decided to stay with them. I found someone better and decided to go with them in January. In January I told Tesco I was cancelling and they told me it was cancelled, but 3 months later I'm still paying for increased pet insurance which I was cancelled.








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover AA Pets

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2014 PetInsuranceReview