pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

helpucover pet insurance

Pinnacle House
A1 Barnet Way

phone: 0845 2000 738

Offers 3 levels of cover. In addition to insuring dogs and cats, helpucover insures rabbits. helpucover is a trading style of Pinnacle Insurance plc.

User Rating
out of 5

add your review

Compare Insurers

Reviews of helpucover pet insurance

5/5   Very efficient and compassionate   20 September 2015

Reviewed By: Michelle, Recommend:

My cat sadly died of cancer aged 5. They paid out within a few weeks and sent a separate letter with condolences which I found a nice touch and the experience of claiming the insurance stress-free which I needed after a very stressful and sad time.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
1/5   Rubbish Dont use unless yoiu want to waste money   27 August 2015

Reviewed By: Jill Holland, Recommend:

I insured one of our miniature schnauzers with this company but did forget about 18 months previous he went to the vets with a gastric bug. I put in a claim in May 2015 as he was so poorly and pooing pure blood I had no choice but to take him to the vets. It turned out he had a tummy infection and it cost nearly 250 to put tight. I submitted the claim which was refused in full as I had not declared his previous tummy bug (Infection is something completely different) but they would not pay a penny and have now put clause on his policy no tummy related issues will be covered. Well lets face it most things with daogs are in there tummy so there is no point in being insured with them. RUBBISH and a complete waste of money

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
5/5   Excellent Service   14 August 2015

Reviewed By: Max, Recommend:

I have always had excellence service, my claim was dealt with promptly and the staff have always been very nice to deal with. Would highly recommend

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
1/5   Misleading   25 June 2015

Reviewed By: Clare, Recommend:

I bought the policy for my one year old shih tzu in January via comparethemarket website. On this site it clearly states for lifetime cover it costs 9 monthly and was the cheapest. I took this cover and in April my vets requested I check level of cover as there was a number of people getting what they thought were lifetime cover when infact they were getting basic. Checked our cover and found it was per condition and was put over to sales to change to lifetime as I had first requested. This new policy started April and our dog had developed some scabing on his head under the first policy. As the proper and 15 month more expensive cover was taken April this made his condition now pre-existing and the insurers refused to help. They accused me of increasing the level of cover in April just because I knew I wanted to claim when in fact it was due to the misleading prices on compare website. Having done the comapre check today it still shows lifetime cover for 9 monthly when in fact lifetime cover is 21 a month!!. Please check you have lifetime cover if you consider this company as what you buy isn't what you get then when you ring to rectify it you get a more expensive policy which now makes any conditions pre-existing which you can't claim for. I'm currently going through ombudsmen with these. If I could give them 0 rating I would.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
1/5   Wont use them again   5 May 2015

Reviewed By: Doug Gordon, Recommend:

I took out a lifetime cover for both our dogs. They weren't the cheapest, but their list of items covered seemed extensive, so decided to go with them. We were asked to give permission for them to contact our vets to view the dogs medical history. We did this and soon after we received our cover note for the dogs. I became annoyed when I noticed all the exclusions listed at the bottom of the page. Including, fore leg conditions, which I found out is because I had mentioned to the vet on a visit, that I thought our 6 month old puppy had clicky joins and was sensitive around the leg area when sometimes playing. I called the insurance company and said that the vet had looked over our pup and nothing was wrong. They asked for the vet to contact them and talk to them regards this. Our vet kindly wrote a letter, stating that he had examined the pup and found all was fine. They came back to me saying they wouldn't take his word for this!!! They then wanted proof that no treatment had been given, so again our vet send in up to date med records. Their excuse this time was that they were no different to the ones received a few weeks earlier so again the foreleg conditions exclusion would remain. The other exclusion was because of tests that were carried out on the same puppy after it was thought she was drinking far to much water and as a result peeing a lot. After several tests, there was nothing found. But again Help You Cover refused to remove the exclusions, after this was pointed out to them.... It just seems to me that they will use any comment made or examination done, regardless of the fact nothing was found wrong after examination, to exclude huge parts of your cover ( and I might add, they don't reduce the premium because of it...) I certainly wouldn't recommend them to any one and we certainly won't ever use them again

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 Agree with you 100%

comment by: Christine, 5 July 2015
1/5   They just want your money   17 February 2015

Reviewed By: simon, Recommend:

I'm disgusted with the way these cowboys do buissness. They will not offer you cover for pre existing conditions even if your willing to pay a higher premium. So if my cats are attacked by harvest mites again I'm not covered. They are shoddy and slow during the claim process and use miss information to cover the slack processes they follow. Stay away from these idiots.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
1/5   I jus covered my pet   11 January 2015

Reviewed By: a very disgruntled costumer, Recommend: N

On first reflection seemed a good deal but i soon realise it wasnt wat it was agreed basically I wanted a good cover wat I got was well rubbish.covered for life I took out wat they sent me was a standard one so if I carried on and my pet got ill once she hit there limit than I be incured for the rest dont bother with this company first thing in morning it will b cancelled

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
2/5   Cover for Life negated by premium increases   5 September 2014

Reviewed By: Roger Devlin, Recommend: N

I took this policy out when my dog was a puppy as it was a reasonable price and gave cover for life which was important. However in the last two years the premiums have shot up and are now 103.76 a month for this year. My dog has just turned 9 so they also want me to pay the first 25% of the claim which means that they are only covering the equivalent of vets bills greater than 1500 in a year. Obviously they don't want to cover older animals so make the policy too expensive to be practical. So much for "Cover for Life". I would suggest you don't use this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
1/5   Misleading Policies   21 July 2014

Reviewed By: Debbie Rowe, Recommend: N

I took out a policy with helpucover in 2009. Although it was more expensive than other insurance companies, I wanted an insurance company that gave me long term security and they advertise that 'If your pet develops a long term chronic illness such as diabetes or an ongoing skin condition, provided it didn't pre-date the policy, this will be covered for the rest of your pet's life.' In 2011 my dog developed a long term illness and since then the premiums have gone up tremendously. Last year it was 84. and this year 141. and I already now have to pay 25% of the costs. It works out that I am paying the monthly costs of the treatment to them in policy payments, so actually I am the one covering the cost of the lifetime treatment, not them!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 Very helpful - confirms what I am experiencing - my premiums now 120 a month and I've made no claims

comment by: Christine , 11 August 2015
  Add your own review

Review helpucover pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 2 =  


ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover AA Pets

See more >>>

PetInsurance Review 2016