pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

E & L pet insurance

Thorpe Underwood Hall
Ouseburn
York
YO26 9SS

phone: 08449 809 520
website: http://www.eandl.co.uk/pet

Offering several levels of coverage, plus insurance for birds.

User Rating
1.4
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of E & L pet insurance

1/5   Terrible contracts & reluctant to pay out.   1 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kmcd, Recommend: N

I inherited this insurance from my mum for her dog after she died earlier this year. The dog was subsequently diagnosed with severe arthritis in his spine. E&L's 'cover' only extended to 1000 per condition. The catch being that you can only put in claims up to 1000. It is entirely at their discretion to exclude aspects of the claim. They refused to tell me what they were not paying for but talked about administration fees a great deal. I recieved 594 back out of the 1000 worth of claims I submitted. They are refusing to pay out any more. Additionally they charged me 10 to change my address. Avoid like the plague.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling. Careless. Casual. No communication   30 July 2017

Reviewed By: Trevor Arnold, Recommend:

They just tried to get me to renew my insurance. The form had a previous animal name, not the correct one, d.o.b 1/1/0001, value 0, etc, etc. You would expect a horrified response and some reaction. Actual reaction - nil. No answer to any email, no response to phone. Avoid at all costs. [from responses below it looks like that's the response to claims, too. Ghastly]

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Very poor customer service   21 July 2017

Reviewed By: Gary Morrissey, Recommend:

Cant believe this company is still in business after how they treated me. 3 times they said they would ring back and never. This was not a little minion in their comapny but their solicitor. BEWARE!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad news   19 July 2017

Reviewed By: Patrick , Recommend:

Paid 270. of a 3000.00 bill Tried to make out the problem was an old injury Only paid after vet got involved it took 6 months I wouldn't have got anything without vets involvement Don't know how they came up with the figure of 270 STAY WELL CLEAR !!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling admin and customer service   11 July 2017

Reviewed By: Cliff, Recommend:

I had to chase them twice to get copies of the policy documents emails to me. Call waiting time are dreadful and then when I cancelled the policy due to me no longer having my dog I got confirmation that three had cancell d and no monies owed but after cancelling my direct debit mandate they then say they ne d to coll ct payment or they will cancel the policy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid like the plague!   10 July 2017

Reviewed By: Gill, Recommend:

I put in a claim for my dog in March and, despite phone calls and emails trying to chase my claim, I finally received a settlement in July. My claim was for 715 and after they deducted percentages etc. I only received 296. I will never use this company again and would tell anyone who is thinking of using them to definitely look elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Staff have a very poor attitude   9 July 2017

Reviewed By: Stef M, Recommend:

Took months to deal with claim they never ring you back when they say and you always have to chase them. Read other peoples reviews very worrying.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Stay clear of these cowboys   7 July 2017

Reviewed By: Gary Morrissey, Recommend:

Staff very snooty and do not ring you back when promised. No empathy whatsoever.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Compete ripp off   7 July 2017

Reviewed By: Merlin, Recommend:

I have been with the company for years. Livetime insurance so the premium goes up every year and the excess this year went through the roof 195 + 20% of the rest. My dog is over 8yo. The most enjoying fact is that their renewal paperwork (14 pages)is completely unclear on what the actual monthly DD payment is!! you need a crystal ball to see how much you are paying!! and on top of that - they charge 0.25 for the direct debit payment every month!! when all other companies give you discount for choosing this form of payment. Disgrace... I think the only way is to cancel and save up for the emergency. just making official complaint!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor company avoid at all costs   29 June 2017

Reviewed By: Adam smith, Recommend:

Had a dog which unfortunately passed due to lymphoma. E &all have been a terrible company to deal with. They have such a bad reputation that my initial vets refused to deal with them due to their slow paying. I unfortunately footed the cost on my credit card which I I have only received payment in stages 4 months later and not in full. I did see a specialist who dealt with the company direct, literally just received a call saying the company have not paid in full leaving me a further 140 to pay. The cost to my credit card was over 3k in all which has incurred substantial interest. I would not recommend at all. I have since moved my other dogs to pet plan as they have a good reputation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   E&L DO NOT EVER THINK ABOUT USING THEM   8 June 2017

Reviewed By: Nats, Recommend:

Absolutely shocking company for both my dogs who both died and they would not pay out as one was 'congenital ' and the other no known cause of death even though the policy included death of pet - they asked for paperwork medical history as expected all given and then do not pay out for another reason they leave you hanging on customer service is shocking no empathy and general sharks STAY CLEAR

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Would not recommend   2 June 2017

Reviewed By: G Kelsey, Recommend:

Two months since a simple claim form submitted, admitted liability after a month and said they would be paying "soon". One month down the line and three phone calls later, stated payment would be made next week direct to the vets. Claimed to have had a high number of claims and that was delaying processing, also claimed that emails were answered in date order, six days after emailing should be more than enough time to answer an email. The initial premiums are low but that is because they want to hold on to their money. About time E&L bosses read these reviews and re-acted.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware of this company   1 June 2017

Reviewed By: Amanda Garside, Recommend:

We made a claim (the first in 7 years) for our dog to have 2 lumps removed, the vet sent them away for analysis and they were different types of growths, both removed and treated at the same time however. E&L said it was two separate conditions and so we had to pay the 95 excess twice!! On top of that the claim is now almost 2 months old and still the vet hasn't been paid. I would avoid this insurance company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Do they honestly care   18 May 2017

Reviewed By: Sharon innes, Recommend:

Following the death of my cat on 5/4/17 I notified E&L requesting a claim form, eventually I received the form and posted it back to them.I received a confirmation email on 21/04/17 saying they had received claim form. I was really impressed by the quick response, I have not heard anything since despite me emaiing twice and even given them an alternative email address.It was stressful enough losing a family member but feel like they are now playing god as to whether my claim is going to be accepted

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!   3 May 2017

Reviewed By: gaynor, Recommend:

I work in a veterinary practice & submit most of the claim forms, we will not do direct claims with E & l as they are so bad! we only have one ongoing direct claim with them at the moment & I have to chase them up for payment every time & this usually takes several phone calls & at least 2-3 months before we get any payment. they are of the worst, avoid at all costs!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible! Avoid at all costs!   25 April 2017

Reviewed By: Sarah Elphick, Recommend:

I placed a claim with E&L for one of my cats back in February, I still have not been paid, they told me that they have a backload of claims at present! Totally unacceptable, thank goodness the claim was not for a considerable amount. I would recommend that you do not go with them, the excess is ridiculous (my fault for not checking!) As mentioned above, avoid like the plague!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 The Ombudsman is brilliant at dealing with all claims for refunding money. All the best.

comment by: lesley Goodall, 29 June 2017
 
 Threaten them with the financial ombudsman

comment by: Neil, 5 June 2017
 
 I totally agree. Put a claim in for vets fees in March and still not been paid- its June!!!! Their excuse is they pay by date order. Just found out how much they are paying and small print as meant I dont get as much as I thought. They only give 40 for hospitalization fee per night, my vets charge 54.60.I threatened them with Insurance Ombudsman and they rang saying payment will go through Monday but paid through bacs so will take 5 days. Asked why cant go through today then- excuse was all… (read more)

comment by: Nodz, 2 June 2017
 
 Totally agree - I've just posted feedback, exactly the same experience with this company. Each time I've had to claim I've had the same poor experience with delays.

comment by: Grant, 23 May 2017
 
1/5   Avoid!!   19 April 2017

Reviewed By: Emily, Recommend:

If you actually want to receive your money for a claim then go with someone else if you want to pay your vets bills then wait forever for the money then definitely go with these!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   STAY CLEAR   16 April 2017

Reviewed By: Wooster , Recommend:

I used this company for my 2 dogs it cost around 20 a month , my younger dog had an accident vet refused to deal with them directly most vets will tell you the same after months of constant contacting them they did settle the claim , the monthly payment rise to around 35 this was to be expected as the claim was. Around 2500 . Year later the same dog had a similar issue but this time he needed specialist surgery when the appointment was made they asked if the dog was insured they did not ask who with , we went to collect the dog when they found out it was E&L insurance they tried to get us to pay the 5000 bill upfront after a lot of arguing they agreed to wait for payment this claim was actually not as long as the last one to be settled the delay was actually the vets fault once again the premium increased to around 49 a month .. few years go by went to the bank no dog had been near a vets the elder dog had never been near the vets for anything in his life. But the premiums had risen to 165 per month the elder dog ( only 5) had risen from 8 to 42 per month . .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   avoid at all costs!!!!!   1 April 2017

Reviewed By: simon, Recommend:

still waiting for over 1200 to be repayed by this company.... they rarely respond and its is very difficult to try and speak to a manage. Almost every interaction had been based on them trying void their liability with terms and conditions.... this has crippled our family financially... this company shoul;d be shut down and fined for gross financial misconduct looking at all the other complaints as well.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Worst ins company for pets   31 March 2017

Reviewed By: Ellis, Recommend:

I paid a full years ins for my cat 🐱 in September in October she had died I didn't get any money back from my premium but had I paid monthly after October I wouldn't have pay anymore Never ever use them again do not pay out quickly

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   A VERY LONG WAIT TO BE PAID!!!   28 March 2017

Reviewed By: Kay Redgewell, Recommend:

I have now been waiting 10 weeks for payment & when I rang yesterday I was told it would be another 12-15 working days until settlement made. By the sounds of it there have been a lot of deductions made from the claim amount! The staff in the claims department are cold & unfriendly & you are made to feel a nuisance for daring to chase payment. The company is very quick to email me with the new restrictions to the policy after I've claimed!!! Can't wait for my renewal date. Only use if you're prepared to wait months to be paid out!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid these charlatans   21 March 2017

Reviewed By: Dave , Recommend:

My dog had an emergency operation in October, still haven't been paid out. Every time I call them I am told it's due to be paid in the next 5-10 days, that was 3 months ago.DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do NOT recommend. Avoid at all costs.   20 March 2017

Reviewed By: Jill, Recommend:

We changed to E & L a couple of years ago as our cats were "getting on" and Petplan was getting expensive. Sadly both of our cats have died since then and we made a claim for our younger one back in November. We have only just had the pay out and it was about quarter of our claim - less excess which was fair enough but then less a percentage which we were not aware of. Probably our fault for not reading the VERY small print. But how can they justify taking so very long to pay out. Terrible. Weeks after we put the claim in our son lost his very expensive i-phone which was insured with another company. We had the full pay out in 3 days. Now that was service. I will be MUCH more careful about choosing any insurance polity in the future and cheapest is most probably not the best in the end. Even our Vet said they recommend clients not to use this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 it seems a copany like this should be on watchdog or rip of Britain.

comment by: john green, 23 July 2017
 
1/5   Go somewhere else!!!   7 March 2017

Reviewed By: E Craig, Recommend:

Absolute sham!!! Worst insurance company I have user used and I work in financial services. I would recommend you go for a company who will pre pay the vet and deal with the vet directly for your pets treatment. Do not use this company at all costs!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful experience   25 February 2017

Reviewed By: Sarah, Recommend:

I took out 2 policies for my pet cats 3 weeks ago to start in march 2017, the price quoted and confirmed was very competitive so I went with them. I then recieived my documents and found the price was 349% higher than the price originally quoted! I called them straight away and was told by a rather unhelpful member of staff to email them the confirmation email I had received and they would respond within 24hrs this didn't happen, I called again 2 days later and after 20 minutes on the phone was told there was an IT issue and that my new documents showing the correct prices would be sent out within 48hrs matter resolved? Of course not! The documents never arrived, I made a 3rd phone call today to be told the documents still showed the wrong price! I asked to speak to a team leader or manager but was told there was not one in the office ( very hard to believe) I have now cancelled the policies as if they can't even get the documents right in 3 weeks what the hell would making a claim be like!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Be prepared to wait to be paid.   20 February 2017

Reviewed By: P.G., Recommend:

Claimed in November just got payment 4 months had to pay up front for op which was 940 then took this long to get back.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Agree with this - I also had to wait for months to pay out on xray costs for my pet. I had to pay out upfront and even then they did not pay out the whole cost

comment by: D Dunn, 13 June 2017
 
 Totally agree!

comment by: Kay Redgewell, 28 March 2017
 
1/5   Go anywhere else but not E&L   11 February 2017

Reviewed By: Garry couchman, Recommend:

Dreadful company took 4 months to pay out on a 400 operation on my dog then took another third off the payout as well as the excess because my dog was old !! We had always paid our premium for years then due to a glitch we missed one and they stopped our policy ! They don'thave write to you only email !! Just wanted to get an old dog off their books !! Don't deal them !!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have been with this company since 2010 and never missed a payment. There customer service is awful, not expect your money back anytime soon. I am still waiting on a claim I sent over a month ago for a 1000 . Unfortunately I had to pay the vets otherwise I would let them chase this company. I'm my experience with other claims I d suggest a 2-3 months wait before payout. Also I paid for lifetime cover year year the Permium was changed.

comment by: Louise, 1 March 2017
 
1/5   BEWARE THREEFOLD EXCESS HIKE AT 8YRS OLD   10 February 2017

Reviewed By: Cary Kemp, Recommend:

My multi pet policy has steadily increased each and every year, and I've just found out the dogs excess hiked to 245 on 8th birthday. My poor Basset 8.5 yrs old has had to have some benign cysts removed, over 2 inches in diameter, which included amputation of her tail. Only one previous claim when she was 2 yrs old. Fingers crossed they will eventually pay out, because my vet doesn't accept them and I've had to pay out over 1,000.00 !!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   abysmal   9 February 2017

Reviewed By: m chappell, Recommend:

I was unlucky enough to be bitten 13 o nths ago by a dog insured with this company. am still suffering from the effects of the hospital ad mittances, infection and related problems. They refuse to answer letters from my solicitor. It may be a cheap company with regards to prem iums but its whole demeanour and operatiin is cheap. Farbetter to go to a more reputable company and pay a little more. Maybe before getting near any pet you should enquire who its insurers are?? Time for intervention by the Ombudsman. Meantime, my advice is AVOID like the plague!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   The Worst   7 February 2017

Reviewed By: L Green, Recommend:

This company is the worst pet insurer and offers very little in financial recompense if your pet is ill. As soon as a condition comes to light, they rewrite the conditions to exclude that condition and your right to claim the following year (and with an old dog, it would be usual for the complaint to continue). What with the excesses and the small print in there ts and cs, don't expect to get much from this lot! the worst choice I have ever made!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   A nightmare when it comes to paying out on claims   4 February 2017

Reviewed By: Lizzie, Recommend:

Agree with the majority of bad reviews - getting E&L to pay out on claims is a nightmare - they take ages. Alway an excuse about 'the backlog' - this 'backlog' appears to have been ongoing for months on end. And there is always a penalty on any further claims for the same problem. Obviously, all the bad reviews don't seem to bother E&L.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review E & L pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 3 + 2 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016