pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Tesco pet insurance

The Wharf
Neville Street
Leeds
LS1 4AZ

phone: 0845 300 2200
website: http://www.tescobank.com/insurance/petins/index.html

Tesco is a leader in low premium insurance policies.

Currently offering a 30 Tesco gift card to new customers buying the Standard or Extra policies.

User Rating
2.4
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Tesco pet insurance

1/5   Stay clear!!   17 June 2017

Reviewed By: John , Recommend:

Been paying 55 a month for insurance for 11 years, won't pay out coz dog has been ill for a year.. furious! Stay clear!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusting   15 June 2017

Reviewed By: LDM, Recommend:

After my poor dog was hit by a car and sadly passed away, I called to cancel my Tesco pet insurance, And the very joly man said 'There you go, Anything else I can help you wiyh today?"!!!!. Sobbing after the call, My friend who had been reading the paperwork hilst K had been on thephone to them Said, Are they sending out the claim form or is it just done automatically, I obviously had a confused face as she said, "He was covered for his death", After calming myself down (Again), I checked the policy myself and saw that she was indeed correct and I was a little annoyed that the 'Is there anything else that I can help you with today', Hadn't even mentioned that my boy was covered. I called back and was told that I was covered, And I received an appology for the earlier response and my claim was done. Buyer BEWARE when you purchase through a comparrison site which does not ask all of the questions needed then you will NOT receive a penny!. An absolute dreadful, Angry, Upsetting and Tearfull experience dealing with the 'Actual Insurance Company' RSA- yep thats Right, So the 3rd party that you've at this point got too & I have to say i'm absolutley Disgusted that a company such as Royal Sun Allowance, Will keep asking question after question and let's not forget you also need to keep the receipt to proove how much you paid all those years ago!! .. Still Not a No, But my Friends & Family have all chipped in and helped me get a little stone of rememberence and have all been disgusted in that this insurance policy litterally was a total waste of money. I've told them to stop bothering me and upsetting me each time they do, And have said I want to hear no more from them. But I am bloody FURIOUS that a pet insurance poicy and Tesco along with Royal Sun Allowance can keep the upset f loosing my boy going on & on & on, Yes I still have a cry, Sometimes a smile, And I miss him soooo very very much.. But to keep the upset continuing for over 6 months. The onlyreview i can give is - DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, Get a decent insurance in which you are 100% sure of what you have covered with your loved ones :-)

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   TRULY APPALLING   14 June 2017

Reviewed By: kim blake , Recommend:

After 7 years without a claim I decided to shop around as my cat's insurance had gone up to over 500 per annum. I managed to get a good deal on line and called to cancel. I was then told that I could not overlap the policies by a day (I did not want my cat to be uninsured) and that IF I cancelled my cat would have to be uninsured for 14 days due to the 'cooling off' period. I am going to investigate this further. Really unhelpful and condescending staff. Dreadful.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Neutering Price Rise   8 June 2017

Reviewed By: D.Clayton, Recommend:

About to renew insurance so informed them that our dog had been neutered. Expected price to go down but they wanted to increase it. Seemingly a neutered dog is more prone to infection! I've never heard that before, all I've heard is the positives of having a dog neutered.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dont stay with Tescos   1 June 2017

Reviewed By: Trevor Mckinley, Recommend:

My dog has been insured with Tescos for 7 years never claimed ,recently he has developed allergys got a blood test and medication put in a claim and was refused.I should have went to a reputable company rather than Tescos.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   30% annual increase.   26 May 2017

Reviewed By: Neil, Recommend:

Last years premium 41 per month renewal cost 53. On line quote for same policy 31per month. Phoned to cancel, no reduction offered. Now waiting for refund of premium. The is much better cover available for a lower price, shop around.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Yearly Policy increases!   18 April 2017

Reviewed By: Mary Dempsey, Recommend:

I cannot comment on Tesco claims service because my dog is in good health. What I would like to do is pass on a comment on is the annual increase in charges. My dog is 10 years old and fortunately in good health. I have been with Tesco Premier package for the last 9 years. Last year I had to cancel and renew my policy to get the same price for considerable less than the renewable quote. This year my policy increase was just over 41%. Unbelievable, I Have made no claims. Upon my telephone call I was offered a 5% reduction on the renewable quote. Whilst I except some sort of increase I feel that 41% was very unreasonable. In order to reduce the amount I had to considerable increase my access. Shame on Tesco for treating loyal customers with unreasonable increases.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same issue here. They are happy to sell you an umbrella when it's unlikely to rain but as soon as clouds appear make sure it's not affordable. Terrible!

comment by: Jon Whitehead, 11 May 2017
 
1/5   Steer clear of this insurance   5 April 2017

Reviewed By: Elsie, Recommend:

Excess applies to each condition the dog has, the condition is then only covered for 12 months and then never again. Lots of things not covered, ie having teeth extracted for gum disease. A complete and utter waste of money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   excellent cover but expensive for older cats   5 April 2017

Reviewed By: JakeS, Recommend:

we claimed a few years ago and Tesco were very helpful and paid the vet in full less a small excess. They have an advice line which is great too. The downside is that for older cats the premium rises steeply (I know that statistically older cats are more likely to need the vets but it does go up a lot)to a point where we've decided to look elsewhere for cover. In summary great for younger cats, not for older ones

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use   16 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mark Hammersley, Recommend:

Do Stay clear, We had a English bull dog pup in June last year insured him from the first day we had him. He is now 9 months old and needs surgery on his air ways but the insurance will not cover this because he is a bull dog, Nothing was stated on the policy when we purchased it. We are now out of pocket for the sum of 2380.96

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   I'll let you make your mind up.   11 March 2017

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

After paying more than 100 per month for the first year, without claim, the renewal was an increase of 50%. Went elsewhere. Nuff said.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   will not be renewing policy   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: ian embleton, Recommend:

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad treatment of long standing customer   4 March 2017

Reviewed By: Lizzie, Recommend:

Received my annual renewal. My insurance premium has gone from 78 to 173 in last two years. I have been with Tesco pet insurance for 15 years and am dismayed by my treatment. I have spoken to them twice about what they can do to help me which is very little. They offered to double my excess to reduce my monthly premium and then offered me a discount of 11 which is laughable! I haven't made any claims since a claim for 180 in 2015. They would rather lose me as a customer than assist me. I now have to shop around and given my 2 dogs are 9 that is not easy. Tesco fell me I have 2 designer dogs. They are cavalier spaniels so I don't think so! No more designer than a Labrador !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great service from Tesco Pet insurance   20 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia Catelain , Recommend:

Have been very impressed and happy with the service offered by Tesco.Our cat was diagnosed with malignant melanoma, and treatment to try and save her cost the full insurance value. There was no delay in paying out, a very small increase in the renewal premium, and a very sympathetic letter when we lost her. I would highly recommend them, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Credit where it's due   18 February 2017

Reviewed By: Paul , Recommend:

Compassionate, convenient to get through to over the phone. And very clear and willing to talk through a claim before proceeding with a procedure at the vets. They also paid my first claim even though it wasn't a huge operation and payment was made almost immediately. Excellent value and service

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive price hike for renewals despite no claims   4 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

Despite having made no claims over the last two years my cover has been hiked by over 100% from 195 in 2015 to 420 in 2017, 35 per month, yet if I buy a new policy online it is only 24 per month. I am told this is an online discount for new customers! - what happened to loyalty - they have lost mine

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just had my Morethan insurance dog up from 330 to 565 from 2016 to 2017 and was shopping around. I see you get the same problem with Tesco Pet insurance which is administered by RSA, Morethan. Going to give that a miss then as you need stability in pet insurance

comment by: Andy, 11 April 2017
 
 That's not good as I'm reading reviews before signing up for a policy. Loyalty should be rewarded. A bit like Sky TV, only give special offers to new customers. Bad Tesco Bad!

comment by: anonymous, 1 March 2017
 
 Cannot agree more. Three years of loyal unclaimed custom to find a massive increase year on year to then find it half the price for new customers. Shame on you Tesco.

comment by: A customer, 15 February 2017
 
1/5   Terrible Sevice   31 January 2017

Reviewed By: Amy, Recommend:

Avoid this company, three months later and im still waiting for the refund of 1200.00, they was meant to pay my vet direct however they kept calling me for payment as it was so delayed...I have now paid the vet direct..everytime I call tesco they tell me they are looking into it still.....my dog now needs further treatment so I called them for pre-autherisation and they told me "we can not discuss another claim we settle this one" bloody cheek seeming as they are the ones delaying it...im so angry. I have used Purely Pets before and they was excellent when my dog had a throat operation and paid the vet 3200.00 the day after the operation

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware of policy price hike   3 December 2016

Reviewed By: Gary Thomson, Recommend:

I insured my dog with Tesco from when he was a puppy, by the time he was 6 we had a few claims and he needed shampoo from vet every 2 months the premium went from Ł235 pe year to Ł795 per year .At which point I was forced to cancel

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have been insured for 9 years with no claims at all. My policy has increased enormously. Stopping everything with Tesco, no more shopping, no more banking and no more pet insurance, cheaper to pay as you go.

comment by: Paddy the Dog, 19 March 2017
 
5/5   Pet insurance   5 October 2016

Reviewed By: Deanna Davison, Recommend:

We had insurance on our westie who had a lot of skin problems,eventually we had to have him put to sleep,Tesco were brilliant with paying out, and very sympathetic when he died.We had no problems with claims and are going to insure our new puppy with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 How can the disparity be explained? All negative apart from this review!! I'd be afraid to join up with Tesco!

comment by: Grace, 16 February 2017
 
4/5   Handled claims OK but premium became too expensive   26 September 2016

Reviewed By: Mike P, Recommend:

Had Tesco insurance from the time we had dog as a puppy. At age 5 he had a mast cell tumour on the top of his head which required removal - this was quite an extensive operation. About a year later he was limping and (wrongly) diagnosed with arthritis but it was only a sprain. Had no problem at all with acceptance and administration of the claims. When he became 7 the premium was doubled without explanation so cancelled it - I could understand the increase in the premium as there had been 2 significant claims and chances were the claims were going to become more frequent as the dog got older.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 This happened to me with More Than! It's a disgrace. They just want to get rid of you when you start claiming.

comment by: JAYNE, 5 December 2016
 
2/5   Huge renewal premium   14 September 2016

Reviewed By: Annamica, Recommend:

I have just received my renewal premium for 2 indoor cats of 1,237 per year!!. Yes 1 is 15 years old so clearly seen as a risk and the other cat is 8 years old. They are both indoor cats which puts them at less risk of a number of potential issues and tesco are aware of this as it is written in my policy document. I have been insured with tesco for approx 10 years and during that time I have had very few claims although in the last month (just prior to the renewal!) I have had to claim 400 of vets fees. I think this renewal premium is a completely unreasonable amount to expect any pet owner to pay and don't believe it is justified. You can insure a young driver in a powerful car for less than this!! I do have to say however they have never quibbled over paying out any claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 exactly the same problem, started off fine 11 years ago for 2 moggies but suddenly massive increase in annual insurance 1200. Despite cancelling insurance before it ran out I was charged for additionalmonths DD. Tesco refused to reimburse as they say it was arrears!!!would never recommend them and am going to make a complaint

comment by: Dee Fagin, 28 October 2016
 
1/5   Terrible - avoid like the plague!   30 August 2016

Reviewed By: Sarah Gray, Recommend:

This company is awful. In all the years we have been with them we have only recently put in two claims, neither of which it seems they will honour. The liver mediation my dog needs to be well has been recently deemed by Tesco's as a supplement, not prescription despite being prescribed by the vet, and so they won't pay. It now also looks as though they won't pay for his abscess operation as he happened to have some dental work completed at the same time as the vet noticed he needed this doing too, once he was already under a general anaesthetic. Had I subjected my dog to two separate operations they would pay for the first. We are still awaiting the outcome of this but it doesn't sound likely. I am incredibly upset with this company - do not use them!!!! they are expensive and you get nothing back.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not stay with Tesco   26 August 2016

Reviewed By: Staffy lover, Recommend:

My premiums trebled over 3 years to the point that I had to reduce the cover to be able to afford 2 my dogs being covered. I think that 450.00 per month is excessive in anyone's book, I reduced the cover to the minimum but it was still 220 each month. As well as that, they are so slow in paying out at the moment I am waiting for 1400 that they underpaid me, despite my vet sending a letter to explain. Even though it's their mistake I am having to chase this money and deal with the fact that my poor old dog has to travel over the rainbow bridge next week.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I was considering dog insurance but the comments about prices increasing at such large amounts also speaking to pet owners about changes to their pet insurance after treatment for their illness is alarming. This was going to be my first pet insurance for a young dog and reading between the lines on comments made by pet owners I was hoping Tesco would be ideal,regrettably I will shop around and hope I find a good deal

comment by: Michael Salmon, 27 April 2017
 
 Your monthly premium seems extreme 450 per month ?????

comment by: Sandra kilner, 3 September 2016
 
2/5   Long long wait   8 August 2016

Reviewed By: Miss Exasperated, Recommend:

Having a claim submitted by my Vets and received by Tesco Insurance during the first few days of July, I chased this up with Tesco over two weeks ago to be told a cheque would be with me the following week. Here I am, seventeen days later still waiting for my claim to be settled - perhaps they will be just as slow when they take my premium next month!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Can't get this site to post my review despite submitting twice so have resorted to posting comments instead. Fingers crossed :( Have a continuing nightmare with Tesco. Ombudsman is currently dealing with. Avoid Tesco at all costs!

comment by: Michael, 29 August 2016
 
1/5   Rip Off   14 July 2016

Reviewed By: Magic, Recommend:

I have been with them for 7 years. No claims and Policy has doubled, When I spoke to customer services they were very keen for me to cancel It seems that they want to off load older dogs which are higher risk. 50 per month is just not acceptable Sue

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same thing has just happened to me eighty pound an month and that's only for standard cover,do a lot of shopping at Tesco but not any more.

comment by: Monica, 8 November 2016
 
 Just received renewal with a whopping 40% increase in premium. Been with them for 11 years with my dog and have never claimed in that time. No such thing as loyalty from insurance companies these days

comment by: Tony Newman, 8 October 2016
 
 Tesco charging 90 per month on our 12yo dog!

comment by: LilyLou, 13 August 2016
 
 I am waiting for my claim to be paid out. Has been over 5 weeks now since my chocolate lab diagnosed with diabetes. Have paid out 300 so far, and need to buy insulin and needles 3 times a month. Just hope Tesco insurance pay out soon.

comment by: Mrs Robery, 1 August 2016
 
 I am waiting for my claim to be paid out. Has been over 5 weeks now since my chocolate lab diagnosed with diabetes. Have paid out 300 so far, and need to buy insulin and needles 3 times a month. Just hope Tesco insurance pay out soon.

comment by: Mrs Robery, 1 August 2016
 
1/5   So slow   12 July 2016

Reviewed By: Allison danby, Recommend:

20 working days later still absolute nothing, 15 working days into claim they said they needed more info and I would have to go to my vets, since then nothing they have my email address and phone number, shall not be going with tesco again

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 They have always paid out eventually! I had to resort to phoning almost daily and in the end the vet spoke to them directly for me. Keep all dates of when your correspondence was sent and the date it arrived in their office. Very stressful when your dog is ill and you have large bills to worry about

comment by: mrs brook, 9 August 2016
 
5/5   highly recommend   11 July 2016

Reviewed By: Julie J Murray, Recommend:

Excellent. Paid direct to vets, no problem

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rude Helpline   5 July 2016

Reviewed By: Victoria Slack, Recommend:

I asked the helpline if I was entitled to see my pets records and was told there would be no point, I would not be able to understand them. My pet is very ill and I am having trouble finding out what is wrong. I am very disappointed to be spoken to like this and I think I will make a complaint. My animals have been insured by Tesco for years. Very poor service, most unhappy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   No claims made but renewal wants a nearly 50% incr   19 June 2016

Reviewed By: K morton, Recommend:

I have a 2 year old cross breed cockapoo never made any claims but premium went from 133 to 189 in one year nearly 50 % increase,phoned to find out why but failed to get the reason,not good !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Renewal price against new customer   14 June 2016

Reviewed By: Julie Talbot, Recommend:

I did not receive my renewal so went online for a quotation it was 336 per year. I called and asked for a copy of the renewal invtatation which had been renewed. When received it was 416 for the same cover, also a 30 free gift card. This is my 7th year as a customer with no claim. I was advised it was a new customer incentive. I checked apart from going through cooling off it had no affect on cover. I asked regarding FCA treating customer principals and received a hollow response. I am going to change the cover over after a month as I do not wish to have a gap in cover. Wished I had realised earlier I ahd not received the renewal. Am not impressed what happened to customer loyalty or even a no claims discount?? Service is not good but hopefully the insurance will be if needed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Bad customer handling   4 June 2016

Reviewed By: Larissa, Recommend:

I have a 20 month old shihtzu been with tesco since we got her. Then since my annual renewal they have been taking my dd a week either side of the date i set. Have emailed them no reply so last month they called for it 5 days before it was due which is also 5 days before payday so it failed they never called for it again despite me emailing them. Then they wrote to me yesterday saying policy has been cancelled no explaination. Never had a problem till i renewed and they dont seem that bothered to contact me back

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Tesco pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 4 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016