pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Tesco pet insurance

The Wharf
Neville Street
Leeds
LS1 4AZ

phone: 0845 300 2200
website: http://www.tescobank.com/insurance/petins/index.html

Tesco is a leader in low premium insurance policies.

Currently offering a 30 Tesco gift card to new customers buying the Standard or Extra policies.

User Rating
2.4
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Tesco pet insurance

2/5   Yearly Policy increases!   18 April 2017

Reviewed By: Mary Dempsey, Recommend:

I cannot comment on Tesco claims service because my dog is in good health. What I would like to do is pass on a comment on is the annual increase in charges. My dog is 10 years old and fortunately in good health. I have been with Tesco Premier package for the last 9 years. Last year I had to cancel and renew my policy to get the same price for considerable less than the renewable quote. This year my policy increase was just over 41%. Unbelievable, I Have made no claims. Upon my telephone call I was offered a 5% reduction on the renewable quote. Whilst I except some sort of increase I feel that 41% was very unreasonable. In order to reduce the amount I had to considerable increase my access. Shame on Tesco for treating loyal customers with unreasonable increases.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use   16 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mark Hammersley, Recommend:

Do Stay clear, We had a English bull dog pup in June last year insured him from the first day we had him. He is now 9 months old and needs surgery on his air ways but the insurance will not cover this because he is a bull dog, Nothing was stated on the policy when we purchased it. We are now out of pocket for the sum of 2380.96

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   I'll let you make your mind up.   11 March 2017

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

After paying more than 100 per month for the first year, without claim, the renewal was an increase of 50%. Went elsewhere. Nuff said.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   will not be renewing policy   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: ian embleton, Recommend:

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad treatment of long standing customer   4 March 2017

Reviewed By: Lizzie, Recommend:

Received my annual renewal. My insurance premium has gone from 78 to 173 in last two years. I have been with Tesco pet insurance for 15 years and am dismayed by my treatment. I have spoken to them twice about what they can do to help me which is very little. They offered to double my excess to reduce my monthly premium and then offered me a discount of 11 which is laughable! I haven't made any claims since a claim for 180 in 2015. They would rather lose me as a customer than assist me. I now have to shop around and given my 2 dogs are 9 that is not easy. Tesco fell me I have 2 designer dogs. They are cavalier spaniels so I don't think so! No more designer than a Labrador !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great service from Tesco Pet insurance   20 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia Catelain , Recommend:

Have been very impressed and happy with the service offered by Tesco.Our cat was diagnosed with malignant melanoma, and treatment to try and save her cost the full insurance value. There was no delay in paying out, a very small increase in the renewal premium, and a very sympathetic letter when we lost her. I would highly recommend them, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Credit where it's due   18 February 2017

Reviewed By: Paul , Recommend:

Compassionate, convenient to get through to over the phone. And very clear and willing to talk through a claim before proceeding with a procedure at the vets. They also paid my first claim even though it wasn't a huge operation and payment was made almost immediately. Excellent value and service

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive price hike for renewals despite no claims   4 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

Despite having made no claims over the last two years my cover has been hiked by over 100% from 195 in 2015 to 420 in 2017, 35 per month, yet if I buy a new policy online it is only 24 per month. I am told this is an online discount for new customers! - what happened to loyalty - they have lost mine

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just had my Morethan insurance dog up from 330 to 565 from 2016 to 2017 and was shopping around. I see you get the same problem with Tesco Pet insurance which is administered by RSA, Morethan. Going to give that a miss then as you need stability in pet insurance

comment by: Andy, 11 April 2017
 
 That's not good as I'm reading reviews before signing up for a policy. Loyalty should be rewarded. A bit like Sky TV, only give special offers to new customers. Bad Tesco Bad!

comment by: anonymous, 1 March 2017
 
 Cannot agree more. Three years of loyal unclaimed custom to find a massive increase year on year to then find it half the price for new customers. Shame on you Tesco.

comment by: A customer, 15 February 2017
 
1/5   Terrible Sevice   31 January 2017

Reviewed By: Amy, Recommend:

Avoid this company, three months later and im still waiting for the refund of 1200.00, they was meant to pay my vet direct however they kept calling me for payment as it was so delayed...I have now paid the vet direct..everytime I call tesco they tell me they are looking into it still.....my dog now needs further treatment so I called them for pre-autherisation and they told me "we can not discuss another claim we settle this one" bloody cheek seeming as they are the ones delaying it...im so angry. I have used Purely Pets before and they was excellent when my dog had a throat operation and paid the vet 3200.00 the day after the operation

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware of policy price hike   3 December 2016

Reviewed By: Gary Thomson, Recommend:

I insured my dog with Tesco from when he was a puppy, by the time he was 6 we had a few claims and he needed shampoo from vet every 2 months the premium went from Ł235 pe year to Ł795 per year .At which point I was forced to cancel

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have been insured for 9 years with no claims at all. My policy has increased enormously. Stopping everything with Tesco, no more shopping, no more banking and no more pet insurance, cheaper to pay as you go.

comment by: Paddy the Dog, 19 March 2017
 
5/5   Pet insurance   5 October 2016

Reviewed By: Deanna Davison, Recommend:

We had insurance on our westie who had a lot of skin problems,eventually we had to have him put to sleep,Tesco were brilliant with paying out, and very sympathetic when he died.We had no problems with claims and are going to insure our new puppy with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 How can the disparity be explained? All negative apart from this review!! I'd be afraid to join up with Tesco!

comment by: Grace, 16 February 2017
 
4/5   Handled claims OK but premium became too expensive   26 September 2016

Reviewed By: Mike P, Recommend:

Had Tesco insurance from the time we had dog as a puppy. At age 5 he had a mast cell tumour on the top of his head which required removal - this was quite an extensive operation. About a year later he was limping and (wrongly) diagnosed with arthritis but it was only a sprain. Had no problem at all with acceptance and administration of the claims. When he became 7 the premium was doubled without explanation so cancelled it - I could understand the increase in the premium as there had been 2 significant claims and chances were the claims were going to become more frequent as the dog got older.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 This happened to me with More Than! It's a disgrace. They just want to get rid of you when you start claiming.

comment by: JAYNE, 5 December 2016
 
2/5   Huge renewal premium   14 September 2016

Reviewed By: Annamica, Recommend:

I have just received my renewal premium for 2 indoor cats of 1,237 per year!!. Yes 1 is 15 years old so clearly seen as a risk and the other cat is 8 years old. They are both indoor cats which puts them at less risk of a number of potential issues and tesco are aware of this as it is written in my policy document. I have been insured with tesco for approx 10 years and during that time I have had very few claims although in the last month (just prior to the renewal!) I have had to claim 400 of vets fees. I think this renewal premium is a completely unreasonable amount to expect any pet owner to pay and don't believe it is justified. You can insure a young driver in a powerful car for less than this!! I do have to say however they have never quibbled over paying out any claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 exactly the same problem, started off fine 11 years ago for 2 moggies but suddenly massive increase in annual insurance 1200. Despite cancelling insurance before it ran out I was charged for additionalmonths DD. Tesco refused to reimburse as they say it was arrears!!!would never recommend them and am going to make a complaint

comment by: Dee Fagin, 28 October 2016
 
1/5   Terrible - avoid like the plague!   30 August 2016

Reviewed By: Sarah Gray, Recommend:

This company is awful. In all the years we have been with them we have only recently put in two claims, neither of which it seems they will honour. The liver mediation my dog needs to be well has been recently deemed by Tesco's as a supplement, not prescription despite being prescribed by the vet, and so they won't pay. It now also looks as though they won't pay for his abscess operation as he happened to have some dental work completed at the same time as the vet noticed he needed this doing too, once he was already under a general anaesthetic. Had I subjected my dog to two separate operations they would pay for the first. We are still awaiting the outcome of this but it doesn't sound likely. I am incredibly upset with this company - do not use them!!!! they are expensive and you get nothing back.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not stay with Tesco   26 August 2016

Reviewed By: Staffy lover, Recommend:

My premiums trebled over 3 years to the point that I had to reduce the cover to be able to afford 2 my dogs being covered. I think that 450.00 per month is excessive in anyone's book, I reduced the cover to the minimum but it was still 220 each month. As well as that, they are so slow in paying out at the moment I am waiting for 1400 that they underpaid me, despite my vet sending a letter to explain. Even though it's their mistake I am having to chase this money and deal with the fact that my poor old dog has to travel over the rainbow bridge next week.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Your monthly premium seems extreme 450 per month ?????

comment by: Sandra kilner, 3 September 2016
 
2/5   Long long wait   8 August 2016

Reviewed By: Miss Exasperated, Recommend:

Having a claim submitted by my Vets and received by Tesco Insurance during the first few days of July, I chased this up with Tesco over two weeks ago to be told a cheque would be with me the following week. Here I am, seventeen days later still waiting for my claim to be settled - perhaps they will be just as slow when they take my premium next month!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Can't get this site to post my review despite submitting twice so have resorted to posting comments instead. Fingers crossed :( Have a continuing nightmare with Tesco. Ombudsman is currently dealing with. Avoid Tesco at all costs!

comment by: Michael, 29 August 2016
 
1/5   Rip Off   14 July 2016

Reviewed By: Magic, Recommend:

I have been with them for 7 years. No claims and Policy has doubled, When I spoke to customer services they were very keen for me to cancel It seems that they want to off load older dogs which are higher risk. 50 per month is just not acceptable Sue

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same thing has just happened to me eighty pound an month and that's only for standard cover,do a lot of shopping at Tesco but not any more.

comment by: Monica, 8 November 2016
 
 Just received renewal with a whopping 40% increase in premium. Been with them for 11 years with my dog and have never claimed in that time. No such thing as loyalty from insurance companies these days

comment by: Tony Newman, 8 October 2016
 
 Tesco charging 90 per month on our 12yo dog!

comment by: LilyLou, 13 August 2016
 
 I am waiting for my claim to be paid out. Has been over 5 weeks now since my chocolate lab diagnosed with diabetes. Have paid out 300 so far, and need to buy insulin and needles 3 times a month. Just hope Tesco insurance pay out soon.

comment by: Mrs Robery, 1 August 2016
 
 I am waiting for my claim to be paid out. Has been over 5 weeks now since my chocolate lab diagnosed with diabetes. Have paid out 300 so far, and need to buy insulin and needles 3 times a month. Just hope Tesco insurance pay out soon.

comment by: Mrs Robery, 1 August 2016
 
1/5   So slow   12 July 2016

Reviewed By: Allison danby, Recommend:

20 working days later still absolute nothing, 15 working days into claim they said they needed more info and I would have to go to my vets, since then nothing they have my email address and phone number, shall not be going with tesco again

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 They have always paid out eventually! I had to resort to phoning almost daily and in the end the vet spoke to them directly for me. Keep all dates of when your correspondence was sent and the date it arrived in their office. Very stressful when your dog is ill and you have large bills to worry about

comment by: mrs brook, 9 August 2016
 
5/5   highly recommend   11 July 2016

Reviewed By: Julie J Murray, Recommend:

Excellent. Paid direct to vets, no problem

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rude Helpline   5 July 2016

Reviewed By: Victoria Slack, Recommend:

I asked the helpline if I was entitled to see my pets records and was told there would be no point, I would not be able to understand them. My pet is very ill and I am having trouble finding out what is wrong. I am very disappointed to be spoken to like this and I think I will make a complaint. My animals have been insured by Tesco for years. Very poor service, most unhappy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   No claims made but renewal wants a nearly 50% incr   19 June 2016

Reviewed By: K morton, Recommend:

I have a 2 year old cross breed cockapoo never made any claims but premium went from 133 to 189 in one year nearly 50 % increase,phoned to find out why but failed to get the reason,not good !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Renewal price against new customer   14 June 2016

Reviewed By: Julie Talbot, Recommend:

I did not receive my renewal so went online for a quotation it was 336 per year. I called and asked for a copy of the renewal invtatation which had been renewed. When received it was 416 for the same cover, also a 30 free gift card. This is my 7th year as a customer with no claim. I was advised it was a new customer incentive. I checked apart from going through cooling off it had no affect on cover. I asked regarding FCA treating customer principals and received a hollow response. I am going to change the cover over after a month as I do not wish to have a gap in cover. Wished I had realised earlier I ahd not received the renewal. Am not impressed what happened to customer loyalty or even a no claims discount?? Service is not good but hopefully the insurance will be if needed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Bad customer handling   4 June 2016

Reviewed By: Larissa, Recommend:

I have a 20 month old shihtzu been with tesco since we got her. Then since my annual renewal they have been taking my dd a week either side of the date i set. Have emailed them no reply so last month they called for it 5 days before it was due which is also 5 days before payday so it failed they never called for it again despite me emailing them. Then they wrote to me yesterday saying policy has been cancelled no explaination. Never had a problem till i renewed and they dont seem that bothered to contact me back

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Fantastic Pet Insurance   11 May 2016

Reviewed By: Rachel B, Recommend:

I have had Tesco pet insurance for several years now and have always received fantastic customer service. All my claims have been paid without any hassle so I have recommended Tesco pet insurance to a number of friends and family. My annual premium doubled for my dog this year but he is almost 10 years and Tesco cannot be blamed for the extremely high cost of veterinary fees.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 How long have you been working in tesco ? There pet insurance is a joke

comment by: Eric, 6 October 2016
 
 You must of been lucky as I have had no end of trouble claiming and so has numerous other pet owners I know of

comment by: Stephen , 23 June 2016
 
3/5   UNBELIEVEABLE premium hikes!!   9 May 2016

Reviewed By: L T, Recommend:

I have just received my renewal for my 5kg crossbreed dog with Tesco. This would be my 5th year insuring my dog with them. In the first year the policy was 80ish per year. Second year it rose to 180. Third year 220ish. Fourth year 243. And this year they want 437!!!! They have almost DOUBLED it in the last year - with no claims made since the first year of the policy!! Luckily I have found an insurance company who will cover my dog - even with his pre-existing condition (in this case a back injury) for HALF of what Tesco want to charge. Not happy and would never recommend.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just had exactly the same experience, the premium has nearly doubled for my three dogs, gone from 650 per year to 1200. It is ridiculous, and looks like they will be losing customers in droves as there area fair few of us with this experience. Poor Show Tesco

comment by: Sue, 14 June 2016
 
 Do tell..who is the company that will insure a pet including pre exisiting conditions

comment by: Josie Lee, 13 June 2016
 
 Let your policy expire and apply as a new customer. The customer services actually advised my mum that that would be the best thing to do as there was such a huge difference between the two prices!!

comment by: Lauren, 7 June 2016
 
 Let your policy expire and apply as a new customer. The customer services actually advised my mum that that would be the best thing to do as there was such a huge difference between the two prices!!

comment by: Lauren, 7 June 2016
 
 Hi can you tell me who you changed to with or exsisting continues hope you don't mind

comment by: Ilovecats, 1 June 2016
 
 Hi, It is lifetimepetcover.co.uk. They have been set up specifically for people like us, who would otherwise be trapped with greedy insurance companies. Good luck with your renewal.

comment by: L T, 28 May 2016
 
 Tesco have refused my claim saying its a existing condition , who did u find to cover , thanks

comment by: Helen, 20 May 2016
 
 I too have the same problem with my premiums, I have an 8 year old crossbreed large dog for whom I have only made 500 of claims during the last 7 years and my premiums have been hiked to over 1,200 per annum. Utterly ridiculous. I would be very interested to know who you have managed to get your insurance with please. My dog has no pre existing conditions as all we claimed for are cut paws and a limp.

comment by: Carole, 13 May 2016
 
5/5   THANK YOU TESCO & STAFF   29 April 2016

Reviewed By: Alice, Recommend:

Yes I agree that prices have gone up BUT have to say a very big Thank You to Tesco for paying out(to our vets) a large investigation claim for one of our Boxers "Alice" promptly, the staff are always polite,extremely Helpful & friendly please thank them for me. Once again Thank You Tesco Lady.Morland (Norfolk)

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Fast and helpful   18 April 2016

Reviewed By: Liz Clarke, Recommend:

I have had to make 2 claims in 6 years I'm very happy with tesco both claims were quick and easy the forms are easy to follow I have had my mind put at ease twice pets are family and tesco helped ensure the best care

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My premium went up from 55.00 to 100.44, so I'm now insured with another company as my aged owners are both in pension and can no longer justify such a hike in price. No complaints prior to this.....woof-woof.

comment by: Cookie, 22 April 2016
 
5/5   Amazing   8 April 2016

Reviewed By: Hannah, Recommend:

I love Tesco, I'm with them for everything and everyone is so nice that works there.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dont Use   1 April 2016

Reviewed By: Janet, Recommend:

We have been with Tesco pet insurance for about 10 years now and are absolutely disgusted on the rise in price since our 2 labradors have aged. We have a girl aged 10 and a boy aged 13 (who we claim 55 a month for arthritis tablets). Last year the monthly payments for both dogs doubled and brought the payments up to 206 a month, during the last year our boy has had a change in meds and the monthly claims have gone down so I was shocked and horrified to have our lastest policy though saying the monthly payments have risen to 329. Policy was cancelled straight away disgusted that thinking that they had us over a barrel they could charge such ridiculous prices.BE WARNED PLEASE

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just had exactly the same issue, a jump from 52 a month to 69, with one small claim in the last year! was very happy with their service up until then.

comment by: Lindsey, 18 April 2016
 
1/5   Every little helps   31 March 2016

Reviewed By: jennifer bishop, Recommend:

I have just renewed my dog insurance and it is more than 50% higher than last year despite no claims. In addition, I have just found out that for non emergency treatment with referral from bet I can only use one of 28 centres named by the RSA (underwriters) I have no idea where these centres are but only one exists in the South West. I certainly won't be renewing with Tesco next year.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Delay tactics in paying out   4 March 2016

Reviewed By: Deb Tetley, Recommend:

Bella was vomitting and really ill at the end of January spending 3 days on a drip. Feb 2nd my claim was submitted via email by the Vet. On 15th was told that they had not received it so my Vet sent it again that day. I rang on 22nd to be told they could not find the Vets submission only my details. They then found it and the lovely girl I was dealing with went to have it approved by her supervisor. She rang me back and said I would be paid out in about 5 days. That is 11 days ago so I rang again. Waiting now for technical expert to assess it !! This is a joke - I have never claimed in 3 years and have 5 pets insured with them paying nearly 80 per month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Im having the same problem my vet has sent the claim 4 times and they keep lying and saying its not been submitted

comment by: Amy, 31 January 2017
 
 I've had exactly the same delay tactics from tesco. Submitted a claim for my dogs cut paw on 4th April to be told on the 30th they needed the full med history from the vets even though the vets had already sent it, but I asked them to send it again. On 18th May I was told by tesco they didn't have my claim form.. Ok so how do know I have a claim if you haven't received my claim form I said..no answer. They are liars and are using delay tactics to avoid paying ou on simple claims. I still… (read more)

comment by: John Gale, 13 July 2016
 
 I have made a few claims with one of my dogs and although they have been paid out eventually they claim to never have never received the claim form in the beginning which can delay payment by weeks and I mean weeks !! On all the claims that I have had all of them had to be email over again Ibecause they say they never received the one posted by my vets. Hmmmmm

comment by: Glenda, 15 June 2016
 
 Exact same thing is currently happening with myself. My dog was PTS on 20th February 2016 and a claim form submitted on 22nd February. Since then I have had to call them fortnightly to chase this matter - every time I speak to someone they tell me they need to get a vets histrory! Honestly dont know how many times they need to request the same thing! I was told on 16th May by a member of staff it was finalised and payment would be made in 5 days, only to chase a week or two later to be told… (read more)

comment by: Emma B, 8 June 2016
 
 Tesco Pet Insurance is a complete shambles!! They have messed me about no end and thats only me trying to take out a policy. They cant even trace it now and had to check back through their recorded phone messages to believe that I actually took out the policy. They have since lost it again and do not return calls as promised. My other 8 year old jack russells premium has just come through and doubled yet again (I have never claimed) so I am cancelling it and will never go through them again!… (read more)

comment by: sianmolyneux, 9 March 2016
 
  Add your own review


Review Tesco pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 5 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016