pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Sainsburys pet insurance

33 Holborn
London
EC1N 2HT

phone: 0800 434 6359
website: https://www.sainsburysbank.co.uk/pet-insurance/index.shtml

Offers various levels of cover for dogs and cats supplied by Allianz, with optional extras to cover travel, quarantine and emergency repatriation.

User Rating
1.7
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Sainsburys pet insurance

1/5   Charged 2yrs Excess for claim going over renewal!   12 September 2018

Reviewed By: Sam, Recommend:

Be aware! We claimed for our dogs Mast Cell Tumour. The claim started 2 days before our insurance renewal date and continued in to the next insurance year. We were charged for 2 years excess, for the same claim! Car/House insurance wouldn't get away with it!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Faultles, good value & sympathetic comprehensive c   14 August 2018

Reviewed By: Alastair Stuart , Recommend:

I have found Sainsbury's pet insurance reliable, honest, good value and truly sympathetic to our pet's needs. I cannot fault them on professionalism or fair charging. If I did not have this cover, my best friend would be chasing rabbits in the sky now. Thank you so much.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not use Sainsbury pet insurance   14 August 2018

Reviewed By: Frank, Recommend:

They do t pay out been with them. 7 years and they delayed payment and then point blank refused to pay

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   My dogs ACL   14 August 2018

Reviewed By: Andy, Recommend:

A bit of advise to anyone out there never use sainsburyís pet insurance that do not pay out even with confirmation from a vet that itís my dog first condition (ACL) please retweet so people are aware

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   They don't pay out   14 August 2018

Reviewed By: Andy, Recommend:

Please please please do not use this company thy do not pay out. I even had the vet send an email to them saying this is his first injury to his back leg (ACL) and they still did not pay out. I've now sent an email to the CEO to see what happens just awful.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Donít buy Sainsburys pet insurance   23 June 2018

Reviewed By: Sparks, Recommend:

Warning! DO NOT TAKE OUT SAINSBURYS PET INSURANCE. Sainsbury like to sell but not pay out. Sales process asks - has your dog been to the vet for other than checkup and has your pet been unwell. I answered and moved to them in good faith. I wish I hadnít. Our dog had been a well dog (now 7). The only thing we noticed when a pup he had a one testicle. We discussed it with the vet who said it may not have another, or it may be retained, we may consider castration. He only went to the vet for checkups apart from one small bout of kennel cough. 2nd April he started lying down a fair bit. I took him to the vet who suggested he may have a swollen blander. After scans we discovered a growth. He was rushed in, had successful surgery to remove a retained testicle. All tests clear of any cancerous cells or spread of cancer. £6000. We made a claim that week. (They pay claims in 8 days) Heard nothing. After weeks of chasing and complaining they have decided to reject the claim because he had a preexisting condition. His history was clear to them when we took out the policy in good faith. Sadly, we moved to them the year before for cheaper prices! They are, however sending me £50 to cover their bad service and all the time it has taken to provide me with an answer. I have now read all the reviews online and completely agree, they will do anything not to pay! He also had a small bump on his tail, aspirated and clear when he was two, now gone, heís now not covered for anything! I am taking this to the ombudsmen, but please think twice before taking out a policy with them, even if 2 months are free!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Robbery   21 June 2018

Reviewed By: Billie, Recommend:

Dont use this company as you will regret it. Absolute robbery, will do anything not to pay a claim. Customer service is non existent,penalise you all the time,it's just pay pay pay! You pay the vet you pay ridiculous premiums and they will do anything to get out of paying out. Avoid at all costs please!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not touch Sainsburys Pet Insurance   18 June 2018

Reviewed By: Laura Cannon, Recommend: N

I have been paying pet insurance for my Mini Dachshund for 5 years with Sainsburys and I consider myself a very responsible pet owner. As this breed is prone to back issues she has ramps everywhere, is trained to stop and wait to be picked up on steps and stairs out and about. She had a mammary lump removed, which we had to wait for due to her season. This meant by the time of the op she had a few removed. All great she recovered quick and I was surprised the bill was only £850.00. Sainsburys requested more information, I supplied them with a 2 page document listing her previous vets (also gave this information on the claim form,) and ailments which have been trivia, sting, blister, nothing really. (My Vet retired),I have used 3 different vets in finding my new vet. Sainsbury's text me to call them. I did, the girl on the phone said it is my responsibility to get my pets history from the vets not Sainsburys. I questioned this as I did not think this was correct and she said "If I want to get paid faster I need to get the history sorted." I consider this as seriously unhelpful. So I responded with...don't worry I will wait, Sainsburys should pursue getting the history. I heard nothing, for a month. Another text, please call Sainsburys. I rang, this time happily I got a lovely girl, I told her the saga with the previous team member, she said she would ring around and request the history, i gave her all the names, numbers and surgery details. (She did this and was very pleasant.) However the next day the case was closed, email came through on a Saturday night at 5.30pm so I could not respond until Monday. I replied to the email closing my claim, (this holds all the information, dog, breed, my name, policy number etc... and was asked for all my personal information before they could speak to me. You can't write this honestly. Next I emailed the team leader to ask is it my responsibility to get the pet history and a team leader called Tahera said yes....."if you have a look on our claim forms we have completion guide which advises that you need to provide us with the pets full clinical history even if the pet has been referred to any different. When we have any missing history or information then we will directly contact your vets or yourself to get this information." So I shlep to all 3 vets and ask for the print outs. All vets, including Pets at Home said this is odd that a customer has to request this information, it is normally done direct from the insurer. I used to love Sainsburys as a brand, thought it stood for quality, which is why I chose them. Absolute rubbish. I have asked sainsburys are they reopening the case now they have the information sent to them. I have not heard back yet. I wouldn't touch them with an extra long barge pole, please do not waste your money. The girl at the vets said pet plan settles more than the others.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all cost   7 June 2018

Reviewed By: Pauline Holder, Recommend:

Rubbish, rubbish once your pet has been ill forget it they will never pay again I thought insurance was exactly that!!!!! Take weeks to pay out then have the cheek to send a cheque worst ever insurance sort yourselves out Sainsburys we all love our pets and want the best.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   BEWARE And AVOID or pay dearly   15 April 2018

Reviewed By: Benji, Recommend:

Unfortunately my poor chap developed a skin condition after paying Sainsburyís for 7 years with no claim. Tabs are £40 a month so £480 a year Policy has gone up from £150 to £500 Excess of £75 of one off payment at beginning of illness to £125 every year plus 20% Excess has gone then from nothing a year then to £221 every year New Policy is £95 but beware thatís every year even for same condition Excess from Tesco £60 one off at beginning pet plan similar Sainsburyís will increase your excess and change your policy by default IF YOU CARE FOR YOUR PET DO NOT GO WITH SAINSBURYS I am cancelling all my Sainsburyís insurance and will not shop there anymore they are unethical

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   sainsburys pet insurance   9 April 2018

Reviewed By: gary, Recommend:

avoid at all costs ive been chasing a claim for 3 months for it to be rejected twice even after a letter from my vet.con artists doubled my premium to £100 per month now cancelled

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Great until you need them   20 February 2018

Reviewed By: Milo, Recommend:

Left me with a huge bill because of small print that I should have read through. The final straw Ďoh no we donít cover cremation costs after the age of 9 because thatís when they are most likely to dieí. Well, surprise, thatís what we pay insurance for.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dreadful   19 February 2018

Reviewed By: Fred, Recommend:

Insured for one year, no direct debits taken, no contact until time to renew for a further year, now nice big bill to pay in one hit, absolutely rubbish service. Policy cancelled.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Eye's opened   6 February 2018

Reviewed By: James Walker, Recommend:

After reading these reviews I shall not be using Sainsbury pet insurance. Thought they would be better than this

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Useless   30 January 2018

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

Never use this company , my dog had a broken tooth two years ago and they paid out a claim, recently she has had another dental issue tooth broken and loose . Apparently we are no longer covered for dental work as we already had some done. Bizzarely because itís a yearly policy we are not covered However had it been a lifetime policy we would have been ?? DO NOT ENTERTAIN THIS COMPANY

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Sainsburys rip off   22 January 2018

Reviewed By: Paul, Recommend:

Don't use this company, this year our premium went up over 40% and when we had vet fees quite unexpectedly we can't get the cheque for part payment from Sainsburys. Call themselves a bank and they can't transfer the money to me! Yes, you've got it, The cheque's in the post, yeah yeah.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Sainsburys pet insurance   26 November 2017

Reviewed By: kate Wharton, Recommend:

terrible pet insurer - avoid at all costs! Have paid thousands to them and when asked to pay out £200 they slapped all exclusions on from 8 years previously for conditions my vet said was ridiculous. Cannot stess enough to avoid this insurer.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Sainsbury's pet insurance- AVOID AT ALL COSTS   22 November 2017

Reviewed By: Lee, Recommend:

£2,500 I payed upfront as this insurance company were messing around and my dog was in pain. Now they have found any excuse not to pay. They have been through my dogs history and found any minor ailment, this has then been manipulated to avoid coughing up! I would never ever recommend to use this company. WHAT A JOKE!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   I wil NEVER recommend this company   17 November 2017

Reviewed By: Jane Lack, Recommend:

My beloved beautiful English Bulldog Pearl was put to sleep yesterday and today still in tears I am about to cancel the other three dog policies we have with this literal Rip Off company - as I put it to them on the phone.. the more you love your pet, look after them and get them to old age the more you penalise us. Each year her premium shot up and is (or was) £95 per month, AND I was told basically if I'd had her put to sleep at 8 then they would pay out for things, but as our beautiful girl managed a life of 10 years before our devastated family had to let her go we get ........ nothing! We are very lucky and can afford to do what we want to say goodbye to her, but people in a less fortunate position are left with this agonising situation AND no financial support. In short get rid of your dog when they are younger and we'll pay you. Love them and keep them for years ...... we aren't interested! PLEASE steer clear.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful insurer - avoid   10 November 2017

Reviewed By: Alex Jackson, Recommend:

I made a very big mistake choosing Sainsbury's for pet insurance. Money grabbing, try not to pay out and the excess is so high that you would basically pay for most treatments yourself anyway. Avoid at all costs!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Hugely Expensive   8 November 2017

Reviewed By: Paul, Recommend:

We have a 12 year old Airedale Terrier who has very recently been diagnosed as having, and I quote, 'mild' arthritis. The vet recommended metacam to manage pain by which she meant make movement freer for our dog, and nutraquin+ which is a joint supplement. We have had one claim in the past ( about 6 years ago) for a minor dental / oral issue but other than that nothing. As the most recent issue will be an ongoing treatment to end of life, I contacted Sainsburys to see how it will work out going forward. In short, they 'believe' that our dog 'should' be covered for ongoing treatment. Our excess is £125 and then 20% of all other costs. Our monthly premiums have recently risen to £135. We are now seriously considering scrapping all pet insurance (we have another dog also and our combined expenditure on the two is £200+ pcm) and simply putting money into a separate account to cover any vets bills that arise. Clearly this is a risky strategy given how expensive vets bills can be, and the age of our oldest dog (and the clumsiness of the younger one lol) so we are still considering our options. However, I do believe that Sainsburys are particularly expensive, and that pet owners may do better shopping around.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   NOT impressed!   2 October 2017

Reviewed By: F, Recommend:

My insurance has jumped right up! From just over £30 a month to just under £50! I just called and they said its because of her age and it will keep going up every year because of it!! She is 4! Never had any health issues etc either. What a joke!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 you are lucky mine as gone up from $72 76 to £113.23 a month the first premium I had was £9.43 a month

comment by: john lloyd , 2 November 2017
 
1/5   The biggest con Insurance Company EVER   21 September 2017

Reviewed By: J Attwood, Recommend:

I am just dealing with Sainsbury's now. Absolute nightmare. Clearly they are trying to get out of paying. I intend to report Insurance ombudsman, and my MP. Sick of these companies taking money under false pretences. I would never recommend Sainsburys.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   USELESS COMPANY   16 September 2017

Reviewed By: Angela Love, Recommend:

I am absolutely furious with this company. My pet has a calcium deposit on his eye. They asked for a Full Clinical History. I sent the full report from his specialist eye vet in South Africa. They advised me this was fine. I then received a letter saying the policy is cancelled. When I phoned in I was told that a report from a specialist eye vet is not good enough! They want a full vet report. Please explain this one!!! Is an eye specialist not good enough? Both my dogs were brought in to England from South Africa in July and have full health clearances. Why are they singling out the one dog because he has an eye problem which will never affect his eye sight? The disgusting thing is that they don't phone you when there is a problem, they just post you a letter and leave all the work up to you. They obviously don't care whether you have insurance or not. I have been an Insurance Broker for over 40 years and have never allowed any of my staff to treat Clients like this!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   What a rip off   15 September 2017

Reviewed By: Jackie, Recommend:

Do not use they refuse to pay me a claim , trying to say it was due to pre existing conditions it was a new claim for a new condition.they have also put the prices up so high so now I have cancelled and gone with someone else.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   MAY AS WELL WEAR BALACLAVAS   8 September 2017

Reviewed By: charlotte, Recommend:

To cut a long story short we went on holiday left our dog with a friend he got poorly he took him to his local vets as he lives 30 mins away from us.. he had numerous tests biopsy spend around £650 on bills to find out he was riddled with leukaemia. We had him put down at our local vets as he was so poorly and stressed asked sainsburys how do we claim as its 2 diff vets said oh that's fine put in 2 forms so they took the £100 excess from the £101 it cost to be put to sleep and now want a further £100 excess for the other bills from other vets so ive basically rang up to pay them £100 for no reason so in hindsight its cost me £200 to have my beloved dog put down because of these rats! absolutely fumin!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   extortionate   3 September 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

I have been paying for this insurance for 12 years now for my very healthy 12 year old lab with one claim when she was 3 years old in all that time. They have just put the insurance up to £1110.68 a year. Choose Pet Plan which may start at a higher rate but they do not increase payments like this. I am disgusted and will be putting the money aside instead.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My lab is just 13 and my premium is up to £1357.88 they just want to price you out when your pet get's old

comment by: john lloyd , 2 November 2017
 
1/5   Diabolical - Do Not Use Sainsbury's Pet Ins   22 August 2017

Reviewed By: Barden, Recommend:

Premiums expensive, will do anything to get out of paying a claim even when the vet backed up our claim, appalling customer service, extremely stressful dealing with Sainsbury's Pet Insurance Cover. Total rip off. Would give 0 rating if I could.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not take this insurance they don't play fair   21 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kat , Recommend:

I have two dogs which have insurance with Sainsbury's the premiums started low . but now are so high I can't afford them The increase this year is rediculas and they have also said I have to pay a excess of 125 pounds every year on any claim and 20 per cent too This used to be the amount you paid at the start of a claim but not any more Every Year I have rang them but they couldn't care less they don't seem to understand there dealing with an animal witch people love There hiking it up so I can't afford to pay it cause the dogs are older now Discusting

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not take this insurance they don't play fair   21 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kat , Recommend:

I have two dogs which have insurance with Sainsbury's the premiums started low . but now are so high I can't afford them The increase this year is rediculas and they have also said I have to pay a excess of 125 pounds every year on any claim and 20 per cent too This used to be the amount you paid at the start of a claim but not any more Every Year I have rang them but they couldn't care less they don't seem to understand there dealing with an animal witch people love There hiking it up so I can't afford to pay it cause the dogs are older now Discusting

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same here just want your cash very polite when you phone but you can tell they have no interest

comment by: John Lloyd , 2 November 2017
 
1/5   Extortionate Price Increases - Avoid   18 August 2017

Reviewed By: Poppy, Recommend:

I have just received my Sainsbury's pet insurance renewal for my dog which has increased from £480.96 to £714.34! The reasons given by Sainburys were due to increases in vet's fees, an increase from 10 to 12% in insurance tax and the fact that my dog is now 7 years old. She has a pre-existing skin condition but have made only one relatively small claim in the past year, so do not feel this is justified and intend to cancel and save the equivalent monthly payment to cover potential costs. I feel they have taken advantage of customer loyalty and the knowledge that once your pet has a pre-existing condition you are pretty stuffed if you want to find cover elsewhere. I feel totally let down by Sainsbury's and advise potential customers to avoid Sainsbury's pet insurance completely given this behaviour

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Sainsburys pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 0 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016