pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

PetPlan pet insurance

Great West House (GW2)
Great West Road
Brentford
Middlesex
TW8 9DX

phone: 0845 077 1934
website: http://www.petplan.co.uk/

Largest and oldest pet insurer in the UK. Offers several levels of pet cover.

User Rating
2.6
out of 5

add your review


Visit Website

Reviews of PetPlan pet insurance

1/5   PetPlan Insurance   19 February 2017

Reviewed By: Saska, Recommend:

My oldest cat - 9 years old in May has been insured with PP since he re-homed him. Over close to 9 years,we've paid nearly 2500 in insurance. He recently had to have treatment for Systitis - Vet's bill = 199.24. We made a claim & received 68.19 = 34% of the cost. We know that since our cat is 7 years old now,there was an excess to pay,but we expected the fee minus the excess. If you look at the PP page regarding ''how PP premiums are calculated'',there's no full description at all of how it's calculated.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Not very good service   14 February 2017

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend:

I have had a policy with them for 2 years and all of a sudden at the renewal the price has jumped up. I shopped around and found lots of other much better deals, i phoned them to see if they would match any and they wouldn't so i cancelled my policy. The following week i checked my bank statement and they had taken money out of my account. So i phone them up, spent ages on hold, and when i finally got through to someone to explain the situation they said they would refund the money. I paid via direct debit but that said the refund HAD to be sent by cheque and would probably take two weeks. I can't say that i would recommend their customer service as when i said this wasn't good enough and asked to speak to the complaints department she wouldn't let me.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Recommend Yes BUT No!!   17 December 2016

Reviewed By: No name as i, Recommend: Y

After insuring my dogs with PetPlan for the last umpteen years I feel used and abused! Their premium charges have got nothing to do with the dog. I have 2 Alaskan Malamutes, one is 2.5 the other is 5. The 5 year old, we rescued last year. This is her first policy renewal and it went down from 42p/m to 40, yeh! I thought. The 2.5 year old, we rehomed 2 years ago so this is his 2nd renewal and it went up from 42 to 48! PetPlan could not explain it and would not redo, even though doing an NEW online cover quote gave the price of 40 p/m! They penalise customer loyalty and have now lost 90 p/m, but they wont care because I'm just a number. Claims made with previous dogs have always gone through without quibble and handled directly by the vets, so this is why I would recommend them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   very upset   11 November 2016

Reviewed By: jacquie, Recommend:

My dog alfie had to have his left knee operated on as his knee kept slipping out of the socket and the vets dealt wit petplan direct and they paid up straight away. Six months later he had to have the same operation done on his right leg because he had the same problem so we got it done. Petplan would only pay 149 towards the claim because in there opinion because it was the same diagnosis for both legs I was only covered for 3000.00 and that was al that was left from when he got his left leg done so now I am having to pay the difference which is 1800.00. I thought that I was covered per leg and not same diagnosis and thank god his front ones are ok. So am a little bit peeved because at the end of the day it was both back legs and they needed doing not his fault not my fault

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Exceptional Service   17 October 2016

Reviewed By: Stan , Recommend:

Petplan paid my vet direct when my puppy had an accident requiring xrays antibiotics and several overnight stays a matter of a day or so after taking out my policy. I appreciate not everyone has had the same experience but I cant help thinking that many are as a result of people who took out insufficient insurance, had breaks in insurance or expect to pay very little for insurance that can end up paying out a lot on your behalf because most people don't realise ho vet bills can be surprisingly high to the layperson. With the restrictions on pre existing conditions and limits on payouts for cheaper policies, I would now encourage anyone to get the very best cover they can afford as early in their dogs life as they can and chose the right insurer. Saving 100-200 a year by buying a cheaper policy is not such a good deal if it leaves you worrying about paying for some of the more expensive conditions / injury's your pet can get. Petplan seem to have a good reputation for not bumping up premiums as a matter of course and that's important too if you are potentially sticking with an insurer to get better benefits when it comes to avoiding exclusions for pre existing conditions etc.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Hi. Was your puppy well when it was vet checked and insurance was first taken out ? Thanks

comment by: Natalie, 15 November 2016
 
1/5   Dreadful service, am going to look elsewhere   20 September 2016

Reviewed By: D Smith, Recommend:

When I got my kitten, she came with 4 weeks free insurance with Petplan. Within days, I had to take to the vets as she had bloody diarrhoea but was well otherwise. I was told it was probably due to trauma of leaving her mother & being in a new environment & this was quite a common thing. It cleared up with treatment but came back again 2 weeks later. I called PetPlan to see if she was covered as more investigations were needed and it was time to renew the policy. On 3 different occasions they said she was covered so I took out the renewal and she had her tests done. Then I tried to claim on the insurance! 2 months and many calls & emails, later they are still refusing to pay out. They keep asking for her vet history before I got her. They have had that, a copy of my contract from the breeder to say she had been seen by the vet and had all her vaccinations etc and now they say they need a certificate of health! She never had one of these & when I looked up to see what this is, it's for travel purposes! I have no intention of travelling abroad with her & as I don't live in the USA, I won't be needing one to travel inter state! PetPlan are just happy to take premiums but not happy to pay out for claims. They don't call back when they say they will & all in all, it's a dreadful insurance company. I refuse to sit back & let them win so will continue to fight them but I will also stop paying them & go elsewhere. I'll also be warning as many people as I can about insuring with this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Petplan keep asking for medical history for my cat, which my vet has sent twice and Ive sent twice, but 2 months later still refusing to pay me over 700 for my claim. Not replying to any of my emails and fail to phone me back when promised. Terrible service!!

comment by: D James, 17 February 2017
 
 I've just cancelled with them , 120 excess and 20% off your claim means you have to choose if you can have your dog operated on

comment by: Adrian Barratt, 10 February 2017
 
 Hi I have recently signed up to petplan for my dog maya! I was just wondering if anybody could tell me if she is covered for all her injections? Thanks.

comment by: Rebekah, 28 September 2016
 
2/5   is 110 acceptable?   2 September 2016

Reviewed By: Leigh, Recommend:

I've have been with pet plan since I met my puppy 14 years ago. They have supported him through operations due to discuss problems and a broken leg. There have been no problems in getting claims resolved however when I took out the policy, my cover was unlimited vet bills which are now 12,000 capped. I expect an increase in premiums however 110 per month seems a little extortionate. Not only that, 12,000 capped fees as well as paying over 100 in excess and 20% of the final bill....am I to assume that if my pooch lives another 4 years that my premium will be 2000 per year?? There's just no end to the emotional blackmail people with pets are signing up to

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Do this   25 July 2016

Reviewed By: Jason, Recommend:

I seriously cannot fault Pet plan at all. The Key thing with this pet insurance is that, at the very beginning you pay the premium and get the 'FIT FOR LIFE' cover. This will cover your pet for life long treatment of the same illness/es.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Amazing   7 July 2016

Reviewed By: Bow & Ollie, Recommend:

Been with Petplan for years and had no issue have 2 small cats had there issues at the start paid the excess one bill would have been 3000 but only had to pay the excess brilliant! dont listen to the haters!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DEVASTATED   6 July 2016

Reviewed By: mandy, Recommend:

my dog requires a CT Scan ?operation for suspected tumor on bladdar ,,petplan took 11 days to refuse a paypout to my vet and i didnt even receive a letter from them ,,,now i am paying for medication until her symptons get so bad that she will have to be euthanised

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Im so sorry to hear about your dog 😔 What was their reason for refusing? I'm currently debating who take out pet insurance with for for cat. Charlotte

comment by: Charlotte, 13 September 2016
 
1/5   Pet Plan "RIPOFF"   18 June 2016

Reviewed By: Joh-anus Horobilis, Recommend:

My 1st dog now 6 yrs old. When I 1st took out Petplan I was amazed how much the insurance was, as a pup i got petplan cover from the breeder, he had earmights petplan covered this treatment, then when I continued the insurance with petplan after the breeder cover they considered it a new claim & not a continuation!! 1st RIPOFF. Well 6 years on & all little illnesses never come out over my excess amount of 75 so pay out of my own pocket, into the hundreds (most cured with chicken & rice diet!! Vet RIPOFF'S). Now my renewal figure is 65!!! a month for 4,000 vet bill cover, 1 million liability cover, SO THAT'S 780 A YEAR, MY X5 CAR COVERS 50,000 & 10 MILLION LIABILITY FOR ONLY 440 PER YEAR!! PEOPLE WE ARE BEING RIPPED OFF, VETS PROMOTE THEM AS THEY PAY THEM QUICKLY, WHEREAS FOR A VET TO GET THERE MONEY OUT OF THE LIKES OF TESCOS INSURANCE IS A PAIN, OH DEAR WHAT A SHAME. Well i've voted with my feet, & cancelled my insurance, i'll put the money as that's 4,680 i'm saving over the next 6 years into premium bonds or something & heck earn a bit of interest on it also. & yep when asked: well it's the breed of dog Sir, it's where you live Sir utter nonsense (his a pedigree Weimaraner) People vote with your feet!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   Hassle free payments & service   30 May 2016

Reviewed By: Sharon H, Recommend: Y

I have had Petplan for the last six years of so for all my my cats (Siamese). Having previously used Premier Help U Cover anc Co op which other pets in the past. Petplan do a very good multi pet discount and I currently pay around 48 for life time cover up to 4000 for all three cats that are around 5 to 6yrs of age.. I have recently had to put in a claim for a very high vet bill for one of my cats and Petplan paid up within ten days and paid straight to my vet. Paperwork was hassle free and I have found that if the vets are aware your pet is insured by Petplan then they generally will allow you do a claim direct even with very high amounts and they seem to process the claims promptly and with little hassle. On reading previous reviews of Petplan I am quite taken back at some of the poor service that some people have received from Petplan and some of the excuses for not paying up given by them.. But from my experience I have had none of them.. What happens when it comes to renewal time, I wwait to see how much my policy amount will of gone up by as they generally do.. However, in Petplan defence I have not seen a dramatic rise in premiums in the last few years as my cats get older and I would normally expect that you would always pay a bit more anyhow for pedigree breeds. But so far so good..

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor service, will do anything not to pay out   19 May 2016

Reviewed By: Denise, Recommend:

AFTER BEING WITH PET PLAN FOR OVER 8 YEARS WITH NO CLAIMS, THEY HAVE REJECTED MY 293.61 CLAIM BECAUSE I DID NOT TAKE MY DOG FOR A DENTAL CHECK UP EVERY YEAR! KNEW ABOUT BOOSTERS BUT THE DENTIST! BE WARNED DONT GET CAUGHT OUT LIKE ME!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 this doesnt usually mean a dentist, most good vets will include a dental check in the annual healthcheck at the time the booster was given, they will usually write on the notes any abnormalities/problems so i would tell petplan that your dog DID have a dental check at the healthcheck, tbh they wont know any different!!!

comment by: Me, 20 October 2016
 
 The policy does state that you are responsible for taking your dog to the vet annually for a check up, else they are not covered.

comment by: Phil, 10 August 2016
 
1/5   Ear exclusion   15 December 2015

Reviewed By: Linda Gormley, Recommend:

Our rescue dog developed an ear condition Otitus the veterinary hospital asked how much she was insured for and l stupidly told them about 4000 . The vet then went on to say ok we will do a scan and she can stay overnight ...when we went back they told us she needed an operation to remove her ear canal......after which they said she could sta in the hospital for 3 or four nights....when all complete the bill came to a surprising 3760.02 .......just a few pounds under what she is insured for......now pet plan have refused to pay due to ear exclusion policy........very angry

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 hi if ear conditions were excluded , how can you expect that to be covered ?

comment by: petplan, 30 December 2016
 
1/5   Rubbish - complete rip off!   23 November 2015

Reviewed By: Cassie Moorton, Recommend:

I went with pet plan as I had heard good things about them. When I I initially signed up, the woman didn't know what she was talking about and j had to talk her through it, but I just put it down to her possibly being new or something. I have received my renewal and they had increased it by 40%. I called them and the lady told me that it was due to an increase in claims, which is what they all say. The lady told me that it did look slightly high so she would look into it and get back to me. A week later...... Nothing. So I called them again and the lady told me that the last woman shouldn't have even looked into it as the quote is correct and they can't do anything for me and my quote stands. I thought insurance companies were bad but to nearly double my quote and tell me its because more people have claimed! What a rip off! So I asked to cancel and she happily did. Worst customer service, won't go with them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dying puppy and they just don   9 November 2015

Reviewed By: Benson, Recommend:

My message to them after months of calls and still no response I am yet to get my money refunded for my puppy ct scans and radiology tests etc from over 2 months ago ...... And at 23 weeks old and he weeks left to live ....... Multiple calls to you letting you know I need the money to buy his pain relief ........... I stopped your payment of 140 per month and you were on the phone within 24 hrs threatening to stop my policy!!!!!!!! I will if not contacted or refunded this week make it my personal business to have every pet owner ...... Dog rescues and alike ( of which I am a member of several) ...... Vets surgeries and the general public aware of how you find this reasonable practice........ My puppy's name is Benson and has support world wide ........ I live in BR5 ..... He is a dogue de Bordeaux and you have owed me over 2000 since September.......

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 You know you're not talking to petplan, right??

comment by: Dave, 23 June 2016
 
1/5   Disgusting service, unsympathetic customer service   26 October 2015

Reviewed By: Tilly, Recommend:

I called petplan to report my cat missing, as animal Search UK said if I called them and informed them, my sort of policy covers me up to 1500 for advertisement and reward when your pet is missing. I then called pet plan to confirm they would cover the cost of posers and flyers being made for my missing Tilly, they actually refused as they said I should have contacted a local vet within 5 days. She had been missing 6 days so I was only a day over this. The best part is... I actually work for a vets!! I also posted a letter to my local vets telling them Tilly was missing and enclosed a poster I had made myself the previous day as I tried to call them and they were closed. They still refused. I was absolutely disgusted. What was I paying my premiums for? The woman was the most rude sarcastic person I have ever spoken to and was totally unsympathetic to the fact my beloved Tilly was missing. I ended the call and then phoned back 10 minutes later to speak to a manager. I got through to another sarcastic woman who repeated the same thing about reading the terms and conditions, she also told me I have made missing posters myself therefore I can't claim for proper ones being made. How ridiculous. The woman then had the cheek to ask me to complete a customer survey over the phone. I have now cancelled my policy with petplan. Certainly won't be recommending them anymore. Unsympathetic, rude and sarcastic company. Luckily Tilly returned that evening and I have now insured her with a different company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent service   15 October 2015

Reviewed By: Margaret McEwan, Recommend: Y

Have had 5 dogs insured with petplan over 18yrs and have made numerous claims 2of them amounting to 2000-3000 and have never had any problems. When vets hear petplan is the insurer they don't ask for payment upfront and claims are always settled promptly.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   All claims paid   15 October 2015

Reviewed By: Charlie, Recommend:

Had a kitten with ongoing different problems for a year. Pet plan paid out over 3000 on all treatment including death from illness. Obviously had to pay excess a number of times but excellent service.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Horrible treatment of customers   25 September 2015

Reviewed By: Alice, Recommend:

I have had pet insurance with pet plan for over a year now for my cavalier king Charles spaniel. When he was a puppy he had a condition that affected his immune system which showed symptoms on his eyes, instead of looking into what the condition was the sales women put an exclusion on his eyes. I have disputed this fact with them because it isn't an eye condition and now because he has contracted a separate eye condition which needs no treatment and has no connection to the condition he had as a puppy they are refusing to remove the exclusion. I am disgusted in the way that they have dealt with me, no one is listening to me or the numerous letters from my vets. No body is listening to the facts, I have no issue with them putting exclusions on pre existing condition but to exclude an entire eye is just stupid. I care about my pet enough to pay 33 a month to make sure if he does fall ill he is cared for properly like millions of other loving pet owners and for the "number 1 uk pet insurer" to not give a damn about my pet or the customer who is paying 400 a year is horrid.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 our vet put to sleep our loving cat due to kidney failure...2 weeks later pet plan told us euthanadia and cremation are excluded. So be aware.Pet Plan insist that they do not cover these costs ! Stupid thing, as pets will die somehow someday just as us humans will. I am going to complain to the Ombudsdam anyway as i find this a bit contrary to our pets rights and the amount of money we paid for so long for nothing ?! ... what for to pay a life policy for 10 yrs if at the ende, when they die,… (read more)

comment by: Ceal, 13 May 2016
 
5/5   Good Cover so far   3 August 2015

Reviewed By: Peter, Recommend:

Shopped around for a week - my premium jumped by 25% due to my dog becoming 7 years old - have never made a claim. This cover is lifetime and a better quality policy than my previous one. Time will tell but hopefully all will be good.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Hassle-Free Service   28 July 2015

Reviewed By: Katrin Weeks, Recommend:

I have insured my cat with PetPlan right from the start and unfortunately she is a little bit of an unlucky soul. Withing the first 2 years of her life I had to claim for several emergency treatments (eating tablets, being hit by a car, she got shot with a great big ball bearing by a catapult, some unknown cause leg damage)...I was starting to feel awful but PetPlan have settled time and time again without any hassle - and the claims were being dealt with directly by my vet. I only payed my excess and received the ok via mail. I do recommend them!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Re -Kathy - indoor cats. Its your choice if you want to keep your cats indoors. I now have 5 cats they are allowed outdoors when they want during daylight hours. I believe they have a happier natural life and yes sadly i have lost 1 cat due to a road traffic accident. Cat are more free spirits than dogs so it is accepted you cannot control a cat as you can a dog. I also have dogs. Dont encourage pet insurance companies to put even more exclusions on policies!!!!

comment by: Dee Lyons, 30 May 2016
 
 Being hit by a car is an accident. It doesn't happen to every cat. Why wouldn't an insurance policy pay? Keeping cats indoors, particularly if more than one cat, is detrimental to their psychological wellbeing. Indoor cats are more like to suffer obesity, urinary problems and behavioural issues. Will you expect to pay the bills for these yourself as it will be your fault given your logic?

comment by: Rachel, 9 October 2015
 
 Thats exacty why you have insurance?! Good insurance covers you for accidents! Thats like saying dont take your car off the drive...dont ride your horse down the lane...Cats are naturally outdoor animals and to keep them in for your own peace of mind is in my opinion selfish. Yes you may protect the cat but it has to have a fair life...you wouldnt do the same with your kids? Just saying!

comment by: Anon, 9 October 2015
 
 I don't understand. Speaking only about cats here, but why would any insurance company pay for an owner's negligence? The tablets I can understand. Cats can be quick in picking stuff up off of the floor/counter, etc, but I don't think an insurance company should pay for a cat being hit by a car, getting shot, or having other complications just because the owner allows the cat outside. Good for PetPlan for doing so, but I don't think they should. Cat owners are responsible in keeping their… (read more)

comment by: Kathy, 30 September 2015
 
1/5   Pet-plan insurance: don't bother   14 July 2015

Reviewed By: Mrs king, Recommend: N

If you want a company that will find ways not to pay, look no further. Pet plan increase the amount payable each month as each year passes. The excess is so high, currently 115 and they will also deduct a further 20% from the bill payable. My dog is 12 years old and I have never claimed yet the cover has tripled in price. Recently The vet advised my dog needed three tooth extractions at a cost of 550. Pet plan will not pay out. The claim was invalidated because there was one year that the dog had not visited the vet. Equally any diseases which result as of her not having seen the vet in that one year will not be covered. I have lost confidence and have been paying thousands for nothing.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   best pet cover   3 July 2015

Reviewed By: Sarah G., Recommend:

We can always ring them up and speak to someone in person. Cover is the best you can find. Easy to make a claim and payment is quick to our bank account. We recommend to everyone.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   utterly disgusting   30 June 2015

Reviewed By: polly, Recommend: N

I had a policy for our jack Russell - TOTO since 2009 - 2014, I have just received a letter from the FINANCIAL OMBUDSMAN to say they cannot uphold my complaint, which I find utterly disgusting. I took out this policy when Toto was a puppy, he had been seen at the vet for a cut paw and shaking head, he is and has been continued to be healthy in 2010 he developed an ear infection - OTITIS - Petplan paid for his treatment then again and again, in Feb 2014 he was referred to a specialist in St Helens, Petplan refused authorised treatment even though they had paid for treatment previously, they claimed I had not "disclosed" his ear condition when I took the insurance out, - I cannot remember when taking out the policy what I said, neither can they! after this our pet which needed the treatment has not had a recurrence, but I continued to pay the premium (6 months) - the very best policy money could buy. when i complained to the FO Petplan then continued to barricade me with "new agreed policies with "exclusions" for ear infections, and even sent me a copy of an invoice for some 2000 for what? My vet wrote to the FO to say the ear infection he had in 2008 could not be related to the one in 2010, I submitted this to the FO - an "adjudicator" then informed me she could not uphold my complaint even though my evidence was stronger than Petplans, I did not accept her decision which was then referred to the ombudsman, and '18 months' later have just received a letter to inform me they will not uphold my complaint what is the point of the FO? I have read other similar stories on your website - who works for who? this company are stealing money from people, animals are precious, we care they cannot speak and put their trust in us, this company (PETPLAN) is utterly disgusting and need to be taken to task!!!! - something needs to be done they have got away with not paying out time and time again! and I do agree this company PETPLAN is recommended by some vets - I wonder why!!! - and does the FO really care about the consumer?

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 JUST HAVEING THE SAME SORT OF THING WITH PET PLAN AND THE FO I HAVE PAPER WORK WHERE THEY HAVE GIVEN MY DOG TWO NAMES I HAVE MORE EXCLUSTION ADDED EVERY TIME THEY SEND MAIL. WOULD NOT USE THEM AGAIN AND I AM TRYING TO GET THEM IN COURT DO NOT USE THESE PEAPLE TO DEAR AND NO GOOD

comment by: mark bray, 9 October 2015
 
1/5   Cheated   31 May 2015

Reviewed By: David, Recommend:

The only thing I can say about pet plan feel betrayed cheated and robbed we have had to fight with pet plan because they did not pay up despite paying our insurance continuously for 10 years. We have been grieving and trying to come to terms with the loss of our dog . They say when you continuously renew your policy it counts as a new policy and not the continuation of the existing policy therefore we are not paying up. DISGUSTING and SHAMEFUL

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Jury still out   28 March 2015

Reviewed By: M, Recommend:

My cat had a couple of health issues, took her to the vet and she was admitted to their hospital. 900 later no conclusive diagnosis. Started the claim process - after 2 weeks the claim is not visible online. Called Petplan and they say they haven't received the claim. I then contacted the vet who actually submitted the claim on my behalf, charging me 10 admin fee, the vet tell me Petplan have received the claim. Frustrating for me - Petplan clearly have the claim but dont seem to acknowledge receipt. Not a great start to my first ever pet insurance claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Petplan do NOT settle the majority of claims within five days as they profess to do. We have made numerous claims as we have a very ill little dog. They will not acknowledge when they have received a claim. It usually takes three weeks from making a claim to going into our bank account.We have insured our dogs with them for over twenty five years and have never had to claim like this before. It is true when you say you never how good an insurance company is until you have to make a claim.

comment by: Margaret, 5 May 2016
 
 Petplan do NOT settle the majority of claims within five days as they profess to do. We have made numerous claims as we have a very ill little dog. They will not acknowledge when they have received a claim. It usually takes three weeks from making a claim to going into our bank account.We have insured our dogs with them for over twenty five years and have never had to claim like this before. It is true when you say you never how good an insurance company is until you have to make a claim.

comment by: Margaret, 5 May 2016
 
5/5   Really helpful company   23 February 2015

Reviewed By: Sarah Keeley, Recommend:

I have 3 horses and 1 dog insured with petplan. As long as vets record injuries in detail I have had no problem whatsoever in making 4 big claims over the past 8 years. Two claims were even on the same leg of the same horse, but different problems. I would definitely recommend this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Want to make profit on everyone   20 February 2015

Reviewed By: Nathan, Recommend:

My dog has a skin condition and in the fist year the amount I was claiming each month was more than my premium, so I was chuffed. Next year my premiums have double and I might as well be paying for the treatment myself. Will be cancelling at the end of my policy year!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 eerrr yes and if you kep crashing your car your insurance premiums will keep going up, and if you keep having medical problems your health insurance will go up - what are you expecting - something for nothing? What a ridiculous comment

comment by: jc, 17 November 2016
 
4/5   no quibble   17 February 2015

Reviewed By: Kay, Recommend:

Even though the premium is higher than some, they are the best pet insurance company. I had insurance with another company before and they wouldn't cover anything. Nice to have an insurer who pays when you need them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great hassle free service   14 February 2015

Reviewed By: Lucy, Recommend: N

Our puppy managed to get hold of some grapes which are poisonous to dogs.we ran up a vet bill of approximately 800. Our vet liased with Pet Plan directly and settled the bill. We had no hassle or extra stress on top of getting our precious puppy back to health. Just what you need! GREAT!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My dog aswallowed a large chicken wing/bone from the pavement. Took my dog to emergency vet. Paid 100 upfront to be told to wait and see. My do digested the bone safely after a few day. PetPlan refused to paid? This was an emergency, my dog had eaten a dangerous item he needed to see a vet quickly. but, Petplan did not agree. Everything is great when they take you money but, not when they have to pay.

comment by: Murphyman, 16 July 2016
 
 Well my dog at a full chicken wing, took them to emergency vet, paid 120 upfront. Claim was refused by Petplan, not an emergency? Message seems to be if there is injury no pay out

comment by: Murphyman, 26 June 2015
 
  Add your own review


Review PetPlan pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 4 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016