pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

More Than pet insurance

Ceefa Deefa House
35 Friday Street
Henley-on-Thames
RG9 1RX

phone: 0800 300 885
website: https://www.morethan.com/pet-insurance

Offer dog and cat insurance with several levels of cover: Accident only, Basic (12 Month cover), Classic (cover for accident and illness to a set limit for each condition) and Premier (Lifetime cover).

User Rating
2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of More Than pet insurance

1/5   Donít bother   12 July 2018

Reviewed By: Cooper, Recommend:

Do not be fooled by their initial low cost like me. I went for the life time cover which started off at £25pm. Year 2 was £50 pm and year 3 was £150!!! I canít afford to pay that each month so Iíve cancelled and will have to go elsewhere. I was foolish enough to go with them but please donít make the same mistake. Having looked elsewhere and read reviews, there are many insurers who donít triple your policy due to making a claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   quotes high   9 July 2018

Reviewed By: Annoyed Pet owner, Recommend:

Having had a 6 weeks free insurance with more than following adopting a rescue animal, I was given a quote by More Than to continue for a year. The quote was ok, but when the quote day ran out by one day, calling them was given a much higher quote. Refused and said going elsewhere. Looking on line I could get More Than insurance, for the same cover cheaper. What a rip off. Gone elsewhere now

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Unbelievable price hikes   25 June 2018

Reviewed By: Georgina Holdsworth, Recommend:

Our French Bulldog is 4 years old and we've only ever been insured through MoreThan. The premium started off at £38pm for their top cover. Year 2 was £80pm and year 3 was £123pm. I received the renewal through today for £232pm! We have claimed for an eye ulcer op, a couple of dermatology appointments as he chews his paws and medication. We made no claims in the last year. I am appalled that they are able to increase premiums year on year to such an extent and feel so justified in doing so. I wish we had never decided to go with them. Avoid at all costs.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Keeps going up   9 June 2018

Reviewed By: Gillian , Recommend:

The annual cost is doubled each year. Now stands at £70 per month for my 2 cats because Iíve claimed for them both last year for a few hundred pounds each. Spoke to an adviser but he was unable to tell me what they base the increases on, said itís their underwriter who does it and you canít call them. Morethanís sales tactic is to hook you by offering you a low introductory rate then double it every year thereafter until itís not worth keeping (mine started at £9 when kittens, now they are age 5).Itís seems underhand. I have cancelled it and will be looking at other companies but banking the £840 annual cost for future vet bills. Very poor business practice.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Threatening letters   30 May 2018

Reviewed By: Alan Smith, Recommend:

I had dog insurance with more than for over 11 years. Premiums went up year on year despite not making a claim. This year up 25%. Total rip off and unjustifiable and clearly don't want older dogs. Despite paying my premiums up to date and cancelling my policy I am receiving threatening letters for money which I just do not owe. Appalling company. My advice is steer well clear....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   One operation, three excesses applied   11 May 2018

Reviewed By: Bob Keegan, Recommend:

My dog recently had an eight year check up and the Vet recommended removing some lumps and bumps that he had. They operated and took out five lumps that all came back benign, which was good. Morethan then questioned my Vet quite closely until they were able to ascertain that the five lumps fitted into three different categories, in their view, three "different conditions", so they applied the excess to each condition meaning that I got back less than a third of what I spent on the operation. One operation, three excesses. Ridiculous, don't you think? I had been reasonably happy with more than until recently when they put my renewal premium up considerably and then this. Rip off merchants.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Prices hiking even with no claims   5 May 2018

Reviewed By: Richard Jones, Recommend:

Had insurance for 4 years with Morethan, the price has gone up and up, our dog is only 4 years old and its now just under £700 a year, up £200 from last year. Called to negotiate and they don't want to know - Just trying to make too much money in my opinion, I'm going elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 We have had our renewal through and we are shocked at how they have hiked up the premium form £750 to £ £1,500+ !!!!!

comment by: Jane, 30 May 2018
 
1/5   Priced out - More Than profiteering bar-stewards   23 April 2018

Reviewed By: Christopher, Recommend:

We've had our little Cava Tzuh insured with More Than for over 10 years. Apart from a cruciate ligament op as a puppy, we've never claimed until the last few years when he has developed a heart condition. The excess on each new claim has risen from £75 to £150. The 10% excess on each bill has risen to 20%. Our vets run a pet health club which gives you 10% off all meds... This used to offset the 10% excess from More Than, until the insurance company caught wind of this and insisted that the discount be passed to them. Cheeky side. Well we've almost maxed out the £8,000 limit so they won't be covering the heart condition any more, even so we've just had our renewal letter and the monthly premiums are going from £86 to £150. Plus on your annual renewal you have to pay an annual excess for each ongoing condition therefore, upon renewal they will expect a payment of over £450. It can't be done. I believe that they've deliberately done this because they don't want to cover him any more.. they've priced us out. It's absolutely disgusting!!! AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Lifetime cover scam   16 April 2018

Reviewed By: Iain, Recommend:

My dog had an illness that cost a lot to heal, fair enough they paid out OK, but premium went from £40 per month to £180. Clearly no morals or care for pets, cynically treatment of their customer Base. Premium cover worthless when they increase premiums, feel utterly scammed by their lifetime cover which is totally worthless because only applies if you renew, which they deliberately make impossible.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusted   13 April 2018

Reviewed By: Joy Herdman, Recommend:

As the title says I am disgusted with this company.I have had my insurance claim declined today on the grounds of a so called pre existing condition. Well she did have her abdomen checked over in 2016 .No evidence of a hernia was found at that time but more than are claiming it could have been !!,

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocking!   11 April 2018

Reviewed By: Carrie Fade, Recommend:

Purchased full cover for the dog in year 1- £700... if you can afford it, you want the best for your best friend, right? Unfortunately, the dog had to have surgery end of year 1 which crossed over into year 2... understandable that the premium then went up, but it doubled to £1.4k and in year 3 doubled again... as £2.8k felt very painful, we reduced the cover and paid 2k - still a fortune but he did have surgery, so we just grinned and beared it. No claims for pretty much 2 years now and year 4ís premium just came through... £3.6k. Itís just mental. Now we have the pre-existing condition of hip displaysia on the horizon for the future.. it will eventually need meds and potentially surgery, so changing the insurer isnít ideal. They also get super aggressive in their letters if you donít renew immediately (I.E. youíre thinking about how to deal with this insane premium). Itís just not right. You canít keep doubling the cost every year!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolute Rip Off merchants   23 March 2018

Reviewed By: Boll the Cat , Recommend:

Our cat been insured with them for 16 years (bless the old boy). The insurance was gradually creeping up but we kind of absorbed it - this year they doubled it to 2.7K and changed the excess to a scandalous 20% on top of the fixed 150 and this for a pet with at best two 300 £ claims in last 8 years. Plain robbery - we now just bank the save and moved all our other insurance away. Daylight robbery

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   More Than a Disappointment   17 March 2018

Reviewed By: Caroline, Recommend:

My little moggy has been insured with More Than since November 2008. Until November 2016 I had never issued a claim. The cat was healthy and happy until she suddenly became very ill one morning and was rushed into emergency with a kidney blockage which had killed the kidney. This kidney was removed. She barely survived this surgery but has since made great progress. She has been diagnosed with Idiopathic hypercalcemia which is being managed with special diet and medication. A second calcium deposit had been building in the remaining kidney but with diet and medication it has slowed down the growth and will no doubt buy her a couple of more years on this earth. After the surgery, More Than increased our insurance premium from £125 per year to £507.96. MORE THAN DOUBLE. This cat has one kidney left. When that kidney goes she will die or have to be put down. NO other health issues, her biochemistry is normal. More Than have just issued my renewal quote and it is now £1,386.73! This is coming from a company who are no longer insuring this specific condition as they have paid out the full £8,000. It is clear the insurer increased the premium to unfairly profit from me or deter me from renewing. I have spoken to More Than today and they refuse to issue the details of the ruling or supporting documents. I am transparent with all my documentation which states my cat's biochemistry is normal. This is a five star defacto rated company (HOW??), who clearly push out or profit from longstanding customers who dare to claim. A ten percent increase would be deemed fair and reasonable but with More Than it's all about profit. More Than a disappointment!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Thank you Margaret. There is no good reason for More Than to charge so much once a claim is made. It's disproportionate. They are focused on more mature home owners who will do anything for their pets. No one will be as attached to a house or car, they know pet owners will pay. Shame on them and this practice of theirs should be outed! Take your business elsewhere. More Than posted their 2016 profits of £655m. You think they could behave in a fair and reasonable manner when it comes… (read more)

comment by: Caroline Rodger, 29 March 2018
 
 Hi Caroline, I am so sorry to hear about your precious fur baby. I have had the same experience with More Than. I have a lovely 4 year old Lab called Domino and we started at £19 a month when he was a youngster. Because he has dermatitis in three years it has went up to £120! I have no respect for More Than and I will tell you why. The people in the call centres are lovely and claims have always been paid. However, I wrote to them a week ago and advised them where I had reduced cost greatly… (read more)

comment by: Margaret Young, 21 March 2018
 
1/5   Extortionate rise in price   17 March 2018

Reviewed By: M French, Recommend:

Whilst I urge everyone to have insurance for their dog with sufficient cover, I'd like to point out what happens when you make a claim. This is the renewal from More Than pet insurance £183.97 per month an increase of £100 per month after claiming. It already doubled last year from £43 to £86 & now they want £183.97 per month & that's with a compulsory excess of £75 & a voluntary excess of 10% of any claim. Wow!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   153% Premium Increase Upon Renewal....   9 March 2018

Reviewed By: Jade, Recommend:

Short story: I have one of my cats insured with them as I was initially attracted by the relatively low price of their Premier Lifetime Cover. After making claims this year my monthly premium is 153% higher for next year! Long story: Unfortunately my cat developed ongoing stomach problems, diarrhea, weight loss... to start with I was mostly making small claims as the vets tried short courses of antibiotics, wormers, etc. All covered no problem. Small increases on each renewal, which was fair. This year the cat's insurance was £30 per month, which is much more than I pay through another insurer for my other cats, but seemed well worth it considering his ongoing health issues. However during the last year his condition got much worse and he had to be referred for more extensive tests, including ultrasound and hospitalisation fees he probably incurred treatment costs of around £1500+ this past year. Again More Than paid up (minus excess) without trouble. However like many other customers I was in for an eye-watering shock when I got the renewal paperwork for next year - PREMIUMS WENT UP FROM £30 TO £76 PER MONTH! That's a jump from an annual cost of £360 to £912 in one year! Clearly they plan on scraping back every penny they have paid over the next year or two. Fortunately the cat is improving rapidly, but I am now facing having to cancel his policy and the daunting prospect of covering uncertain future vet bills from my own savings, because 'pre-existing condition' exclusions mean no other insurer will cover him. Clearly More Than think this means they have me cornered and can charge what they like. Conclusion: I always thought insurance was a gamble where most pets stay well and the insurer makes money off the customer, vs a few pets who get ill and then the insurer pays out more than the customer. It seems with More Than they intend to make sure the customers ALWAYS pays more in the long run no matter what, so where is the incentive to buy insurance if you are always going to lose money in the end even if your pet gets ill? Other insurers such at PetPlan state that they will never increase your premium because you made a claim. How I wish I had put more weight on that feature when choosing my insurer!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My dog's insurance with more than has increased by 200%. Going from £120 to £360 next year. I have claimed for an MRI scan and treatment for a herniated disc. I'm now trapped with them as if it happened again and she needed surgery it would cost possibly £3000.

comment by: Amanda, 15 March 2018
 
1/5   STAY CLEAR ....THEIR INSURANCE INCREASES ARE HORRE   21 February 2018

Reviewed By: Lisa, Recommend:

More than have increased my policy from Ł20 to Ł176 for one dog. I have used the policy once and that was for a torn ligament. My dog has no health problems besides arthritis which I have never used the policy to claim for. They are a complete joke and tie you in until you can't get insurance elsewhere and then they increase your prices.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Premium escalation with age   20 February 2018

Reviewed By: Judith, Recommend:

My 2 cats aged 10.3/4 yrs premium, having just reduced cover, will be just under £1,000. Original quote £1,279. If the 1k goes up at 50% p.a. by the time cats are 14.3/4 the premiums will have totalled £13,188. This would cover huge vet bills. Now have to decide whether to self insure instead of renewing. However More Than were excellent at paying claims. Maybe I'll pay up for one more year....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Super so far   9 February 2018

Reviewed By: Bryan Morgan, Recommend:

I have made a claim nearing the £12,000 mark. My cat had cancer with treatment provided at the Royal Dick Vet School in Edinburgh. Not had any fuss with a claim for £5,000 taking a bit longer due to the amount. Fair enough.... I am paying £13 per month the now with the policy due to be renewed soon. So dreading that letter. Lifetime cover policy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE MORE THAN ABSOLUTE RIP OFF   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Mac, Recommend:

My poor dog was diagnosed with diabetes in February 2017 and unfortunately due to this lost one of his eyes therefore I claimed from my policy for his operation and everything went well however when I received my renewal this month boy was I in for a major shock, my premium went from £47 per month to £139 per month which is over 200% increase now I understand if you make a claim your premium will go up but come on an increase of over 200%. I feel that More Than are nothing short of loan sharks as basically they paid for his operation but are now going to make sure they get their pound of flesh, unbelievable, therefore policy will now be cancelled and instead I will put money away each month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful company   13 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kathy , Recommend:

Such a stupid company the staff although very polite are completely incompetent. Cancelled my policy in November then they take a years money out I December. It's now January and I'm still reviving letters to pay again!.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Expensive   8 January 2018

Reviewed By: Peggy Reynolds, Recommend:

Huge premium increase at renewal. Avoid avoid avoid

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Huge renewal increase   6 January 2018

Reviewed By: Lara, Recommend:

I have been with More Than for 2 years and just got a renewal through for year 3. I reduced the cover last year from Premium Lifetime £12,000 to Premium Lifetime £4,000 as the cost was increasing. This year for Premium Lifetime £4,000 it's increased from £530 to £710. My dog just turned 11 so I understand she's getting older but we've made no claims and she's a healthy dog. I've worked out if it increases by the same amount every year until she's 16 we would pay out £7,000 in insurance. That's not including an inevitable increase if we ever have to claim. I'd rather put that money aside. I did a quote online as a new customer and the same policy costs £1500 a year so it does pay to stick with a company when your dog gets older and they get to know it's history, that is if you don't make any claims of course!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   RIP ........... SHORT FOR RIPOFF   29 December 2017

Reviewed By: ian, Recommend:

We paid £75 per month for 2 years one claim now they want £143.73 per month - so year 1 = £842.05 year 2 = £1,723.99 Dread to think if we stayed how much year 3 will cost. May be a good idea to go elsewhere or even put money into a savings account...P.S I did have my house plus cars insured with this company no loyalty, sad very sad...

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beyond   15 December 2017

Reviewed By: Simon, Recommend:

My Italian greyhound is 4 at the end of January. He's been insured with More Than for 3.5 years, with only one claim (this Sept) for a skin tag removal, for which around £100 was claimed, and which, by the way, they took around 6 weeks to pay. They have now doubled the monthly payment to £68. I have no intention of renewing and am also going to cancel my building insurance with same company. More than! More than what? it should be known, in future, as More than Double.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dreadful company   10 December 2017

Reviewed By: Ann anderson, Recommend:

I have my dog insured who is now 11 years old. I have had two claims this year. For small problems. I havenít claimed before this. I have ended up paying half of vet bill myself. They didnít cover all bills. Itís yearly premium is now due. Iím horrified, it has went from £258.19 to new price of £438.62. Double the price. I phoned and asked why this was acceptable. Didnít get any help at all, this is a disgrace and wouldnít advise anyone to use this company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   TOTAL RIP OFF MERCHANTS   13 November 2017

Reviewed By: Regina Arthan , Recommend:

I joined 4 years ago with a Teacup long hair Chihuahua taking out for life cover. Unfortunately in first year dog diagnosed with liver condition which will be on going for life. Year 2 renewal went up by circa 45%. Year 3 up by 56%, year 4 up by 66% so now nearly a thousand pounds a year and my little dog is only 4. TOTAL RIP OFF wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy and need people to pass on this advice to all pet owners DO NOT TAKE OUT PET INSURANCE WITH MORE THAN! I'm stuck now because if I move to a different company the one and only condition my dogs ever been treated for wouldn't be covered. The government needs to get pet insurance companies regulated because it seems they can charge what they like and apply obscene increases year on year.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off on renewal   6 September 2017

Reviewed By: sandra, Recommend:

I got my renewal quote and it had gone up by quite a lot ,so went on line and got it much cheaper ,went onto chat and asked them why[no explanation ] went back to buy at the cheaper rate and my time had logged out??? ,tried again and had to get another quote Guess what it had gone up to the expensive quote Rip Off

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off insurance company   5 September 2017

Reviewed By: Ian, Recommend:

Do not use this company, all it seems to do is increase payments and find ways of not paying when your pet needs help.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off don   11 August 2017

Reviewed By: Tracey, Recommend:

Have been with morethan for nearly 11 years with dog and cat insurance even though the premium kept going up each year. Only made 3 claims for the dog which was allergies related decided to exclude them from the policy and brought the premium down nearly half. My dog had a haemotoma in her ear, I phoned and asked if I could claim and was told yes, as long as it's not allergy related. I told them it wasn't. I put claim in and was declined because they said it was down to her allergies even though my vets said it wasn't. morethan vets said it was. Well, for a start they don't know my dog and haven't treated her either, so why go above my vet who treated her? They didn't even phone to talk to me to discuss it even though I'm the policy holder. I made a complaint and got declined again saying my vet had said they couldn't say if it was allergy related or not. After they sent an email to say not related, Morethan told me I could get 2 months premium payed back while i was waiting for the decision to be made, which I'm still waiting for. I'm absolutely fuming, they even sent me an email which I asked for, showing my vet had emailed them explaining it was not to do with allergies. They had also emailed me someone else's details of their pet and policy number. I have a good mind to phone the owners and tell them. I would not go near them. They do anything to get out of paying even after being with them all that time and all the money I have payed over the years to them. They don't even care. I've gone to the ombudsman now. I definitely would not recommend.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Go lie down in a dark room at renewal time   3 July 2017

Reviewed By: Don, Recommend:

My renewal quote has come in at an eye-watering increase of +66% on last year after claims of £400 for arthritis treatments in my dog's most expensive year. OK my dog is old now, 11 next so he's going to get worse. The business model is to insure young pets when they need little or nothing and then ratchet up the price at the point they might get ill, reduce the benefits gradually and laugh all the way to the bank because you can't switch. It's a form of financial hostage-taking. My advice to new pet owners. Don't insure with More Than certainly and probably not anybody else for that matter. Put an amount away each month in a vet account and you'll be better off. I'm sure More Than are not alone in operating this way. But they are avaricious and scheming in the extreme. They used to ask me how my dog was by name when I rang, as if they cared. Now they don't even make a pretence of being bothered. I think they want rid of the old sod but I'll look after him anyway.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Worst insurers ever   21 June 2017

Reviewed By: John, Recommend:

I wouldn't wish this company on my enemy. The customer has to pay a £300 excess and 10% of the bill (which is most treatments). Then only insured to £8000 and never covered for that conditiob again. They get you in with a low first uear of £15/m then by year 10 it's £124/m... and you can't move company so stuck with the rip off detritus that is more than. Pick ANY other company!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review More Than pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 3 + 2 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016