pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Animal Friends pet insurance

No. 1 The Crescent
Sun Rise Way
Amesbury
Wiltshire
SP4 7QA

phone: 0344 557 0300
website: https://www.animalfriends.co.uk/

Offer dog, cat and horse insurance. Have a same day claims system for quick claims approval and simple admin. process. Offer Accident Only, Time Limited, Maximum Benefit and Lifetime Cover policies.

User Rating
1.7
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Animal Friends pet insurance

1/5   Animal Friends only cover you for 60hrs a week   4 November 2018

Reviewed By: Norelle Cottee, Recommend:

Animal friends only cover your pet at your day time vets between 08.00 and 20.00 x 5 days which is only 60 hours per week They will NOT pay 'out of hours' vet care, as in Vets-Now only if your pet has a life threatening condition. A male cat can 'block' which can cause the bladder to burst, I wouldnt be able to diagnose that Im not a vet. So stay at home with your pet in absolute agony? Until your usual vet opens at 08.00 if you cat makes it till then. We are utterly penalised by ANIMAL FRIENDS if we attend out of hours vets. My pet had a rapidly worsening eye corneal ulcer and her face was swelling on the affected side and in distress I took her to an out of hours vets at 23.00hrs ANIMAL FRIENDS were not interested and not going to pay at all!. So if your animal suffers from a variety of disorders requiring out of hours care, you will pay. The out of hours per week is 84 hours, 12hrs x 7days = 84 and the weekends clock another 24hrs, 108 hrs YOU are uncovered. If you pet broke its legs, tail, vomiting, unwell, torn ligament, you have to wait till opening times of your vet so your animal can suffer at weekends and every evening. while you look on. I even had to pay the £99 excess fee for no care. Swindlers I will take this further as many who are with Animal Friends are in the same position with dire circumstances ahead of them. Do you agree, might set up a petition. BY THE WAY, IT IS AN OFFENCE TO ALLOW ANY ANIMAL TO SUFFER

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent from start to finish   22 October 2018

Reviewed By: Bianca Benn, Recommend:

Our premiums remained about the same for the first 4 years of our policy, after which time my 4 year old Cavapoo was diagnosed with Cushings. Animal Friends paid out promptly for diagnosis, treatment and medication where necessary over the space of 2 years. The premiums only increased slightly the following two years despite us maxing out our coverage each year with all the tests. When she finally passed at age 6 with a brain tumour, they paid out for her death (although an receipt/invoice from the breeder was required so be sure to keep yours). I would definitely recommend.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Con Artists   19 October 2018

Reviewed By: David Taylor, Recommend:

Had to take one of our three dogs to the emergency vet at 2am a few weeks ago. The dogs are covered by Animal Friends Pet insurance so got a claim form and was hoping to get some of the ,£220 back. Got a letter back to saying because we took the dog to an emergency vet during out of hours , we won't be getting a penny. Policy says not allowed to take pets to emergency out of hours vet. At 2 am in the morning I wasn't going to look at the policy booklet. Tomorrow morning will cancel all the dogs insurance. Check policy before buying or before your pet gets ill.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Waste of Money   13 October 2018

Reviewed By: Keith, Recommend:

Unfortunately, I have recently lost my dog and was hoping to claim. However by the time all of the small print clauses were applied, no claim was ďvalidĒ. There policy wording is very misleading and after paying a premium of about £370, I am disgusted that they have managed to avoid any claim!! There response to EMails was abysmal, generally taking over a week to respond and the chat facility was also useless. If you have a dog over 8, donít waste your money insuring it! I also asked for a refund on unused months, but guess what, the small print states that no refunds are given!!! I think that it is very unethical for an insurance company to protect itself from most claims!! Disgraceful company!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 We insured our dog with Animal Friends for years. Surprise, surprise, when she eventually became ill and died they twisted and turned like snakes in a sack to find reasons not to pay out regarding the vet's extensive fees. They are a disgusting bunch of shysters. It really isn't worth the stress dealing with them. Avoid them like the plague.

comment by: Bob, 17 October 2018
 
1/5   Awful company   26 September 2018

Reviewed By: S, Recommend:

Very bad experience. They tried to get out of paying out when my dog was ill. They tried to claim my dog was dangerous. He was once attacked by another dog but they interpreted that as saying that he had attacked another dog! After several phone calls from myself, the vet's receptionist and the vet's nurse, they finally agreed to pay. I had increased the cover from £500 to £1000 but then they said that I had increased the claim within two weeks of his illness being diagnosed - not true! They then refused to pay anything over £500. I have now left the company and would never insure with them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Death of pet claim   17 September 2018

Reviewed By: Anne Marie Pearce, Recommend:

My 5 month old puppy was hit by a car and died instantly over a month ago. A devastating accident which deeply upset me. I called animal friends who were sympathetic on the phone and said they would send a claim form. The form arrived I filled out my bit and dropped it to the vet to fill out their bit. The vet called me and said they thought I had the wrong form. after a long wait on the phone I got through again and was advised I needed a death of pet form. 5 days later a covering letter arrived but no DOP form so I had to call back again. When the form finally arrived I filled out my bit a took it to the local vet to confirm the death of my puppy. This form has now been emailed twice and posted and after long waits on the phone each time I have been advised the form has not been received. I had not read the reviews before, but now I have no faith that I will get any payment even if my claim is received. Animal friends seemed to offer a good policy cover for the monthly fee, however at the end of the day it's the service you recieve when and if you need to make a claim that's important. I called animal friends over an hour ago and chose the call back option. I'm still waitin....watch this space!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Animal Friends - is that supposed to be ironic?   31 August 2018

Reviewed By: Angela Bilsby, Recommend:

Animal Friends - is that supposed to be ironic? My ten year old Viszla Lola recently underwent life-saving surgery to remove tumours from her intestine and spleen. It cost £3,500. My only comfort was that we were insured with 'animal friends'. That was naive. It turns out that because she had diarrhoea in 2008 (with hindsight, normal puppy stuff) and gastro-enteritis in 2009, that there is an exclusion on her policy relating to 'digestive system'. I naively assumed that this meant further diarrhoea or gastro-enteritis. How very naive. Apparently it covers any condition relating to everything from the oesophagus to the anus, including the spleen (I had no idea this had any function in digestion!!!). I've of course spoken with them. They feel the exclusion is entirely justified. So we get to pay the £3,500 ourselves. Either that or we should have let her die. So not really 'animal friends' after all then. If you are unfortunate enough to be insured with these people, check your exclusions - every year. Ask for extensive details, I suspect you'll be surprised how little cover they provide for you yet how much they cover themselves. I've now asked for a list of conditions our policy will cover - I suspect it will be much shorter than the list of exclusions. Alternatively, just go elsewhere. Petplan, whilst more expensive, were far better. My vet groaned when I said who we were insured with. I now know why.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Many clauses to limit claim amount they pay   31 August 2018

Reviewed By: Rob L, Recommend: N

Just had a claim amount paid and although I have been with Animal Friends for years, continually, I had a claim marked down and split into 2 years due to treatment dates. I have no control over when my pet is ill, dates or treatment, nor when the vet submits my claim. Animal Friends split my claim into 2 because some treatment dates were in the previous year. This way they they meant that they could process with 2 policy excesses. The actual amount I lost was only about £15, but could have been £100. Dirty, disgusting, back-handed tactics to limit their liability. I'm sure that they are not the only ones, but I have one claim, for one treatment and I expect more from a company that has happily taken my money, and loyalty for a good few years.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware this company has the following get out clau   16 August 2018

Reviewed By: Thomas Rowe, Recommend:

Beware this company has the following get out clause which means you may not get paid your full claim. 1.2 Specific Conditions 1.2.1 Level of vet fees allowed: We reserve the right to obtain a second opinion from our vet advisor where we consider: ē Vet fees charged appear greater than conventional fees charged by an attending referral practice; and/or ē Treatment received may not have been required or may have been excessive when compared with treatment conventionally undertaken by an attending referral practice. There is a total lack of transparency on what limits are being applied and furthermore the limits are decided by a veterinary advisor in Animal Friends employment, which means that the amounts are biased in their favour. This not acting in the customerís best interests who may end up paying more in the course of Veterinary Treatment for their Pet, as in my case. My Dog Tzu-Chi was referred to the Royal Veterinary College Queen Mother Hospital for Sick Animals by Foxgrove MediVet as they were unable to diagnose what was the underlying cause of his life threatening and eventually ending Breathing Difficulties. Because his condition was life threatening and also an out of hours emergency where veterinary costs are much higher, and due to the fact he was looked after in an Intensive Care Unit where costs would again be much higher. I strongly believe that the costs incurred to treat him were fully justifiable and due to the intensive level of care he was receiving, would have been much higher than the limits for treatment being unfairly applied by the Animal Friends Veterinary Advisor. I will be referring the matter to the Financial Ombudsman.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful insurance company   10 August 2018

Reviewed By: 1, Recommend:

What an awful company got in touch with them as we put a claim in for our dog they said they hadnít received it we checked with the vets and they said the forms were completed and sent the lady on the phone then told me it would be pointless in claiming as with the excess and also the /20% deduction for her age of 10 years something we did not know it would be pointless I have now also sent 2 emails as to which they guarantee to get back to you in 2 days and never have all I would say to people is check your policy thoroughly when renewing as they put added clauses in and donít make you aware of changes

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have to report similar problems,with Animal Friends breaking their own term & conditions with regards to claims turnaround times and payout , we are still waiting for our claims payment, after 3 phone calls, even the vets practise manager was "talked" off the scent....so we will pursue a failure to maintain "contractual terms claim under the Insurance ombudsman, then to all out there pursue them via the small claims courts ( £60.fee payable for for breach of contract, you all have the required… (read more)

comment by: martin H ( Lancashire ), 14 August 2018
 
1/5   eye injury   29 July 2018

Reviewed By: duffy, Recommend:

My dog had an eye injury 2 years ago couldnt have been happier that they paid out so quickly.now this year he has injured the other eye but they have added a new clause to my renewal stating they would not cover any more eye injuries. my vet even contacted them to explain the injuries were totally different. Now my dog has to have his eye removed , lost all respect for this insurance company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Oh dear what terrible reviews, will go elesewhere   23 July 2018

Reviewed By: Oldmoo, Recommend:

I have dog insurance with this Busisness and am up for renewal in August, After reading this lot I will not bother, really is a serious matter if they don't settle claims fairly and in a timely manner. I would urge anyone who has a genuine claim though, and is not paid out to definitely ask the Financial Ombudsamn Service to review your claim. The complaints are and will be logged (if upheld) with Financial Conduct Authority who will investigate the Business if they are operating infaily and can remove their license to offer insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!   20 July 2018

Reviewed By: Matthews, Recommend:

My dog had a leg issue and animal friends claim that his condition started before the first 14 days of the policy, which it didn't! This has meant that they have excluded all cover on anything to do with his legs in the future!! They have also made every excuse not to pay out. Absolutely ridiculous company!!! Hoping to get some sort of refund on my annual payment to help pay the vets fees!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE GUYS !!   20 July 2018

Reviewed By: martyn matthews, Recommend:

I have been with these guys with 3 pets for 7 years , they refused to pay a £900 claim as it was outside the 90 days claims policy , I cancelled the contracts in rage then tried to reinstate them as the dog is 13 , they point blank refused .PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPNAY AS IT IS ALL ABOUT SAVING THEMSELVES MONMEY AND THEY WILL DO WHATEVER THEY NEED TO USING TERMS NOT TO PAY !!! PLEASE BE AWARE !!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor   2 July 2018

Reviewed By: Miss Lewis , Recommend:

I had my dog insured with this company, first time to claim and I got a paltry £600 from the £2000 vets bill. Unfortunately my dog didn't make it and I wasn't in the right frame of mind to dispute it. It's like they take advantage of the vulnerable at a time in need. All they were concerned with was why my now deceased dog had been muzzled at the vet 4 years previously. Absolutely terrible keep away from them. If I ever have another dog I won't be paying for insurance, I'll open a savings account and keep that should I need it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad insurance animal friends   2 July 2018

Reviewed By: Jean , Recommend: N

I am in a bad way just claimed for my cat she was only 19months old,I took out a high rate of cove from animal friend,with cover of £1000,my cat was hit bu a car and we buried her in garden,we did not have a recite for her biuying her ,and they can ask for a postmortem .any way after all the deductions of the £1000 I will get £25. How disgusting is that ,my daughter in law ,lost he cat two weeks ago she was with animal friend and she got nothing.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 With any policy with any insurer you're only ever covered for the purchase price of the animal, less deductions for their age if over 5 years (eg. you'd get 70% of the purchase price if they died aged 6).

comment by: Bianca, 22 October 2018
 
1/5   SHOCKING COMPANY   26 June 2018

Reviewed By: DCR, Recommend:

IF THERE IS A WAY , NOT TO PAY THEY WILL FIND IT. IRESPECTIVE OF THE DETAILS ON YOUR POLICY SCHEDULE. WHY I DID NOT STUDY REVIEWS , SADLY I HAVE LIVED TO REGRET IT, MY DOG PASSED AWAY AND ON SUBMITTING A CLAIM THEY HAVE CAME BACK WITH SO MANY ITEMS ON THE VETS BILL THEY WILL NOT COVER, ABSOLUTLEY DISGUSTING

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling company - avoid at all costs   23 June 2018

Reviewed By: Ruby, Recommend:

Absolutely appalling service from this company. Despite my vet saying that a previous injury was not related to my dog's current diagnosis of osteoarthritis they have refused to pay up, saying that the condition was present over 365 days ago. It clearly was a separate condition as stated by my vet. Avoid this company at all costs

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 TOTALLY AGREE THIS COMPANY IS DISGUSTING SO MANY EXCLUSIONS AND EXCUSES NOT TO PAY CLAIMS IN FULL, IGNORE VETS, DIAGNOSIS , STAFF ARE UNCARING,

comment by: DROB, 26 June 2018
 
2/5   Abrupt and unhelpful   17 June 2018

Reviewed By: Mrs Hall, Recommend:

They took EIGHT WEEKS to settle my claim they used every trick in the book to wriggle out of it saying they hadnít received the claim form when I spoke on the phone they just said they didnít know how long I would have to wait for cheque then it arrived in post next day so they must have known theyíd sent it,it was ages coming though.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible - do not use   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: Ronnie Fearn, Recommend:

My dog was insured by Animal Friends. He developed a leg issue whilst under their policy. They decided to disallow a genuine claim based on a technical issue and then went even further and advised that they would also exclude the condition from any further coverage. Terrible company with no compassion or intention to assist. Clearly just making money with no focus on pet care. Could have lived with the first issue - but then to decide to disallow a genuine condition because they now know about it - cold and money focused.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   poor company   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: M Tetley, Recommend:

Trying to make a claim with Animal Friends is like trying to fight your way through treacle. keep away from them glad to take your money but not give it back when claiming. Five years with them our dig needed an operation on his paw whilst on holiday in France First time with the French Vet and Animal Fiends want a full history even though the Vet gave a full history of the operation and treatment in English

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   poor company   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: M Tetley, Recommend:

Trying to make a claim with Animal Friends is like trying to fight your way through treacle. keep away from them glad to take your money but not give it back when claiming. Five years with them our dig needed an operation on his paw whilst on holiday in France First time with the French Vet and Animal Fiends want a full history even though the Vet gave a full history of the operation and treatment in English

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely useless.   7 June 2018

Reviewed By: Linda Bora, Recommend:

I have been with Animal Friends for 2 and a half years. and have a 10 year old Bulldog who has been on medication for arthritis for between 1 and 2 years but could walk for a couple of miles. I didn't claim anything for the medication. When I went to the vets because his condition had worsened and the vet said his joints on his back right leg had become so bad they had fused and recommended hydrotherapy for exercise and strengthening his muscles. When I ran Animal friends to enquire if he would be covered for Arthritis they said he wouldn't because he's had arthritis for over a year and the policy only covered conditions for 365 day period and because he had arthritis prior to the worsening of his condition, he wouldn't be covered. I will cancel once I make sure they are not deceiving me!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't bother with this company   4 June 2018

Reviewed By: JAN, Recommend:

Appalling, so many clauses, they will do all they absolutely can not to pay out, do not waste your money here, you'd be better off doing research elsewhere or putting money aside each month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   morally corrupt and the opposite of Animal Friends   29 May 2018

Reviewed By: Karen, Recommend:

Been with this company for decades now, and have so many incidences where they have actively twisted things the vet said in order not to pay. Totally unethical - happy to take our money but not happy to pay up. This endangers pets's lives - if you want peace of mind go with a company that behaves ethically and do look around on the web there are so many cases of similar bad practice against this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid: Twisters   25 May 2018

Reviewed By: Richard, Recommend:

I won't bore you with the details but they will find any excuse possible not to pay out. Perhaps all insurers are the same but Animal Friends made me jump through all sorts of hoops to provide them with information before declining to pay the claim based on something completely unrelated. Just make sure you read the policy documents thoroughly as it's full of loopholes for these twisters to wriggle through. Avoid!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Pleasantly surprisef   22 May 2018

Reviewed By: Poppy, Recommend:

After my dog had an accident , the vets asked who I was insured with, I said animal friends, which I received disapproving looks. Worried I was! After my vet took near in 3 weeks to fill my claim form, I wasnít expecting much from animal friends either. To my surprise text ( without chasing ) saying claim form received. 6 days later email ( again without chasing) saying claim had been paid in full. So canít always judge by reviews, sometime companies read the reviews & improve . I have to say pleasantly surprised and impressed

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   10 May 2018

Reviewed By: Paula Bretherton , Recommend:

I chose Animal Friends because of reviews , however Iím sorry I did When I joined I told them my dog had a history of uninary infections. My poor dog who is 15 years old now seems to have bladder cancer and when she urinates she passes blood. Itís cost over £1000 to finally see the tumour in a scan which the vet is 99 percent sure is cancer. Animal Friends are refusing to pay out saying she could have had this cancer all her life which caused the infections before we joined. They want to know 100 percent itís cancer but putting my dog through adangerous investigations could kill her due to her age. Itís stupid Iím sure I would have noticed the blood years ago if she had it all her life and at 15 Iím sure if she had this cancer as they say she would have passed away long before now. The vets are trying to fight my cause and they have told me Animal Friends are always the same, so it seems Iím not the only one. Please think twice before you join!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't Bother   3 May 2018

Reviewed By: K Raven, Recommend: N

You are better investing a sum every month instead of paying pet insurance all they do is shove the premiums up and then exclude everything all of them are a waste of cash

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   20 April 2018

Reviewed By: tina, Recommend:

I can only endorse all the bad reviews here. They have even gone to the length of alleging the claim form took 16 days to reach them and is therefore out of date so they don't have to pay out. We are also taking them to the ombudsman or the small claims court. The latter will take up more of their time and in order to try and get them to improve, that might be the best approach. we have cancelled our policy. would never use them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs. Any excuse not to pay out.   14 April 2018

Reviewed By: A. McGeddon, Recommend:

Paid the premiums and when our cat died of cancer they would not pay out as they said it was a pre existing condition although the first we knew about it was when the vet diagnosed it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 couldnt agree more. we submitted a claim and they allege it took 16 days to reach them by which time it was 2 days out of time (90 day rule). I have cancelled the policy. i have lodged a complaint and will take the matter to the ombudsman or the small claims court. You should too. Your vet records will show that your cat has not be diagnosed with anything and they will have to pay out. So sorry for your loss though.This is the last thing you need.

comment by: tina, 20 April 2018
 
  Add your own review


Review Animal Friends pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 5 + 4 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016