pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Animal Friends pet insurance

No. 1 The Crescent
Sun Rise Way
Amesbury
Wiltshire
SP4 7QA

phone: 0344 557 0300
website: https://www.animalfriends.co.uk/

Offer dog, cat and horse insurance. Have a same day claims system for quick claims approval and simple admin. process. Offer Accident Only, Time Limited, Maximum Benefit and Lifetime Cover policies.

User Rating
1.7
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Animal Friends pet insurance

1/5   Animal Friends - is that supposed to be ironic?   31 August 2018

Reviewed By: Angela Bilsby, Recommend:

Animal Friends - is that supposed to be ironic? My ten year old Viszla Lola recently underwent life-saving surgery to remove tumours from her intestine and spleen. It cost £3,500. My only comfort was that we were insured with 'animal friends'. That was naive. It turns out that because she had diarrhoea in 2008 (with hindsight, normal puppy stuff) and gastro-enteritis in 2009, that there is an exclusion on her policy relating to 'digestive system'. I naively assumed that this meant further diarrhoea or gastro-enteritis. How very naive. Apparently it covers any condition relating to everything from the oesophagus to the anus, including the spleen (I had no idea this had any function in digestion!!!). I've of course spoken with them. They feel the exclusion is entirely justified. So we get to pay the £3,500 ourselves. Either that or we should have let her die. So not really 'animal friends' after all then. If you are unfortunate enough to be insured with these people, check your exclusions - every year. Ask for extensive details, I suspect you'll be surprised how little cover they provide for you yet how much they cover themselves. I've now asked for a list of conditions our policy will cover - I suspect it will be much shorter than the list of exclusions. Alternatively, just go elsewhere. Petplan, whilst more expensive, were far better. My vet groaned when I said who we were insured with. I now know why.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Many clauses to limit claim amount they pay   31 August 2018

Reviewed By: Rob L, Recommend: N

Just had a claim amount paid and although I have been with Animal Friends for years, continually, I had a claim marked down and split into 2 years due to treatment dates. I have no control over when my pet is ill, dates or treatment, nor when the vet submits my claim. Animal Friends split my claim into 2 because some treatment dates were in the previous year. This way they they meant that they could process with 2 policy excesses. The actual amount I lost was only about £15, but could have been £100. Dirty, disgusting, back-handed tactics to limit their liability. I'm sure that they are not the only ones, but I have one claim, for one treatment and I expect more from a company that has happily taken my money, and loyalty for a good few years.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware this company has the following get out clau   16 August 2018

Reviewed By: Thomas Rowe, Recommend:

Beware this company has the following get out clause which means you may not get paid your full claim. 1.2 Specific Conditions 1.2.1 Level of vet fees allowed: We reserve the right to obtain a second opinion from our vet advisor where we consider: ē Vet fees charged appear greater than conventional fees charged by an attending referral practice; and/or ē Treatment received may not have been required or may have been excessive when compared with treatment conventionally undertaken by an attending referral practice. There is a total lack of transparency on what limits are being applied and furthermore the limits are decided by a veterinary advisor in Animal Friends employment, which means that the amounts are biased in their favour. This not acting in the customerís best interests who may end up paying more in the course of Veterinary Treatment for their Pet, as in my case. My Dog Tzu-Chi was referred to the Royal Veterinary College Queen Mother Hospital for Sick Animals by Foxgrove MediVet as they were unable to diagnose what was the underlying cause of his life threatening and eventually ending Breathing Difficulties. Because his condition was life threatening and also an out of hours emergency where veterinary costs are much higher, and due to the fact he was looked after in an Intensive Care Unit where costs would again be much higher. I strongly believe that the costs incurred to treat him were fully justifiable and due to the intensive level of care he was receiving, would have been much higher than the limits for treatment being unfairly applied by the Animal Friends Veterinary Advisor. I will be referring the matter to the Financial Ombudsman.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful insurance company   10 August 2018

Reviewed By: 1, Recommend:

What an awful company got in touch with them as we put a claim in for our dog they said they hadnít received it we checked with the vets and they said the forms were completed and sent the lady on the phone then told me it would be pointless in claiming as with the excess and also the /20% deduction for her age of 10 years something we did not know it would be pointless I have now also sent 2 emails as to which they guarantee to get back to you in 2 days and never have all I would say to people is check your policy thoroughly when renewing as they put added clauses in and donít make you aware of changes

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   eye injury   29 July 2018

Reviewed By: duffy, Recommend:

My dog had an eye injury 2 years ago couldnt have been happier that they paid out so quickly.now this year he has injured the other eye but they have added a new clause to my renewal stating they would not cover any more eye injuries. my vet even contacted them to explain the injuries were totally different. Now my dog has to have his eye removed , lost all respect for this insurance company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Oh dear what terrible reviews, will go elesewhere   23 July 2018

Reviewed By: Oldmoo, Recommend:

I have dog insurance with this Busisness and am up for renewal in August, After reading this lot I will not bother, really is a serious matter if they don't settle claims fairly and in a timely manner. I would urge anyone who has a genuine claim though, and is not paid out to definitely ask the Financial Ombudsamn Service to review your claim. The complaints are and will be logged (if upheld) with Financial Conduct Authority who will investigate the Business if they are operating infaily and can remove their license to offer insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!   20 July 2018

Reviewed By: Matthews, Recommend:

My dog had a leg issue and animal friends claim that his condition started before the first 14 days of the policy, which it didn't! This has meant that they have excluded all cover on anything to do with his legs in the future!! They have also made every excuse not to pay out. Absolutely ridiculous company!!! Hoping to get some sort of refund on my annual payment to help pay the vets fees!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE GUYS !!   20 July 2018

Reviewed By: martyn matthews, Recommend:

I have been with these guys with 3 pets for 7 years , they refused to pay a £900 claim as it was outside the 90 days claims policy , I cancelled the contracts in rage then tried to reinstate them as the dog is 13 , they point blank refused .PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPNAY AS IT IS ALL ABOUT SAVING THEMSELVES MONMEY AND THEY WILL DO WHATEVER THEY NEED TO USING TERMS NOT TO PAY !!! PLEASE BE AWARE !!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor   2 July 2018

Reviewed By: Miss Lewis , Recommend:

I had my dog insured with this company, first time to claim and I got a paltry £600 from the £2000 vets bill. Unfortunately my dog didn't make it and I wasn't in the right frame of mind to dispute it. It's like they take advantage of the vulnerable at a time in need. All they were concerned with was why my now deceased dog had been muzzled at the vet 4 years previously. Absolutely terrible keep away from them. If I ever have another dog I won't be paying for insurance, I'll open a savings account and keep that should I need it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad insurance animal friends   2 July 2018

Reviewed By: Jean , Recommend: N

I am in a bad way just claimed for my cat she was only 19months old,I took out a high rate of cove from animal friend,with cover of £1000,my cat was hit bu a car and we buried her in garden,we did not have a recite for her biuying her ,and they can ask for a postmortem .any way after all the deductions of the £1000 I will get £25. How disgusting is that ,my daughter in law ,lost he cat two weeks ago she was with animal friend and she got nothing.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   SHOCKING COMPANY   26 June 2018

Reviewed By: DCR, Recommend:

IF THERE IS A WAY , NOT TO PAY THEY WILL FIND IT. IRESPECTIVE OF THE DETAILS ON YOUR POLICY SCHEDULE. WHY I DID NOT STUDY REVIEWS , SADLY I HAVE LIVED TO REGRET IT, MY DOG PASSED AWAY AND ON SUBMITTING A CLAIM THEY HAVE CAME BACK WITH SO MANY ITEMS ON THE VETS BILL THEY WILL NOT COVER, ABSOLUTLEY DISGUSTING

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling company - avoid at all costs   23 June 2018

Reviewed By: Ruby, Recommend:

Absolutely appalling service from this company. Despite my vet saying that a previous injury was not related to my dog's current diagnosis of osteoarthritis they have refused to pay up, saying that the condition was present over 365 days ago. It clearly was a separate condition as stated by my vet. Avoid this company at all costs

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 TOTALLY AGREE THIS COMPANY IS DISGUSTING SO MANY EXCLUSIONS AND EXCUSES NOT TO PAY CLAIMS IN FULL, IGNORE VETS, DIAGNOSIS , STAFF ARE UNCARING,

comment by: DROB, 26 June 2018
 
2/5   Abrupt and unhelpful   17 June 2018

Reviewed By: Mrs Hall, Recommend:

They took EIGHT WEEKS to settle my claim they used every trick in the book to wriggle out of it saying they hadnít received the claim form when I spoke on the phone they just said they didnít know how long I would have to wait for cheque then it arrived in post next day so they must have known theyíd sent it,it was ages coming though.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible - do not use   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: Ronnie Fearn, Recommend:

My dog was insured by Animal Friends. He developed a leg issue whilst under their policy. They decided to disallow a genuine claim based on a technical issue and then went even further and advised that they would also exclude the condition from any further coverage. Terrible company with no compassion or intention to assist. Clearly just making money with no focus on pet care. Could have lived with the first issue - but then to decide to disallow a genuine condition because they now know about it - cold and money focused.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   poor company   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: M Tetley, Recommend:

Trying to make a claim with Animal Friends is like trying to fight your way through treacle. keep away from them glad to take your money but not give it back when claiming. Five years with them our dig needed an operation on his paw whilst on holiday in France First time with the French Vet and Animal Fiends want a full history even though the Vet gave a full history of the operation and treatment in English

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   poor company   16 June 2018

Reviewed By: M Tetley, Recommend:

Trying to make a claim with Animal Friends is like trying to fight your way through treacle. keep away from them glad to take your money but not give it back when claiming. Five years with them our dig needed an operation on his paw whilst on holiday in France First time with the French Vet and Animal Fiends want a full history even though the Vet gave a full history of the operation and treatment in English

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely useless.   7 June 2018

Reviewed By: Linda Bora, Recommend:

I have been with Animal Friends for 2 and a half years. and have a 10 year old Bulldog who has been on medication for arthritis for between 1 and 2 years but could walk for a couple of miles. I didn't claim anything for the medication. When I went to the vets because his condition had worsened and the vet said his joints on his back right leg had become so bad they had fused and recommended hydrotherapy for exercise and strengthening his muscles. When I ran Animal friends to enquire if he would be covered for Arthritis they said he wouldn't because he's had arthritis for over a year and the policy only covered conditions for 365 day period and because he had arthritis prior to the worsening of his condition, he wouldn't be covered. I will cancel once I make sure they are not deceiving me!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't bother with this company   4 June 2018

Reviewed By: JAN, Recommend:

Appalling, so many clauses, they will do all they absolutely can not to pay out, do not waste your money here, you'd be better off doing research elsewhere or putting money aside each month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   morally corrupt and the opposite of Animal Friends   29 May 2018

Reviewed By: Karen, Recommend:

Been with this company for decades now, and have so many incidences where they have actively twisted things the vet said in order not to pay. Totally unethical - happy to take our money but not happy to pay up. This endangers pets's lives - if you want peace of mind go with a company that behaves ethically and do look around on the web there are so many cases of similar bad practice against this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid: Twisters   25 May 2018

Reviewed By: Richard, Recommend:

I won't bore you with the details but they will find any excuse possible not to pay out. Perhaps all insurers are the same but Animal Friends made me jump through all sorts of hoops to provide them with information before declining to pay the claim based on something completely unrelated. Just make sure you read the policy documents thoroughly as it's full of loopholes for these twisters to wriggle through. Avoid!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Pleasantly surprisef   22 May 2018

Reviewed By: Poppy, Recommend:

After my dog had an accident , the vets asked who I was insured with, I said animal friends, which I received disapproving looks. Worried I was! After my vet took near in 3 weeks to fill my claim form, I wasnít expecting much from animal friends either. To my surprise text ( without chasing ) saying claim form received. 6 days later email ( again without chasing) saying claim had been paid in full. So canít always judge by reviews, sometime companies read the reviews & improve . I have to say pleasantly surprised and impressed

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   10 May 2018

Reviewed By: Paula Bretherton , Recommend:

I chose Animal Friends because of reviews , however Iím sorry I did When I joined I told them my dog had a history of uninary infections. My poor dog who is 15 years old now seems to have bladder cancer and when she urinates she passes blood. Itís cost over £1000 to finally see the tumour in a scan which the vet is 99 percent sure is cancer. Animal Friends are refusing to pay out saying she could have had this cancer all her life which caused the infections before we joined. They want to know 100 percent itís cancer but putting my dog through adangerous investigations could kill her due to her age. Itís stupid Iím sure I would have noticed the blood years ago if she had it all her life and at 15 Iím sure if she had this cancer as they say she would have passed away long before now. The vets are trying to fight my cause and they have told me Animal Friends are always the same, so it seems Iím not the only one. Please think twice before you join!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't Bother   3 May 2018

Reviewed By: K Raven, Recommend: N

You are better investing a sum every month instead of paying pet insurance all they do is shove the premiums up and then exclude everything all of them are a waste of cash

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   20 April 2018

Reviewed By: tina, Recommend:

I can only endorse all the bad reviews here. They have even gone to the length of alleging the claim form took 16 days to reach them and is therefore out of date so they don't have to pay out. We are also taking them to the ombudsman or the small claims court. The latter will take up more of their time and in order to try and get them to improve, that might be the best approach. we have cancelled our policy. would never use them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs. Any excuse not to pay out.   14 April 2018

Reviewed By: A. McGeddon, Recommend:

Paid the premiums and when our cat died of cancer they would not pay out as they said it was a pre existing condition although the first we knew about it was when the vet diagnosed it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 couldnt agree more. we submitted a claim and they allege it took 16 days to reach them by which time it was 2 days out of time (90 day rule). I have cancelled the policy. i have lodged a complaint and will take the matter to the ombudsman or the small claims court. You should too. Your vet records will show that your cat has not be diagnosed with anything and they will have to pay out. So sorry for your loss though.This is the last thing you need.

comment by: tina, 20 April 2018
 
1/5   waste of money   12 April 2018

Reviewed By: alf, Recommend:

Dog went to vets 2016 picked up slight heart murmur didn't even tell us about it 2 years later they won't pay out saying it's an existing condition garbage .Never pay pet insurance just set up a standing order and use the cash to pay vets bills.Insurers are the biggest scam merchants going

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Non payment of vet bills   11 April 2018

Reviewed By: Andrea Pullan, Recommend:

Cut a long story short 1 puppy 1 2 year old dog puppy started a fight with older dog. Puppy went to vets and I had to give her back to rspca cause of the fight she had with my other dog. Animal Friends wonít pay bills because they say itís a behaviour problem.....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Delighted   5 April 2018

Reviewed By: Melissa Bassil, Recommend:

I cannot understand the negative comments here. We took out a Lifetime policy for our cat when she was 6 years old. The following year she developed a skin condition which turned out to be the result of an allergy to human hair and dander (basically, our cat was allergic to people!). She was initially put on steroids but as she put on 2 kilos in 5 days she had to come off them. She needed an ultrasound scan to ensure the weight wasn't due to kidney problems and she needed to go on to a quite expensive medication which she needed daily for the rest of her life. Put in the first claim at 4pm Monday afternoon through the Pawtal system at the vet. Claim was accepted and paid by 10:00 am Tuesday! Every subsequent claim was accepted and dealt with just as quickly. As it was a lifelong condition we expected the premium to go up on renewal, which it did, but only by a small amount and a subsequent 20% co-pay on claims relating to that condition. As the insurance including the co-pay still worked out far cheaper than paying for the meds we were very happy to renew the policy. When our cat died after being hit by a car Animal Friends sent us a lovely condolence card. I would happily recommend this insurer and I know of many other cat owners who have said the same.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful - AVOID   3 April 2018

Reviewed By: Kay, Recommend:

Really awful insurers, used for the last 2 years and when it came to needing to claim they refused on a technicality. Ultimately it was their discretion to accept or not. When I told my vet about it they were shocked as well! I feel totally let down and have moved my business elsewhere!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs   27 March 2018

Reviewed By: L Jones , Recommend:

Do not insure your pet with this bunch of cowboys - they wonít pay out and judging by these reviews on this page , Iím not the only one theyíve ripped off !!! Ombudsman now being involved !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I am so shocked at the bad reviews on here about this awful company, I put a review on here two weeks ago they have treated me so badly my dog has now died I have been in an awful state they will not pay out my claim the one and only time I have claimed and my review has been taken down I am now dealing with the Ombudsman something needs to be done about this company, I have also written to the Daily Mail

comment by: Sue Parsons, 3 April 2018
 
1/5   Stay Away   20 March 2018

Reviewed By: Daren Moore, Recommend:

Terrible insurance company. Refused a recent claim on a technicality and it wasnt even a massive amount. Switched from Tesco last year and really wish I hadn't now. Cheapest is definitely not the best. Stay Away!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Animal Friends pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 0 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016