pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Animal Friends pet insurance

No. 1 The Crescent
Sun Rise Way
Amesbury
Wiltshire
SP4 7QA

phone: 0344 557 0300
website: http://www.animalfriends.co.uk/

One of the most popular pet insurance providers in the UK. Offers seven different plans.

User Rating
1.7
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Animal Friends pet insurance

1/5   Terrible   20 April 2018

Reviewed By: tina, Recommend:

I can only endorse all the bad reviews here. They have even gone to the length of alleging the claim form took 16 days to reach them and is therefore out of date so they don't have to pay out. We are also taking them to the ombudsman or the small claims court. The latter will take up more of their time and in order to try and get them to improve, that might be the best approach. we have cancelled our policy. would never use them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs. Any excuse not to pay out.   14 April 2018

Reviewed By: A. McGeddon, Recommend:

Paid the premiums and when our cat died of cancer they would not pay out as they said it was a pre existing condition although the first we knew about it was when the vet diagnosed it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 couldnt agree more. we submitted a claim and they allege it took 16 days to reach them by which time it was 2 days out of time (90 day rule). I have cancelled the policy. i have lodged a complaint and will take the matter to the ombudsman or the small claims court. You should too. Your vet records will show that your cat has not be diagnosed with anything and they will have to pay out. So sorry for your loss though.This is the last thing you need.

comment by: tina, 20 April 2018
 
1/5   waste of money   12 April 2018

Reviewed By: alf, Recommend:

Dog went to vets 2016 picked up slight heart murmur didn't even tell us about it 2 years later they won't pay out saying it's an existing condition garbage .Never pay pet insurance just set up a standing order and use the cash to pay vets bills.Insurers are the biggest scam merchants going

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Non payment of vet bills   11 April 2018

Reviewed By: Andrea Pullan, Recommend:

Cut a long story short 1 puppy 1 2 year old dog puppy started a fight with older dog. Puppy went to vets and I had to give her back to rspca cause of the fight she had with my other dog. Animal Friends won’t pay bills because they say it’s a behaviour problem.....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Delighted   5 April 2018

Reviewed By: Melissa Bassil, Recommend:

I cannot understand the negative comments here. We took out a Lifetime policy for our cat when she was 6 years old. The following year she developed a skin condition which turned out to be the result of an allergy to human hair and dander (basically, our cat was allergic to people!). She was initially put on steroids but as she put on 2 kilos in 5 days she had to come off them. She needed an ultrasound scan to ensure the weight wasn't due to kidney problems and she needed to go on to a quite expensive medication which she needed daily for the rest of her life. Put in the first claim at 4pm Monday afternoon through the Pawtal system at the vet. Claim was accepted and paid by 10:00 am Tuesday! Every subsequent claim was accepted and dealt with just as quickly. As it was a lifelong condition we expected the premium to go up on renewal, which it did, but only by a small amount and a subsequent 20% co-pay on claims relating to that condition. As the insurance including the co-pay still worked out far cheaper than paying for the meds we were very happy to renew the policy. When our cat died after being hit by a car Animal Friends sent us a lovely condolence card. I would happily recommend this insurer and I know of many other cat owners who have said the same.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful - AVOID   3 April 2018

Reviewed By: Kay, Recommend:

Really awful insurers, used for the last 2 years and when it came to needing to claim they refused on a technicality. Ultimately it was their discretion to accept or not. When I told my vet about it they were shocked as well! I feel totally let down and have moved my business elsewhere!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs   27 March 2018

Reviewed By: L Jones , Recommend:

Do not insure your pet with this bunch of cowboys - they won’t pay out and judging by these reviews on this page , I’m not the only one they’ve ripped off !!! Ombudsman now being involved !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I am so shocked at the bad reviews on here about this awful company, I put a review on here two weeks ago they have treated me so badly my dog has now died I have been in an awful state they will not pay out my claim the one and only time I have claimed and my review has been taken down I am now dealing with the Ombudsman something needs to be done about this company, I have also written to the Daily Mail

comment by: Sue Parsons, 3 April 2018
 
1/5   Stay Away   20 March 2018

Reviewed By: Daren Moore, Recommend:

Terrible insurance company. Refused a recent claim on a technicality and it wasnt even a massive amount. Switched from Tesco last year and really wish I hadn't now. Cheapest is definitely not the best. Stay Away!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible company. Stay away.   15 March 2018

Reviewed By: Linda, Recommend:

Awful company. Stay away. Cheapest not always best. They will try to avoid settling your claim at any cost.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Liers   14 March 2018

Reviewed By: Debbie, Recommend:

WARNING, STAY AWAY FROM ANIMAL FRIENDS... Where do I start.. I took animal friends out when my dog was a puppy because they sounded good and cheap, but then I needed to make a small claim And they wouldn't pay because apparently I only had basic cover (fair enough) so on the phone their and then I asked for insurance to cover everything for life, I stressed that I needed life cover, so she gave me a quote, much more expensive than befor ( as expected) which I agreed to pay and their n then new policy started. 4 years later my dog had a blockage in his intestines and needed surgery, which they did pay ok, but then a year later a similar situation happened but this time they refused to pay saying that I couldnt claim on any intestines surgery again.. Would never use again, and am now with a new insurance company that will luckily take on any new intestinal surgery ever needed..

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful   4 March 2018

Reviewed By: Katie Breed, Recommend:

Very unhappy with this firm - they will do everything possible to avoid paying out. Their communication is slow and inefficient and the tone of their letters patronizing and unfriendly. They really do seem to delight in finding reasons not to pay - really upsetting at a time when pet owners are already distressed by their pets ill-health. Premium rise annually even if there have been no claims - would avoid and go with a more reputable company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   Were OK with me   27 February 2018

Reviewed By: Paul, Recommend:

Our dog was insured with AF for several years but had a bad year with a troublesome paw infection and needed a stay at the vets with pancreatitis. Although it was difficult to check (their statements group stuff together in a way I still don't understand) they paid out what was due and pretty quickly. I think it helps if your vet's admin staff are on the ball. However, since he's nine now, they have doubled the premium if we want to renew so it's not all good.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Thieves   27 February 2018

Reviewed By: Henry, Recommend:

This company pull on the heart strings of pet owners, and then when it comes to the vital period, where they should be supporting you, they end up refusing to pay out based on some legal technicality which is a long stretch from responsible, ethical or "friendly". Insurance companies are there to help you through the hard times (that is why we pay them so much money), and when they refuse to support you based on a stupid contractual technicality (because they can afford bigger fancier lawyers than you), then they don't deserve your custom, or anyone elses at that! Not to mention that fact that they weren't in a rush to do anything, which is really quite important when you are watching your pets vet bill rack up by the hour!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Ridiculous rules   14 February 2018

Reviewed By: Suzanne , Recommend:

I have just tried to increase my dogs cover to life time as it was a good price but I was told that all digestive tract problems would have to be excluded from the policy because he had 1 episode of gastroenteritis 4 years ago!!!! No actual treatment needed and no residual side effects! This is a ridiculous rule that applies no common sense, I will be cancelling my existing policy and finding new insurance!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Not good   25 January 2018

Reviewed By: Mrs Thompson , Recommend: N

Any excuse not to pay out .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Never insure with them   19 January 2018

Reviewed By: Adam savage, Recommend:

Do not use them. Been insured for 8 years never made a claim. Until now and they are not paying out. They haven’t even spoke to the vet dealing with dog. The company is a joke!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   trying everything to avoid paying small vet fee   14 January 2018

Reviewed By: moodiemare, Recommend:

I'm trying to claim £400 vets fees less £99 excess, they have repeatedly asked same questions even though answers on claim form, have dealt with 4 different claims assistants who lack basic animal knowledge. They are trying to find/make up previous history although there isn't any and now inventing reasons for why they shouldn't pay (dog was in a fight which caused injury!!!!). Avoid like the plague never experienced such a terrible company. Complete con.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Yes, they wouldn’t pay out on my one & only claim, any excuse to get out of paying, wish I’d seen your review before.

comment by: Mrs Thompson , 25 January 2018
 
1/5   Any excuse not to pay out!   13 January 2018

Reviewed By: Natalie, Recommend:

Put a claim in for my cat, was told I couldn't claim as he had once vomited two years ago, so that meant it was a continuing condition. I explained it was a separate incident, we found out the incident two years ago was a hairball and this incident was stress related, but they dug their heels in. Not the first time this has happened, my parents got a number of different reasons they wouldn't help with the cost of our dog's medication, none of which were legitimate. They don't listen, I had to explain myself across three different people who kept ignoring my points and just stating 'it's policy'. Avoid!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Robbing company and a waste of time   11 January 2018

Reviewed By: Leah, Recommend:

I have been paying in to animal friends for all of my dogs life and she turns nine in May this year, last week my dog needed a minor operation to remove a growth on her arm that had started as a tiny skin tag about a year and a half ago. The operation cost 300 pounds but when it came to claiming this animal friends said that because the skin tag appeared two years ago that was when I was on my old cover and because I updated my cover it had to be within 365 of my new cover??? Bare in mind they phoned me up when I was in work one day and encouraged me to update my cover, now I wish I hadn't. I explained that 2 years ago it was a small skin tag and was not a problem, now because it has grown into a larger growth it has become a problem, I questioned why they couldn't cover this when I have been paying in to them for years and they told me it doesn't matter how long I've paid in to it, it had to be within the 365 which I still don't understand. I've cancelled my policy and feel really let down and robbed, I am seeking a better more reliable company. This company should be shut down it is just taking people's money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not use. Any excuse not to pay.   12 December 2017

Reviewed By: Patricia Young, Recommend:

Our little JR is almost 5 years old, he is a Spanish rescue, we brought him back from Spain in 2016 when he was 3, he was insured in Spain through a Spanish company. He recently damaged his tail and was treated for this injury for 4 weeks, in total the cost was just over £150, I have a £99 excess, my vet filed the claim on my behalf but they have refused to pay as I cannot provide his history from the Spanish vets. I have now cancelled my policy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Interesting, with so many dogs being adopted from abroad, as mine is, I think I will now phone Animal Friends and see if they have a policy on this subject.

comment by: Eve, 2 January 2018
 
1/5   Disgusted   8 December 2017

Reviewed By: D kane, Recommend:

Our 6 year old dog became very suddenly unwell and was referred to Fitzpatricks where a range of tests were undertaken and he spent a week there. He has an inflammatory condition of his brain and nervous system. his scans also picked up an abcess in his mouth it was recommended for him to have additional treatment. Which we knew would not be covered under the exclusions of the policy. However our £3500 claim has been refused as they are saying his illness a linked to the abscess, this is despite the registrar at Fitzpatricks arguing to the contrary that the two are not related. We have never made a claim before and have one of their more comprehensive policies.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE THEM   5 December 2017

Reviewed By: Anon, Recommend:

Can't say much as ongoing claim but I have £5000 bill refused for a bladder issue since dogs 1st season because she had a uti on 14th day of Policy. Get even disagrees they are thieving money or people left right and centre

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Advice Please??   24 November 2017

Reviewed By: Endurojay, Recommend:

Hi, I’ve unfortunatly just lost my pet in a tragic accident. I’m worried they won’t pay out on the insurance. If someone can give me advice how to complete the form that would be really helpful at this sad time? The details I’ve put are not correct, as I would t want to find out through this forum. Thank you!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Will penalise you for your dog getting older   22 November 2017

Reviewed By: Lolly, Recommend:

They are a scam. I haven't claimed yet my premium goes up each year. Time to move on.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   1   17 November 2017

Reviewed By: Anna, Recommend:

Declined our claim after years of paying . They made up the story about our dog’s pre existed condition.... whaaaat???? After two vets opinion still.... I am reporting them to ombudsman!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   One claim covered, others likely to be rejected.   16 November 2017

Reviewed By: Bill Hunt, Recommend:

I thought I’d update on my experience with the insurance company ‘Animal Friends’. I’ve had Tilly insured with them since I got her six years ago, paying the premiums every month. And a couple of weeks ago had to make my very first claim for an operation on her head. Following the operation, I’ve received this letter this morning: “Whilst assessing your claim we note that Tilly has been diagnosed with melanoma in June 2016” (she wasn’t). “As you have taken out a non-lifetime policy we are required to place an exclusion on your policy. This will take effect from the renewal following the onset date. “Excludes all cover on all claims with respect to Growths, Tumours and Cancers and resulting conditions with effect from 29 October 2016. “As you have taken out a non-lifetime policy we are required to place exclusions on your policy. This will take effect from your renewal date. “Excludes cover on all claims with respect to anything to do with Cellulitis that occurred on 7th September 2017 and Resulting Conditions with effect from 29th October 2017. “Excludes all cover on claims with respect to Cysts and Warts from 29th October 2017”. (She didn’t have a “cyst or wart”- I was with the vet while he made a note of that on his computer!)

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Will do anything not to pay out   15 November 2017

Reviewed By: Milly, Recommend:

Policy wording vague enough so they can avoid paying out for most things. Beware dental exclusion - means the won't pay for anything in the mouth area. Wouldn't pay for biopsies on lumps as said were first noticed a year earlier, even though weren't significant at that time.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgraceful avoid   6 November 2017

Reviewed By: Elwood, Recommend:

Avoid like the plague, been insured for over 6 years paying around £30 a month so had roughly £2000 Plus off me, put a claim in for ear infection for £230, but cos my dog went to vets on 18th sept then my policy renewed on 21st sept there charging 2 excess of £69 as it runs over 2 years insurance apparently, ( not the fact I’ve had continuous insurance with them for the past 6 years. Only paying out £100 absolutely disgusted and fuming.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Diabetes   2 November 2017

Reviewed By: JACK, Recommend:

My dog contracted diabetes ok till policy renewal cost of monthly payment went from £40 to £130 knowing full well I cannot insure anywhere else as it would be a pre existing condition friends of animals they are not AVOID

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very happy   18 October 2017

Reviewed By: Antonietta, Recommend:

I have been with Animal Friends for my former labrador and during the years all his ailments were paid for by the insurance. I have now a puppy which I immediately insured with them last May. About one month ago he had a problem with his rear leg. He had to have x rays and medication which all amounted to about 400 pounds. Submitted the claim and Animal Friends Insurance paid out within ten days the full amount minus the excess of £ 99.00 so I do not understand all these negative comments.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I guess you are one in a million. They have to make that one person lucky so she can write one positive comment. Lucky you

comment by: anonymous, 17 November 2017
 
1/5   poor   4 October 2017

Reviewed By: bentley, Recommend:

They invented a pre existing condition from 2 years ago and refused to pay out when he was euthenised. The 2 were about kidneys in that one was behavioral and the last one was failure. Very disappointed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Animal Friends pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016