pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Pet-insurance.co.uk

P.O. Box 100
York
YO26 9ZA

phone: 08449 809 144
website: http://www.pet-insurance.co.uk/

Two levels of cover: standard & lifetime.

Underwritten by Equine & Livestock Insurance Co. Ltd.

User Rating
1.9
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Pet-insurance.co.uk

1/5   Awful at paying!!!   13 February 2017

Reviewed By: Karen , Recommend:

This is the second time I have had to make a complaint at the time it takes for them to pay a claim. My dog was ill at the beginning of Dec and we are now mid Feb & still no payment. Also when they do pay, expect it to take another 5 days to "clear". It is truly appalling. I have tried to raise a complaint & even that is hard work. Vets will not deal with them directly & I now know why. Not worth the cheap initial premiums as they soon go up & their exclusions are also an issue.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   Not bad regardless of the bad reviews   9 February 2017

Reviewed By: Mr Millward, Recommend:

Hi all, cut a long story short our american bulldog puppy ate something she really shouldn't of a piece of rubber toy. It got lodged and needed 2000 surgery immediately. Filled the forms out with the vets did the surgery and after care then the vets sent the forms away for us to claim for the money. Payment was accepted promptly and i was informed via email, however i did get an email very quickly after it was paid out to say they wouldn't cover this again and have altered the policy (i thought lifetime cover was lifetime cover). The only niggle i had, they even rang me up and explained i was paying for some benefits i didn't need and it could bring my premiums down.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Reimbursement time period   30 September 2016

Reviewed By: Carl Bellamy , Recommend:

Absolutely avoid this company - they take so long to pay - it's a good job we had the money and are not desperate for it. I feel terribly sorry for people who have had to pay out and have to wait for their money to be reimbursed !! I called them 2 months after my dog had his op for an update and was told 'we are waiting for a manager to sign your claim off' , I called today 30/9/16 and was told 'money will be in your account 10-15 working days' , absolutely apauling customer service. Please people avoid this company - my dog over 10 have to pay 20% of claim and 150 excess!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I've had to change my vet. They point blank refuse to bill pet-insurance.co.uk/E&L directly because they're so slow to pay. I wrote a letter of complaint and was fobbed off with some rubbish about them upgrading their computers, but this has been their problem for years. They're cheap and act it. You won't be seeing any glowing Defacto high scores here. They also have the temerity to bill you by the 'Lunar Month' to make you think the drip payment is cheaper than it is as there are 13 Lunar… (read more)

comment by: Mike Shipway, 6 February 2017
 
 We had exactly the same problem. Claims started in August, monies paid end of October/November...1700 in total. We had savings for this feel very bad for people that wouldn't have this kind of money hanging around.

comment by: Joanne Oliver, 31 October 2016
 
 They have point blank refused to pay out for our cat, so we are taking them to the Financial Ombudsman. It's only now that we realise what a complete con this company is. We are now in debt because of them, and have no idea how we will pay should the problem with our moggy arise again. Avoid this company at all costs!!!

comment by: Jo, 22 October 2016
 
2/5   Annual premium renewal problems   10 August 2016

Reviewed By: Alfie, Recommend:

I would certainly not recommend this insurance company. Their renewal policy is very dubious. After my first year the premium increased from 14.43 to 17.89. However, the direct debit claimed from my account was 22.77. After a phone call to them I was told it was the 'optional extras' I had been charged for! No request from me was needed to include these. The very helpful lady then told me that she could offer me a special discount and reduce my premium to 14.67 per month for the same cover. Really? So one phone call reduces my direct debit from 22.77 to 14.67 for exactly the same insurance cover. Not sure I trust this company. Surely, they should be offering the very best policy, at the best price, without me having to complain first.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful Customer Service   29 June 2016

Reviewed By: Jules, Recommend:

I have a claim with this company for nearly 2 months for 2300 and am no further forward. They asked for more information and were given it the same day, two weeks later still chasing me, even when I sent their OWN email back to them confirming they had received the documents, they still denied having it! Since then I have been given the run around, my claim is an a queue, they have had a high influx of claim, my claim is with the assessor and so on. I am emailing and ringing almost daily and each time speak to another employee who spins yet another yarn. So today, (and this is the best part), I am told my claim is in the queue and will be dealt with in date order, in that, it has not been actioned...and then...I receive an email from them telling me they are changing the terms and conditions of my policy and back dating it to October 2013...I ask how is this possible if you have not started to review my claim...as of yet no response. Shocking to say the least, they get their own house in order and leave you high and dry.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Fallen at the first hurdle!   24 May 2016

Reviewed By: Dee, Recommend:

My First claim submitted for pet cat but because animal fell ill first of all with same issue within 14 days of me taking out policy they are refusing to assist. I feel that my integrity is being bought into question - cat was in perfect health at the time I took out policy in good faith and unfortunately I do not own a crystal ball so had no way of telling my pet would become ill within the first 14 days. First impressions? Typical insurance company - happy to take your money but will wriggle out of paying up. Considering alternative options as very disappointed with level of customer service from this company so far. Not even an offer to meet half way! Disgraceful....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   My puppy died and we were not helped at all   1 May 2016

Reviewed By: Cadel, Recommend: N

After all I had been threw this vile insurance company did not help at all! My puppy fell poorly on a Saturday night by Sunday at 1am she had passed away I was devistated, so as we had a 600 pound vet bill we called the insurers who after 10 weeks after my puppy died paid 80 pound out, I was told as my pup had died at a weekend they took 120 back by the time they had taken everything back 80 pound was given back to us, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't use these I went threw the heart break of loosing my puppy and then the insurance company been so unhelpful on the phone every single little thing they could do to not help us they would do, they fail to mention a lot of this on the phone and in the policy vile company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Ok insurer   20 April 2016

Reviewed By: Luke , Recommend:

They have been good for the last 5 years that I have made claims and keep my price at a reasonable price. but when they paid out for a claim and they should bonus but when I claim for a similar instance they refuse and left me with out cover. So now moving to a new provider as this wasn't helpful at all. Customer service is good and paying out claims either directly to the vet or to my self which helps massively.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Doubled My Premiums!   8 February 2016

Reviewed By: Andy, Recommend:

I have 3 policies with these for our 3 cats. I have renewed these and they have been taking more than double the agreed amount on each premium! I have NEVER agreed to or been advised of any amendment to my policy. When I contacted them to query it this is the response that I have received ;- Thank you for your recent e-mail. You have 3 upgrades on the policy, the first of which is called Policy Plus. Policy Plus gives a 5% no claims discount, a 10% reduction in your excess, a 5% over 50's discount, it increase Public Liability by 500,000. Legal Helpline gives you access to our in-house solicitor for any domestic legal advice and extends to 5,000 of legal advice in any one year. Premium Waiver provides full payment of the premium up to 1,000 or 12 months, whichever is reached first if you are Hospitalised for more than 7 days due to accident, unable to work for more than 7 days due to an accident, death due to accident, becoming unemployed or suffer total disablement. If you do not wish to retain these benefits, just let us know and we will remove them. Kind regards Ian XXXXXX Customer Contact Department

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I came on here to share exactly the same experience. What a scam. I suddenly noticed the huge amount going out of my bank to them - checked all my renewal documents, along with the direct debit forms, all of which stated the premiums I had agreed; yet they were taking what amounted to almost double. They have agreed to refund, but this practice of deception if not illegal should certainly be so !

comment by: Ali, 18 April 2016
 
1/5   Very bad company not recomended   21 September 2015

Reviewed By: Magic, Recommend:

This company is the typical insurance rip off. Start with a competative quote for young healthy dogs then year by year increase the premiums which are 28 day payments not calender monthly. When I needed to make a claim for my 12 year old labrador the excess had been increased from 129 to 244 plus 20% of treatment. Normally high excess means lower premiums this company expects both. Would never use again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Never ever use these !   10 September 2015

Reviewed By: M B artholomew, Recommend:

I really wish I had read this review page BEFORE I STARTED payments.It is the same old story. Pet Insurance.co.uk are doing their utmost to delay payment. Asking for information that they already have seems to be one of their delaying tactics. Another is saying that they treat everyone the same and that my claim is in a cue.It's now been TWO MONTHS since me asking for my initial claim form.I have phoned them three times,at weekly intervals, asking when my payment would be prossesed ,each time they say the same thing, (namely,payment will be "in a few days").Who can I complain to about this company. By the way. they still owe me ONE THOUSAND POUNDS !!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great Premium and cover   23 July 2015

Reviewed By: Peter Weir, Recommend:

My dog is nearly 10 so many companies didn't want to know. This premium is very reasonable with good cover. Love that pre-existing conditions are covered after 2 years symptom free. Will check out for my cat when renewal due.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My wife is desperate to get a sausage dog, so I'm checking out all the cost etc. As P Squires has been recently active (unlike some of the old reviews) - I'm hoping there might be some dialogue... Is this sort of thing unreasonable? If I insurance my house with someone knowing that the chimney stack has needed repair work for a few years, I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't pay out. Am I nuts for comparing insurance types like that? Or am I missing something? PS It's currently the 25… (read more)

comment by: James, 24 August 2015
 
 Dont be so hastey, fooled be their premium. theres a reason its so cheap....they dont pay up. i would double check the exclusions too, they wont pay on a previous condition. my dog has a skin tag which she has had for years, which they new from the vets medical return. we have never claimed for it. but now she has caught it and started to chew making it inflamed. vet said it needs to come off...guess what...not covered due to it being a previous condition. DO NOT INSURE YOUR PET WITH THESE!!

comment by: P Squires, 12 August 2015
 
1/5   Awful service   10 March 2015

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend:

1 month after my claim was made after the death of my dog I called to ask what the delay was, I had had no correspondence other than several insurance renewal letters regarding said dog. Oddly none for my other dogs despite their renewals all being due on the same day. Very upsetting. I was informed that my claim had been accepted the day before (conveniently) . Chased again 2 weeks later as now the vets are harassing me for payment only to be told " your claim is in the queue, we are processing claims older than yours and I cant give you any indication of when this will be paid. You can get your vets to call us if you like". Dreadful telephone manner, a couldnt care less attitude. This insurance is cheap for a reason. GO ELSEWHERE as I will be.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   congenital illness   4 December 2014

Reviewed By: Clari worth, Recommend: N

Absolute rubbish. I have their life time policy. My 18 month old jack Russell has just been diagnosed with a liver shunt and without an operation will die within the year. They won't pay a penny as the exclusion congenital covers it! !. I never knew my dog was ill until now but they don't care. 4K For his operation next week. Have reported them to the local paper . I won't let this rest.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   A Waste of Your Time and Money   29 November 2014

Reviewed By: Peter Clifford, Recommend: N

This company, part of the E&L group, took my money for 18 months but squirmed every which way when I made my first ever claim in my life for a 10 year old dog. Would not accept the claim, added future exclusions and left me with a 400 bill. A complete waste of time. Do not use under any circumstances.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Wouldn''t use   21 October 2014

Reviewed By: Laura, Recommend: N

Despite a further in depth explanation from my vet as to why the condition was not pre-existing, E&L, trading as Pet-insurance.co.uk have declined to pay out because they have now put a back dated exclusion on the policy, explaining that as they have done this, they don't need to pay. I'm off to the ombudsman!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use   9 October 2014

Reviewed By: Jacob Reading, Recommend: N

I've been insured and claimed with both Pet Plan and Tesco in the past and have claimed with both, finding the process simple and efficient. I now have my three dogs insured with pet-insurance.co.uk and they have been appalling to deal with. Inefficient, slow to process the claim and they appear deliberately obstructive in their dealings. I now expect each claim to take between 6 weeks and 3 months to process and for any excuse possible to be used to delay making payment. There is simply no excuse for terrible service like this. If you have any other option than to use them take it, insure with someone else.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Unprofessional   11 September 2014

Reviewed By: Ingrid, Recommend: N

The worst pet insurance - DO NOT use them Unprofessional in every single aspect Waited for the claim money for ages... Senior manager not even able to help you

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Switched from larger, more reputable insurer   18 August 2014

Reviewed By: Mel Jones, Recommend: N

I made the mistake of switching from Directline but you obviously get what you pay for! I made 1 small claim and weeks later they emailed me stating they had excluded this from my policy from inception so they didn't have to pay out DO NOT USE THEM!!! They don't answer the phone or respond

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocking and unprofessional   9 June 2014

Reviewed By: Sam , Recommend: N

Discussed in there service and there claims team are rude and unprofessional ! They also clearly had me on loud speaker in the office while they just wound me up ! Also told you can't talk to my manger they are not here !! Cancelled both policies and am telling all my friends and family of the shocking service !! One of my cats had died so I would have expected amore professional service !! Senior consultant BEN was the worst !!! They will do anything not to pay !!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Bad Choice !   22 April 2014

Reviewed By: Jon Sherwood, Recommend: N

For the first time we had a major claim and were covered by this company. I have no complaints about their actual handling of the claim, which was speedy and problem free in itself. Our issue was, as if often the case with any Insurance the 'small print' or T&C's. Their different levels of cover are given in general terms, i.e. the maximum for Vets fees etc. but only when you claim do you find that they have limits on each aspect of the treatment, your vet's fees are capped, no referral fee is paid, hospital consultation fees are capped as are hospital stay costs and so it goes on. Thankfully the vast majority of the final bill was paid out under the policy but we were left with pretty hefty bills running into hundreds to cover the many 'capped' fees. Then to cap it all - on renewal they doubled the premium, doubled the excess and introduced a 20% further excess of any bill. This on top of excluding a whole list of barely related illnesses and injuries. Needless to say I went elsewhere where I got greatly enhanced cover, for twice the insured amount and for a slightly lower premium.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Who are you with now?

comment by: Sophie, 24 July 2014
 
 Hi Jon been shopping around non stop for days... going a little mad... do you think you could tell me where is 'elsewhere' from your review. Thank you. Mike e-mail michaelpitman@live.co.uk

comment by: Mike, 15 June 2014
 
1/5   absolute no go these insurers   21 March 2014

Reviewed By: anne, Recommend: N

stay well clear of these my dog was involed in a rta and needed a operation asap for a damaged leg, i took out insurance with these as they said they would pay the vet directly but when it came to paying the declined , my dog is still waiting for her op 2 weeks later...watching her in pain is absolute awful, but we are on a low income and thought we were doing that right thing by insured , obvs not in this case... will update with out come

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Glad I used this excellent company.   18 March 2014

Reviewed By: P J Collins, Recommend: Y

If this company has had less than good reviews in the past, I can say from my own experience recently, that it must be ancient history. I saw some of these reviews after I purchased lifetime cover for my two Siamese cats. The cover was very good with 5,000 cover for illnesses and excellent value. When one of my cats developed lymphoma requiring a lot of expensive treatment, any possible concerns with claiming, were unfounded. Pet-Insurance E & L have been excellent with all claims paid within the same time frame they gave and good communication either by phone or via email and the web. Unfortunately after 8 months of treatment I lost my cat but I am satisfied that should the need arise for my other cat, they will provide the excellent support they have demonstrated to me recently. Despite the high cost of treatment the premiums hardly changed. Great cover and support at a great price from a true insurance company who I will be recommending to others.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Fantastic   2 February 2014

Reviewed By: Vicky, Recommend: Y

I have had my two dogs insured with this company for the past year as they were the cheapest around, both are on a lifetime cover, my cavalier king charles recently has been diagnosed with heart problems and I must say they have been fantastic, only a quick email response was needed (due to Lily not having seen the vet for quite sometime)and they paid out straight away and are continuing to do so. absolutely great especially as some of the reviews are dreadful for them! definitely would recommend them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Never had a problem as yet....   14 December 2013

Reviewed By: Mr D Hamilton, Recommend: Y

Have had our Neopolitan x bullmastiff insured since 3 months old with this company, took out a lifetime policy . Having read some terrible reviews we were dreading ever having to make a claim, now nearly 6 yrs later we have claimed for 2 eye operations, 3000, 2 knee reconstruction ops, 12000 +, yes 12000+ ! Plus hospitalization for an adder bite 500 ,and a couple of gastro illnesses 700 . We have never had a problem,never had to even speak to anybody on the phone,just downloaded the claim form, given the vet the form and directions to deal with them direct and that's been it. Also the premium has only ever risen by about 50p per year , not everyone's experience has been the same that's for sure but this has been ours.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Pet-insurance.co.uk review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 0 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016