pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance

171 Victoria Street
London
SW1E 5NN

phone: 0800 316 5900
website: http://www.johnlewis-insurance.com/homepage/pet-insurance.html

Offers only lifetime pet insurance cover.

User Rating
1.8
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance

1/5   85% increase in premium on healthy 5 year old dog   13 February 2017

Reviewed By: Tan W, Recommend:

After taking out a lifetime policy on a young dog and having one claim for an isolated incident of five hundred pounds they have trebled my monthly premium, an increase of 85% on a dog with no health issues. Absolutely disgusting! Our previous dog that died last year was also insured with John Lewis who repeatedly lost claim forms and took up to 7 weeks to pay after quibbling over every detail.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid!!   30 January 2017

Reviewed By: Ripley, Recommend:

Very disappointed with John Lewis, they have increased my pet insurance by a further 51% for this next year, how can they justify such a massive increase, in my renewal documentation they give all the usual excuses about an increase in the cost of Vet Fees but this is a total rip off. It was the worst mistake I ever made taking out John Lewis Pet Insurance, my previous dog who passed away at 13 was always insured with Petplan - she had joint issues, I always received excellent service from Petplan, their premiums increased each year which I expected due to the claims I made but the increases were acceptable and not extortionate like John Lewis are demanding. John Lewis trapped me by offering a cheap teaser rate for the first year which I stupidly fell for. I will never trust this company ever again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Feel Cheated - Premium doubled   17 January 2017

Reviewed By: Simon, Recommend:

Like most of you I did my research to get the best insurance cover for my 3yr old Cockapoo. Decided to go with John Lewis on the promise of 'lifetime cover'. Like you all this was a precaution, I never intended to claim. Unfortunately he was diagnosed with a 'luxating patella' this year. Whilst JL did pay for all the costs in full; they lost the claim 3 times before their agent found it and they settled. I have just received my renewal which they HAVE DOUBLED for next year if I want to keep the policy. I lodged a complaint about isn't this what insurance is for etc. its not a personal loan to pay back the vets fees. Nothing. No empathy. No offer to review. Buyer beware!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolute joke insurance   11 January 2017

Reviewed By: R campbell , Recommend:

Absolute crap insurance,will look for and use anything they can find so they don't have to pay your claim. This company just wants to take your money,and not pay for anything. They do not have you or your pets welfare as their sole interest. Get insurance elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Brilliant   22 December 2016

Reviewed By: Sue , Recommend:

I took out John Lewis Pet Insurance in March of this year. Since then, my Sprocker Spaniel has been diagnosed with a number of skeletal problems, he has had 2 operations and will be on medication for the rest of life. I can not fault JL, they have paid the Veterinary Hospital direct and on the few occassions I have contacted them I have found the staff to be well informed and very extremely helpful. I dont know what next year's premiums will be, I will address that when the renewal offer comes up. Without JL my lovely spaniel wouldn't be here today. My dealings with them can not be faulted.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bunch of Jokers!   8 December 2016

Reviewed By: Katherine williams, Recommend:

I have 3 dogs insured with John Lewis. I put a small claim in for £500 and heard nothing back for weeks, not even an email confirming they had received my claim. I rang weeks later and was told it was in progress. Weeks later again I rang and told the same thing...weeks later again and am told I would be contacted back this morning....guess what...noone rang! Still nothing from them. I will be cancelling and insuring my 4 dogs with someone else!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DON''T USE   20 November 2016

Reviewed By: Jtrix53, Recommend:

When these charlatans doubled my premium, I promised I would write as many NEGATIVE REVIEWS as I could. I never break a promise - even if they do. I Had three pets insured with John Lewis. They have just DOUBLED my premium. Yes, ok, I've claimed but isn't that what insurance is for? I really would prefer my poor doggie not to have several ongoing health problems that could, and probably will, shorten her life. How is it fair and legal? How does JLP get away with it? This was my second year with them. They doubled the premium for the dogs and cat after the first year. I should have left them then but now I'm stuck with them for one pet because of ongoing conditions. At least it's not too late to switch my other two and I have. The house insurance (also with JL) is going too. They can take a hike, since they love hiking prices so much. Btw, Agria is my new company. They claim they don't increase prices each year and just put them up if insurance taxes go up. We shall see! The claims process is SO SLOW! I WAITED FOUR MONTHS for one claim to be processed. Four months! Who do they think they are? They say they take 15 days. What a joke they are. The only thing I will say is the people who work for them are very polite when they are dismissing your fury at the price rises.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Zero empathy   2 November 2016

Reviewed By: Furks, Recommend:

Switched to JLI as had heard good reviews. Got a quote in June but as my old policy only ran out in July we started the policy then. My cat became ill a week into the policy. J Lewis wouldn't cover it as it was in the first 14 days. Even though they could see I got the quote much earlier and the cat had no history of being ill. So I'm now £1300 down with a useless policy

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I couldn't agree more. I have/had three pets with John Lewis. They have just DOUBLED my premium. Yes, ok, I've claimed but isn't that what insurance is for? I really would have preferred my poor doggie not to have several ongoing health problems that could, and probably will, shorten her life. How is it fair and legal? How does JLP get away with it? This was my second year with them. They doubled the premiums in the first year too and I hadn't put a claim in. I should have left them then but now… (read more)

comment by: Jtrix53, 20 November 2016
 
1/5   Don''t use   1 October 2016

Reviewed By: Deb, Recommend:

We took out insurance with JLP just over two years ago, the price hike and extremely slow and poor service are totally at odds with the brand. It feels almost as if they don't want you to stay with them and the insurance arm is an after thought. We have been totally dismayed and disappointed with the quality of the teams and the overall quality of the service which at just under £1100 per year seems unbelievable. We are now sadly stuck with them as our boy is now an oldie. We recently claimed for a minor injury, we received no acknowledgements or updates and we are still waiting for them to pay out from the 14th August. Do not touch them you will be sorely dissapointed

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Just had renewal for my 4 yr old chihuahua and it's doubled from last year. Been with them since she was born and had higher renewals every year, but DOUBLE, not likely! Went to another insurer, same cover, same excess and it's £5 cheaper per month than last year with JL. I'm so disappointed in JL, not what I would expect from them at all, I fully agree with the comments on here. 🙁

comment by: Deborah, 9 October 2016
 
1/5   Poor Customer Service   6 July 2016

Reviewed By: Ian, Recommend:

Surprised how poor John Lewis are at dealing with Claims. You would expect a high level of Customer Service from John Lewis, they seem happy to take the premiums each month, but when dealing with a Claim, seem evasive, slow and well below the standard you would expect from John Lewis. Will not be returning to use John Lewis Pet Insurance

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 100% agree. Latest claim not paid out on time despite being told it would take 15 w/d. Asked to speak to a manager, suprise, suprise Zoe (manager) was unavailable & her promised phone call by 8pm THE NEXT DAY never materialised. This is not the 1st time this has happened. Have been promised a "faster Payment" but, that is another 4-5 w/d. WHAT A SHOWER

comment by: Shirley Francis, 24 July 2016
 
1/5   I feel cheated   5 July 2016

Reviewed By: Yvonne middleton, Recommend:

I shopped around for insurance for our 1 year old Lhasa Apso. I found John Lewis was a good price at just over £100. Unfortunately like most insurance company's they put it up every year and at first the hike wasn't to bad. This year Bertie is 4, we have never claimed a penny and they have raised the premiums by £70 to £219.20. I phoned up and asked why and was told that because we live in an area with high claims and where he could have a traffic accident along with there being an out of hours vets in the area and how many people in the area have the same breed that's why it had gone up. Well seeing as we live in a tiny village of around 30 houses and mostly farm land 5 miles from the nearest vets with only around 4 other people having dogs in the village and none of them are Lhasa Apsos , I beg to differ. I could have claimed in the past but like an idiot thought it would put my premiums up. I wouldn't touch John Lewis insurance with a barge pole. Avoid and go elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I've been with John Lewis for 4 years for my Cocker Spaniels insurance, and from the 1st year to the 3rd year it went from £14 to nearly £30! I dropped a level as I didn't want to pay more than £20. for the last year I have paid £21 and they have now sent me a renewal and its going to be £28 a month. I have never made a claim and they are also telling me that it is because of the area I live in. It looks like this is just the usual 'read off a sheet' excuse they are using to everyone! currently… (read more)

comment by: Rachel, 15 July 2016
 
2/5   Feeling Ripped Off   20 June 2016

Reviewed By: Unhappy dog owner, Recommend:

Like everyone else we have had huge premium increases, I am unable to change insurers as our dog is 10 years old and has existing/ongoing health problems. However my grumble is about the length of time it takes to process my claim. I have to make a repeat claim every couple of months and this takes 3 -5 weeks to then be paid. And that is only then as a result of me phoning to chase the progress of the claim, I never phone until they have had the claim 3/4 weeks and am then usually told 'it has been processed and the payment is waiting approval' - I do wonder how long it would take if I didn't phone to chase them (but can't afford not to phone them and just leave it to find out how long it would take) We have made a couple of large claims 18 months ago for his condition when he was initially diagnosed and now have ongoing smaller claims every couple of months for maintenance treatment, medication and prescription food. Therefore i don't feel I can argue the fact that the insurance premium is now very high (£85 per month), I am roughly claiming back each month the amount equal to my premium, so at the minute I am not out of pocket but am dreading the next renewal date.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   RIP OFF RENEWAL TOO EXPENSIVE   11 May 2016

Reviewed By: UNHAPPY CUSTOMER, Recommend:

IF I COULD CHOOSE ZERO STARS I WOULD I have today received another renewal letter. I have a healthy 4 year old dog whose only claim in four years has been for an ear infection which needed treatment under anaesthetic - not a huge cost and of course I paid an excess. I complained last year when my premium went up to £68 and was told my claim had affected it - now JOHN LEWIS have pushed it up again to £79.89 in an uneventful year. Its ridiculous - JOHN LEWIS want more to insure my dog than I pay Bupa to insure my kids - and there is no comparison as to the benefits of both policies. I am outraged yet again and feel they are just putting these rates up @18% for the sake of it - how on earth can you justify that hike? I'm cross because I have had to pay £68 all last year for continued cover even after I complained and I'm even more angry that they have rewarded me now with this ridiculous price hike. I thought John Lewis could be trusted - obviously as a long term insurer they cannot be trusted. JOHN LEWIS have made my insurance contract untenable. I want JOHN LEWIS to explain to me how they justify this on my policy when I could probably start a new one for half the price? I stayed with you on a promise that this would not happen every year if I made no claims. Because of this I have paid overpaid all last year in the belief that I could continue cover for the life of my pet. JOHN LEWIS advertise 'lifetime cover' but actually they push the prices up so much you have to stop before your pet becomes old. Its a rip off! I will not be renewing as I no longer have trust in JOHN LEWIS as insurers: If they were to carry on at this rate within two years JOHN LEWIS would be requesting £1500 a year to insure a crossbreed with no heath issues - goodness knows what JL ask for owners of pedigree dogs. FINALLY - WHY, I WONDER IS IT SO HARD TO ADD A REVIEW? AND WHY IS IT YOU ONLY PUT GOOD REVIEWS ON YOUR WEB SITE? APPARENTLY EVERYONE IS OVER THE MOON WITH YOUR SERVICE WHICH IS THE OPPOSITE TO ALL THE COMMENTS BELOW.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Mine was the same. They put up premiums by £70 a year for a 4 year old dog with no health problems and never claimed a penny I asked the girl on the phone why and this is her reply. " well it depends where you live and how many dogs in the area and of his breed. Also if there is an out of hours vets in the area and if you live near a main rd also how many people in the area have claimed. I told her we live in a tiny village of less than 30 houses 5 miles away from the nearest vets and it's all… (read more)

comment by: Yvonne, 5 July 2016
 
3/5   Going back to previous insurer   19 April 2016

Reviewed By: Bilbo Baggins, Recommend:

Have been with John Lewis for cat insurance for 3 years - have made no claims but our cats are now 7 and 9 so insurance has gone up. In three years the cost has gone up from £186 yr 1 to £444.50 in yr 3 for Plus policy. Just got quote from previous insurer (Direct Line) for increased cover up to £8k per condition no time limit at £265 for the two of them with a choice of excess (£70 or £140) - I chose the lower. Previous experience with DL was a payout for an injury to a pet that happened inside start date of cover but hadn't paid anything towards cover - positive good customer service.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware, beware, beware   5 February 2016

Reviewed By: Tod, Recommend:

Severe wealth warning!! Do not be fooled, do not take out a policy with these insurers who hike up the renewal premiums each year at an eye watering rate. 6 yr old tabby male suffered pulled tail syndrome (there are some nasty people out there)thank goodness he recovered as it can be fatal. Claimed for £120 in first yr. Second yr premium was hiked by £70 the 3rd yr hiked by £50. Customer service staff have no insurance knowledge but do their best from a script which is just repeated at you when you call. JL do yourselves a favour and find another underwriter: RSA is just greedy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Hi - found exactly the same as Maggie! We have a German Shepherd - only 4, never made a claim and been with John Lewis pet insurance since she was a puppy, cost gone up each year by almost 50%. Now at over £90/month going to look elsewhere. Absolutely ridiculous and very poor of John Lewis.

comment by: Charly, 26 April 2016
 
 I have had JL insurnce for one German Shepherd dog for 4 years, never claimed at all but premiums have hiked up by about 40% each year. Last year I reduced cost by choosing less cover (from £10k to £7k) this year premium is £695 for £7k. (our car insurance for 2 vehicles is less!!) Too rich for me - I am currently researching other providers, which is how I stumbled upon this.

comment by: maggie , 7 March 2016
 
1/5   Price doubled from year one - avoid!   7 November 2015

Reviewed By: Gaja, Recommend:

Three year old healthy mongrel dog, no claims ever made, price went up from 120 to 232 pounds. With an excuse that vet prices went up in my postal code area (not really) and that an (invisible) 20% discount was applied for the new customers. A case to report them to the consumers service!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I completely agree avoid it. I have had a similar experience with a six yr old cat.

comment by: Tod, 5 February 2016
 
 Completely agree. Avoid John Lewis Pet insurance. Mine has gone up each year for 3 yrs by 40% with one claim for a broken tail for one dog and nothing for the other dog. So upsetting as I should have gone with PetPlan who dont increase their prices massively. I feel shafted by John Lewis, be careful everyone please, dont make my mistake. In 2013 I got charged £23 a month, 2014 £31.47, 2014 £45.66 (and I dropped down from 10,000 to 7,000) 2015 £45 and quote for 2016 £68. My dogs are 7.5 yrs now.… (read more)

comment by: Louise, 10 January 2016
 
1/5   Monthly payment doubled after 1st year   5 November 2015

Reviewed By: quainton15, Recommend:

I was horrified that John Lewis sent the renewal which was double the cost in year 1. Small claim was made for a cracked claw, but there is absolutely no justification for that rise. Cancelled policy immediately and won't use again. They didn't even ask why I was leaving, no doubt they knew the answer!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   John Lewis Take Advantage of Pet Owners   28 October 2015

Reviewed By: Simon Edgecombe, Recommend:

We adopted a Golden Retriever at the age of 6, she had suffered with epilepsy and was on a massive amount of drugs to control it, however over a period of time we have weaned her off all her drugs, she now has nothing at all and has no side effects. Now two years ago she was run over by a careless Post Office driver and suffered some bad injuries, the Post Office wanted us to claim off our pet insurers John Lewis for her injuries, I stated I would not as it was NOT their responsibility. To make this report on John Lewis Pet Insurance shorter, I decided to sue the Post Office and they paid up, the point of this was that I was protecting my insurers so that when and if I needed to claim it was fair and reasonable, for that I expected a reciprocal fair reasonable treatment in return. Now the point is that our premium for our Holly is in excess of £1,100 per year, no claims history with John Lewis at all and I have paid for other vets normal examinations myself without claiming at all. Now mindful also that they exclude all previous conditions and charge a £120 excess plus a percentage of the vets bill, with the premiums I pay I EXPECT fair treatment. I had to take Holly to the vets as she had a broken molar tooth and a very cracked one opposing it, she was also a little lame of the front right plus a wart on one eyelid. I decided on this occasion to make my first and only claim in three years. Now they say you never know how good insurance is until you have to claim, now I know! After now nearly three months I have still to receive a payment despite various promises and many telephone calls. Today they have told me that I will receive a cheque for £502 from a vets invoice of over £1200, the reason is they class a filling that Holly had in a tooth in 2012 justifies the extraction for a broken tooth as a pre existing condition now, the other tooth removed that had an exposed root/nerve they decided was another claim, the wart removal yet another claim and then finally to check her lameness.....another claim. So all in, the ONE visit to the vets they have managed to change into four separate claims, each then has the £120 excess applied less the percentage contribution as well. I am sorry but this is just not what I expected from John Lewis. I will be cancelling the policy and taking the money I was paying (£1,200 pa) and putting it into a ISA, then taking out a lesser policy with a more reasonable insurer to cover for the little mishaps. John Lewis have done themselves no favours with these sort of tactics, I expect them to withdraw from pet insurance soon when they realise what harm they have done to their reputation. The moral is really, no matter what you do to act responsibly with John Lewis, don't expect fair treatment back, they know you love your pet, and to be honest I think they are exploiting you and their percieved reputation with the public

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 People need comments like this Thank you. Penalties are needed for insurances like this this is shame.

comment by: Nada Lukic, 19 May 2016
 
 Just an update for anyone interested, we received our renewal invitation from John Lewis for April 2016 onward, they invite us to now pay the premium increased from £80 per month for Holly to the new premium of over £180 per month, that means an eye watering annual premium of over £2,167.00...... amazing!!! we are now using another insurer of course and opening an ISA for Holly.

comment by: Simon Edgecombe, 14 April 2016
 
 As an update, poor Holly had a cancerous lump we discovered in September, we had it removed at our vets and fortunatly they said it is now all clear, entered the claim with JLPI at Christmas and still waiting. I called today 01/02/16 and they say they cannot find it, I also explained they sent me a confirmation email stating they had it, they say they will have to check and can I forward them the email. I also pointed out that I am STILL waiting for a response to my written complaint about the… (read more)

comment by: Simon Edgecombe, 2 February 2016
 
2/5   Ridiculous renewal quote   14 August 2015

Reviewed By: Kate, Recommend:

John Lewis has sent me a renewal quote for almost double the original premium, despite the fact I haven't made a claim. I can actually go online and get the same policy as a new customer for a significantly lower price! I asked if they could match the online price and they said no, I'd have to cancel my policy and sign up for a new one at the lower price. They obviously do not value their existing customers! Needless to say the policy has been cancelled and I am looking elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I've had exactly the same issue with John Lewis despite never making a claim for the past 2 years and have cancelled the policy and taken out a new policy online - RIDICULOUS!! Just had my renewal for thus year and it has doubled so now looking for another insurer

comment by: Joan h, 1 May 2016
 
 exactly the same here ridiculous

comment by: paul, 27 October 2015
 
2/5   Rip off for me too   31 July 2015

Reviewed By: Josh, Recommend:

So utterly disappointed with John Lewis over the last few days. I took out insurance last August for my two siamese and my cocker spaniel. With an £80 Excess and the Plus Level of cover it came to £67 a month. I've just had the renewal letter and the premium has gone up to £106 a month. I phoned up to query this and was told that a) I made a claim last year which affects it b) Vet fees in my area have risen markedly and c) my animals are now a year older and d) as I'm going into the second year my initial 20% discount has gone. So….a) Yes, I made a claim. I got back £135 from my dog getting a thorn in her eye whilst in the woods. b) I phoned the two vet chains in my area, 5 branches between them, and prices have risen approx 4% c) Gosh, yes, they've aged a year. d) Even allowing for that disappearing discount (fair enough, that takes it up to approx £84) it's still gone up 25% from £84 to £106. Seems extortionate to me and when I phoned up for a 'new' quote it was £8 a month cheaper…which seems to tell me that I'm being punished for making a claim by them taking it back from me. Their customer service team were pretty useless as they refused to give me a reason for the price hike once challenged as it's all commercially sensitive. So I've just gone over to Animal Friends for almost exact same cover but for £60 month without any sort of initial discount. I'd expected so much more from John Lewis but that sort of price hike is shocking. It's a competitive world so, they've lost a customer and for the first time ever I'm writing a review to share my experience as I'm so annoyed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Excessive Premium Hikes   31 July 2015

Reviewed By: Gillian Genever, Recommend: N

I first took Insurance out with JL for my 6yo Labradoodle 4 years ago and the premium was less than £15. Since then JL have increased the premium by 50% each year and have just invited at slightly shy of £42 pm As I have NEVER claimed I feel these increases are totally unjustified and have just cancelled this Policy. I cannot comment on the quality of claims service as I have had no need to use it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dishonest and poor product communication   27 July 2015

Reviewed By: D Lightley, Recommend:

Really unhappy with the pet insurance policy I purchased through the John Lewis brand, and it was there premium policy package also. Long story short, my pet dog had to have an operation to have 3 lumps removed. During the operation the vet also discovered a fourth lump so he also removed that one too. When the results of the biopsy came back it showed that all 4 lumps were different and so John Lewis are refusing to pay out saying that each lump is classed as a separate claim - so I would need to make 4 claims (even though they were removed during one single operation.) If I want to make a claim I would need to pay the excess 4 times @£140 per excess which would mean that the excess payments would be more than what we paid the vet to carry out the operation in the first place. It's absolutely disgraceful that they can get away with this, and not what you would expect from a so-called premium brand such as John Lewis - avoid them like the plague as this policy is not worth the paper it is written on so I am taking my case to the financial ombudsmen.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   25% Increase in premium - no claims.....   27 July 2015

Reviewed By: TC from WST, Recommend:

Like many on this site, I am disappointed that my renewal mentions nothing about why I am expected to pay over 25% more this year despite having never made a claim and our dog is only 3. It is not particularly customer friendly to just expect people to renew automatically without drawing attention to the fact that the price has gone up so much. Not particularly helpful on the phone, listing some stock answers about why the premium has risen - put it in the letter then!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   premium increase outrageous!   24 July 2015

Reviewed By: lucy stanley, Recommend:

Have been with John Lewis pet insurance for a year, am made no claims. They then increased the premium by 40%! When queried they sent curt letter saying that that was now the price and 'our final offer'. Rude, curt and I think outrageous!. Lure you in, then hike up the premium dramatically hoping you don't notice/can't move insurers and if you do then tough! I said I was leaving, but they didn't care. I now have a dog one year older that makes finding another insurer more difficult. I originally paid over the odds because I have always believed John Lewis, would be trustworthy. How disappointed and angry am I. Feel utterly tricked and conned. Now am without an insurer. Furious. Do not be lured in with attractive first year premium.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive Premium Hike   17 July 2015

Reviewed By: Adrian Chapman, Recommend:

The insurance premium for our three year old golden retriever bitch has just gone up by 50%. We made one claim last year for x-rays for what turned out to be OCD in her left hock. While this may need treatment in the future, at the moment she is fine so I fail to see why John Lewis need to increase the premium by so much. We could change insurer of course but then the OCD would be excluded, so we either stick with JL n and get ripped off or run the risk of big vet bills in the future. I may just "punish" John Lewis by moving my house and contents insurance elsewhere, but I doubt they would notice.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive Premium Hike   17 July 2015

Reviewed By: Adrian Chapman, Recommend:

The insurance premium for our three year old golden retriever bitch has just gone up by 50%. We made one claim last year for x-rays for what turned out to be OCD in her left hock. While this may need treatment in the future, at the moment she is fine so I fail to see why John Lewis need to increase the premium by so much. We could change insurer of course but then the OCD would be excluded, so we either stick with JL n and get ripped off or run the risk of big vet bills in the future. I may just "punish" John Lewis by moving my house and contents insurance elsewhere, but I doubt they would notice.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Very disappointed!   8 July 2015

Reviewed By: Lesley Evans, Recommend:

I have been loyal to John Lewis for many years, so having to cancel my pet insurance with them was very disappointing. The renewal for my fit 3 year old dog, who cost me a modest £400 was hiked up even though I have made no claims, and ended up costing more than my 3 year old car, that I have made a claim for, and that I paid £16,000 for. I have switched to another high street provider for £150 less. Having not had to make a claim I cannot comment on that process.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Flawless and Unfaultable!! 5*+   2 July 2015

Reviewed By: Amy , Recommend:

I can’t praise John Lewis Pet Insurance anymore! I’ve never experienced an insurance company like it. They have been so empathetic and with me and my partner and have made every effort to do everything possible for our beloved Chihuahua Arnie. They been prompt with every payment and have been efficient throughout. If I ever get a pet again in the future- I will 120% use John Lewis as they have done everything that I would expect, PLUS much more!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent efficient quick payout but expensive   1 July 2015

Reviewed By: John Hampson, Recommend:

Ihave a black Labrador who has required x rays ct scan and one hour consutation with a specialist over £2000, the vet sorted payment with John Lewis no problems.This is the way pet insurance should work.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 good luck when you renew next year. I would definitely expect your renewal quote to be 40% up on this years.

comment by: anonymous, 10 January 2016
 
2/5   Unbelievable   6 June 2015

Reviewed By: Eileen Arnold, Recommend:

I have just received my renewel notification from John Lewis and the premium for my three dogs has gone up by a staggering £1462.15. This is despite only having one claim for quite a small amount. When I contacted them they where unable to tell me why there had been such a huge increase. One of my dogs is only eighteen months old and her premium has risen by over a £125 per year. Needless to say I will not be renewing. I thought the idea of having insurance was to cover your pets in times of need it does however, seem if you make a claim they will then take the money if and when you renew the policy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Exact same thing has just happened to me. Premium gone from 67 to 106 a month. Part of that is the initial 20% discount. But factor that in and they've still jacked it up another 25%. I too made a small claim and I'm convinced that is why as when I phoned up as a 'new' customer for exact same dog it was way cheaper.

comment by: Josh, 31 July 2015
 
1/5   Buyer Beware   21 May 2015

Reviewed By: Malcolm, Recommend:

I have just spent an hour typing out a review outlining why you should think twice about taking out a policy with this company then lost the lot when trying to post. I am so angry with them I have typed this again. They increased my dogs insurance by 102% to over a thousand pounds. These people are despicable and will load your policy should you have the timerity to claim. I fully expected an increase as I claimed twice in one year but my dog is fit and healthy and has no lasting impact from his two episodes of I'll health. This increase was just ridiculous. I am aware that the John Lewis pet insurance scheme is underwritten by Royal Sun Alliance who have had some difficulties over the past few years however have recently returned to profitability. Wonder why!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 No wonder they are in profit. Our four year old great dane's premium has risen by 70% . Yes we have claimed but that is why you have insurance. No massive claims. Interesting thing is that if you complain / challenge the price they contradict their selves whilst trying to justify their premium. Telling you the donot penalise you for claiming. Then say they use claims history to calculate the premium. If you realy try to get them to explain the price hike every question was answered with :-… (read more)

comment by: Brian, 29 May 2015
 
 No wonder they are in profit. Our four year old great dane's premium has risen by 70% . Yes we have claimed but that is why you have insurance. No massive claims. Interesting thing is that if you complain / challenge the price they contradict their selves whilst trying to justify

comment by: Brian, 29 May 2015
 
  Add your own review


Review John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 2 + 1 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016